We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place - get ready to climb stairs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Petrel y Floreana | Barrio el Eden, Puerto Ayora none, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting place - get ready to climb stairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on the front end of our trip and 1 night on the back end. It was not as close to the center of town as we thought but a nice place. No problems with unclean rooms when we were there. The breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful and nice and while VERY loud, the airconditioning was very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I'm giving this place two stars as we paid 1/4 the listed price. At that rate it was tolerable, but I would not stay here again, even at that rate and never at the posted rate. The room was large and the air conditioning worked, but the positive ends there. Our bedding was not clean upon arrival. There were multiple hairs that could be seen, a dead give-away. My husband immediately wanted to complain, but I really don't like to anger housecleaning upon arrival so I talked him out of it and we slept in our clothes, but through the course of our short stay I watched the maid straighten out used bedding twice in other rooms. These were rooms where the people had checked out and the bedding was not changed. The first time I saw this I told myself maybe this was due to the room not being booked that night. Clean bedding is just basic. I guess they are trying to cut corners, but it is disgusting and for the price they are charging they should be ashamed. The bathroom was half clean with visible dirt in several areas. The location isn't bad, being a few minutes from the center, but for the posted price one would expect clean sheets. Even at 1/4 the price I expected this.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esvede, Front Office Manager at Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
believe this comment is exaggerated and does not meet the reality of our services.






Dear Sir:

We have not received any guest under his name

Our House Keeping Department has not reported any complaint of this nature
In addition,we maintain a strict controls of our rooms.

The comments on this page have been satisfactory in terms of cleanliness and service.

Sincerely

Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were booked for 5 nights at Casa Natura and we were immediately disappointed when we first entered our room – the room size was small, the bedding was cheap and dated and our bed backed directly onto a window that wouldn’t close. The topper however, was the bathroom, which appeared to be modeled after something you’d see in a subway station. This included multiple dirt stains in the toilet, on the shower curtain, tub floor and sides, and a thick layer of soap scum on the faucets that stayed on your hands when you turned them on. The showers also lacked hot water. See our pictures.

Beyond the problems with the room, the hotel is not near the main strip. It is in a residential area about 5-10 minute walk from the main area.

Needless to say we were out of there on the first night. Despite our complaints (we even provided pictures of the dirt stains in the bathroom to the hotel), management refused to refund any our money, which we had entirely prepaid for. Our loss, but do yourself a favour, and don’t make it yours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esvede, Manager at Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
In regards to this opinion of our Hotel we must inform you that our bathrooms are new and we kept clean always. The hot water system work , and in the other hand regardin the curtain and the beding we inform you that it has been changed already.

Some other opinions regarding the location we considered not true. The hotel is well located and 5 minutes from the main area in car.

Regards,
THE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

clean. comfortable, and ideal place for day trips, friendly staff.
good breakfast. coffee and water available for free 24 hours,
free internet but a bit on the slow side

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our 5 night stay at Casa Natura. The breakfast was basic, but as we were eating out for the rest of the day it was adequate for us. Our room was large with a nice balcony, comfortable double bed and good size bathroom. The room was well ventilated. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. It was a modest walk into the main area of the town, which we enjoyed, taking a different route each time. Just a short walk from the hotel to the Charles Darwin Center. All in all, we thank the Casa Natura for making our stay in Santa Cruz so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and on the south side, and the sunrise was enjoyable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is ok, rooms are fine, bathrooms too. But its not what it looks like on the web. The swimming pool is tiny and it has been dirty since we arrived (we stayed 4 days) disgusting!!!!!
People are nice and friendly. Worst thing is its location.... Not close to restaurants or commercial area. Definitely overprized!!! There are nicer hotels with better location for same or less money.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 5 are located above the dinning area, so a bit noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Large rooms but nowhere near 3 star quality.
- no kleenex
- only one reading light for a triple room
- only one towel for two people
- uneven neighborhood
- air conditioner functioned but directed cold air onto the bed.
- noise from pool area very loud
- curtains not large enough to cover the window area

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel

Address: Petrel y Floreana | Barrio el Eden, Puerto Ayora none, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Natura is a new small charming hotel with 11 air-conditioned rooms designed to provide with comfort and leisure for the adventure traveler, including facilities such as pool, bar, breakfast area and different recreational areas. The hotel is located in the residential area of Puerto Ayora, 8-10 minutes away walking distance from the fisherman’s pier and the town’s main promenade where most of the boutiques, restaurants and art galleries are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Natura - Galapagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.