We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours

Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200351, Ecuador
+593 59394655018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 attractions in Puerto Ayora
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Galapagos Alternative, we offer a unique experience of the islands the way we see them: as locals. Choose the sights and activities most interesting to you, stay at local places, eat at local restaurants, and of course, get up-close experiences with the local animals that make the Galapagos Islands so special. Please browse our site to learn more about the many different activities that are available on your trip to Galapagos. Then contact us so that we can help you find the best options to fit your timeframe, budget and preferences. We can help with all aspects of your trip, from booking unique accommodations to daily activities and transport between the islands. We are Jill and Javier Moreno, and we'd like to welcome you to our home. We look forward to treating you like family, showing you our favorite places, and ensuring that you have the experience of a lifetime in the amazing and beautiful Galapagos!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a last minute trip that my husband and I planned over email w/ the help of Galapagos Alternative. They were quick w/ responses and provided amazing customer service - The hotel, food, tour guides, boats, excursions was all handled in a excellent way! I can't wait to see more of this beautiful gem of Galapagos! Thanks to Liz, Lauren, and our tour guide Julian they were all amazing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    13
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallowell, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Met Every Expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just returned from the Galapagos. We relied on TripAdvisor reviews in choosing a a tour company and the bet paid off. Susana, Jill, Javier, Liz and the guides they selected were terrific. We stayed at Galapagos Suites (http://www.galapagossuites.com/) on Santa Cruz Island and
La Casa de Marita on Isabella (La Casa de Marita Mango Suite). All the tour arrangements were spot on. When our water-resistant camera gave up the ghost Javier loaned us his Hero2. We couldn't be more pleased.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our gamble paid off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booking online after only exchanging a few emails, we realised we were taking a big chance in planning our entire Galapagos trip via the internet, but it was definitely worth it. The level of service was exceptional and cannot be faulted. Liz met with us every afternoon to discuss plans for the following day and despite things running on 'Galapagos time', we were never kept waiting.

The hotel they selected for us (Galapagos Suites) was lovely and all the guides were helpful and informative. Tours encompassed exactly what we were after (Kayaking, snorkelling, information etc) and the chance to customise our short trip to maximise our time was very useful. We would highly recommend this company to anyone who is looking at personalised, land-based tours for an affordable price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From our first contact with GA to our driver delivering us safely at the airport on Baltra we were consistently delighted.
Rita was waiting for us at the airport and she accompanied us to our hotel Verde Azul where we were greeted by the proprietors. She met with us every night to go over the next day's activities and give us tips on things to do on Santa Cruz (including suggesting that we buy a lobster at the fish market and take it to a local restaurant to have them grill it for dinner - which my husband LOVED).
Our tours were personal and our guides were passionate about the islands. Several activities included only our family and a guide.
We were very leary about organized tours as my husband and I have traveled extensively and we have never made arrangements through a tour company. We prefer to explore and make arrangements on our own as we discover the countries we visit.
We are very happy we made the choice to engage GA for this trip. We would not have had the same experience trying to explore the Galapagos Islands on our own. The best way I can describe our experience is that it was like having family on the islands. Time on our own and time with people who lived there and love the islands.
Trip of a lifetime! Thank you GA

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Galapagos great despite complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's hard to not love a vacation in the Galapagos. Great weather, nice people and wildlife everywhere. We were very happy that we did a land-based tour. I think GA took on too many clients during the busy season between Christmas and New Year's. Other customers of theirs and we commiserated that a lot of things fell through the cracks: pick-ups, activities too difficult for a woman with bad knees, long stretches with no activities planned, two restaurants they recommended were closed, and dietary requirements forgotten. Some members of our group requested scuba diving and the others snorkeling but we didn't realize that we wouldn't be spending the day together. Highly recommend the tour of North Seymour Island. Would not recommend Las Grietas because there are other things that are much more interesting to see. The Darwin research station is sadly overrated. Guides ranged from very good to poor. We spent four nights in Puerto Ayora which was one night too much. Isabella is worth three nights.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide information about your trip to the Galapagos. The Christmas-New Year holiday season is the peak of the high season in the Galapagos Islands. We apologize for not being able to give you the individual attention that you desired. We did not have enough staff to accommodate the number of customers that we had during that period since a couple of our experienced staff members requested the holiday period to visit their families.

Because the holidays are very popular and many of the local operators and hotels also close we will now limit the number of clients we take on during that period. We also realize that we must all work through that very busy period in order to maintain the high level of quality that we want to provide to our customers.

Thank you also for giving your feedback on the different activities. Your comments will help others to make more informed decisions on how to spend their time in the islands.
We apologize again for not living up to your expectations. Though the holiday season is extremely busy, it is not an excuse for lower quality and we will take the steps necessary to prevent that from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galapagos Alternative - Private Day Tours to your Saves list