We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Peregrina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Peregrina to your Saves list
La Peregrina
Avenue Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This B&B is a great place to stay in Puerto Ayora. The owners' son was extremely friendly. They had some coconuts from the palm tree and he was giving everyone free coconuts. :) The location is great and the price is right. The rooms are spacious and clean, have hot water and air conditioning. The breakfast is different every day but varied and plentiful. There were plenty of places to sit outside and a few hammocks for general use. Very relaxing atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just ok to spent a few days in galapagos.. Just to sleep.. Nothing to do, not tv.. The room had a big bathroom thoug.. Do not expect luxury but if u dont want to spent much in hotels this is a good place just to sleep and keep moving during the day.. I mean in galapagos you dont want to be in a hotel room all day long..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, waiting for our boat tour to start. We had two rooms, one tiny twobed room and a generously big threebed room. Our two rooms shared a garden terrace where we ended up spending a lot of time.
The owners were very friendly. Our youngest son was enthusiastic after the first morning when the owners' son was serving us breakfast: "Mom, he really makes me feel special and welcome!"
The rooms are clean, the garden is beautiful and the location close to the main street, the Charles Darwin station and the fish market was just perfect for us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location is great and the price was right, we booked ahead from the UK and could pay on arrival which saved messing around with paypal and money transfers. We stayed twice during our trip and both rooms were spotlessly clean. The one behind reception, separate from the main building, had better air con and felt a little more private. The owners (the family) and staff were very welcoming and I'm so pleased that I chose La Peregrina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, OH
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights inbetween cruise tours. The staff was very friendly and gave us lots of good suggestions about where to eat locally. The owner's son is a great guide and we booked him for one afternoon of birding. What a nice family! The breakfast was good. The rooms are very clean and nice. Great location. Right near the fish market. Great value compared to other places we checked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved La Peregrina. We stayed there for 2 nights and then after a cruisetour we came back for more nights and also got a nice and big room. The staff was very friendly and they have good breakfast. The rooms are very clean and nice. Good location. Best in town! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night during Easter. Since we only booked a day before, we probably neither got the best hotel in town (many places were booked) nor a good room in this hotel.

The hotel was fine for one night - the location is perfect, the breakfast average. Our room was the smallest during our one month stay in Ecuador, and the way towards it (through two tiny doors and a dark and small corridor) felt more like a mousehole than a welcoming accommodation. However, it was clean and we felt secure.

Room Tip: Room #5 (at the back left corner of the main building) is small and rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Peregrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Peregrina

Address: Avenue Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Peregrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Peregrina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Peregrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.