We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, poor visibility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academy Bay Dive Center

Academy Bay Dive Center
Av Charles Darwin | Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
593 52524164
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Dive center is located right across the road from the Navy base and the main passenger pier in Puerto Ayora. If you still can't find us, look out for a bright pink lolly shop next door!
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, poor visibility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The dive staff were very professional and accommodating. My husband and I lucked out and were the only two people on the dive tour to Gordon Rocks. The boat left at 5:30am, to beat the other dive companies, and we were back by 11am. The three dive staff on the boat catered to us well - providing drinks and snacks constantly. The guide took care of all of the equipment and even strapped the gear on us before we went, and off us when we arrived back at the boat. Even though the conditions were poor (3 meters of visibility) the guide ensured that we saw hammerheads and tons of fish. Also, the guide carried a camera on him, took lots of pictures of us and the sharks/fish and gave us a disk with the pics for free. Great experience even though conditions weren't favorable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    2
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great diving in the Galapagos Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

An extract from my blog... We had a couple of dives at Floreana and would highly recommend to anyone to go there if they are heading to the Galapagos one day. We went with Academy Bay Dive, run by an Ecuadorian guy, Hugo, married to an Australian girl, Alice from Geelong. They are extremely helpful, have good staff and it was safe enjoyable diving with their dive master Oscar, who doubles as an excellent photographer....What and experience, a visual overload of colour and action. I saw more colourful reef fish to mention, white tipped reef sharks, sea turtles, Red Lipped Batfish (quite rare they say), did 360's and got face to face with sea lion pups. It was literally like supermarket shelves of different fish and sea creatures along an ancient volcanic wall covered in coral and sea grasses.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Ayero
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dive in Galapagos With Academy Bay! Or Book a Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Academy Bay Dive Center in Puerto Ayero offers customer service and travel support unmatched by any of the scuba shops on the island of Santa Cruz, Galapagos. I even got help finding a short-term apartment to rent in Puerto Ayero. The guides and staff are extremely conscientious and make sure to book divers on trips that meet their level of experience.

The Academy Bay Dive Center also makes sure divers know what to expect: water temperature, visibility, types of aquatic life in specific locations. It's also a really low-pressure place where you can walk in and ask about tours, dive or snorkel trips and accommodations on other islands without feeling pressured to buy on the spot. Plus, Alice, the co-owner is always in the office, and she speaks English and Spanish fluently.

The dive masters also give instruction in English and Spanish and they have CPR training. Oh, their boat just got two new moters from the mainland!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Academy bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recently returned from the Galapagos,and can definetly say that the vacation wouldnt be the same without the academy bay diving center.
The nicest ppl u can meet in Puerto Ayora,the best attitude ,the best diving equipment,exelent Divemasters .
i Dived with them 3 days all around santa cruz in the best spots.
I have to say special thanks to Alice who helped me to retrieve my forgotten shoes from San cristobal island by talking personally everyday with the captain and the hostel.
if you thinking about diving in galalapagos just go to Academy bay.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good times/Good Divemaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have worked as a professional Dive instructor in a number of countries ans found this operation quite suitable.. nothing fancy but adequate and the divemaster was quite good there ta the time.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy Bay Dive Center also viewed

 

Been to Academy Bay Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academy Bay Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.