We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish they would be open...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Aventura Restaurant

Red Mangrove Aventura Restaurant
Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
5932526564
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 31 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish they would be open...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Tried to come for lunch today. No service except for hotel full pension. They said they were open tonight. Went back. Nothing as they had "problem" with thé Kitchen... We Will not try a third time...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Bad sushi, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

By all means stop in this place for a drink (2 for one happy hour 4 - 6:30pm), if only to see the sea lions napping all over the chaise lounges and the deck crawling with marine iguanas. We loved it so much we decided to stay for dinner. Big mistake.

This was by far the worst service we had in our entire trip. Ironically, it was also the most expensive. The sushi was overpriced with way more rice than fish. We joked over a slice of salmon being so thin you could see through it. While its true that sushi chefs will slice ultra-high quality fish thinly, this was not the case. This was NOT that fresh and most of the sushi platter we ordered was cooked fish. (at least I hope it was cooked, because it was certainly opaque)
The drinks were bad as well -- you couldn't even taste the alchohol in them.

I think all the guests were there on a meal plan, as I can't imagine anyone paying outright for a meal here and coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Saving Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was not impressed by the divers lodge, however, all meals were included and I was happy I knew I could find a decent meal here everyday!! Diane and Renan were awesome and I am happy they were there to take care of everything. they were my saving grace when I thought it couldn't get worse!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the view, Love Happy Hour, but the food? Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The view over the harbor is worth the trip here even if it is only for happy hour. But go somewhere else for dinner. The service is good, the wait staff is friendly. But the food is very disappointing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Sushi was absolutely terrible, especially given the prices. The rice was so crumbly it was difficult to hold it together in a roll. We shared four different rolls between two people, but the flavors were indistinguishable. They advertise being a sushi bar, so it's really unacceptable that they screwed up the sushi to this degree... The one redeeming factor is that the mixed drinks were good. Overall I'd say skip this place and find a better restaurant!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mangrove Aventura Restaurant also viewed

 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Red Mangrove Aventura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Aventura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.