We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper tour option - not bad buget Galapagos deal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ninfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel Ninfa
Calle los Colonos y Av charles Darwin,, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cheaper tour option - not bad buget Galapagos deal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 5-day tour in Quito and arrived here. The lodge (cheaper) option has a small bathroom and a basic room with AC and minibar. It's not too bad considering the whole 5 day tour (includes 4 breakfasts, 4 lunches, and 4 dinners) is $485 per person exclude air ticket. The local people only pay $ around 280 I think. Food was basic but not bad. This seems like a family/kid friendly place. I like the daily room service. However if you stay longer, they charge $80-95 (inc breakfast only) seem too pricy or what it is.

Briefing for the next day tour was at 6.30pm everyday. No English..... Made us feel rather uncomfortable. We figured things out by a nice multilingual Mexican girl who was nice enough to translate for us. Our tour guide speaks some English but she was only there 2 out of 5 days. The only good English translation we had was from the guide from the boat (Floriana isand trip). The boats were not bad. This time of the year the sea is very rough so if you get seasick, make sure to take tablets 30' before the ride.

For wild life enthusiasts/divers, I recommend to stay back for day trips to other islands as you really only have 3 days of tours to do with Ninfa. The first and last days are mainly for transporting to and from airport. In land trip like this I guess you don't get to see as much as cruise trips but if you know what you want to see, day trips might do the trick. Make sure you organise your day trip in advance as the trip you want might not go on the day you want. Compare between different tour agencies for best offer that suits you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Excellent Hotel, great tours to the islands, the new suites are spectacular and the food is reaaly Great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel Ninfa is perfectly located, only foe hundred meters from the harbour.
The rooms are clean, wIth air conditioning throughout, breakfast is very good, serving various local food.
A nice swimming pool is always available for the guests

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

After our first night at an over priced, under air conditioned hotel, we stumbled upon Hotel Ninfa. The rate was much better, and it had a/c, a mini fridge, and hot water, with a decent sized, clean room. There is also a pool that is nicely underutilized, we had it to ourselves one afternoon. Our room was away from the road so nice and quiet, and the hotel is just one street back from the harbor. The only problem we had was with our room door which had good sized spaces around it allowing in the odd insect and small lizard, the lock also jammed. Breakfast was probably the worst I've ever had, it was actually laughable, with great flourish, you are served one egg (cooked differently each morning), a small portion of a piece of bologna, a piece of flavorless cheese, a slice of fruit, and 2 small dry buns. Not sure how they would respond if you requested more:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

acabo de tener unas lindas vacaciones!! el hotel muy bueno y la comida tambien, no me puedo quejar, dentro de lo que pague estuvo mas q suficiente! no entiendo todos estos malos comentarios, muy a pesar de lo que decian me arriesgue y tuve una buena impresion. Gracias Hotel Ninfa

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were booked into this hotel by EC Travel, but the actual tour company was Ninfa Tours. It was dirt cheap, so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. The location is right by the port, so very convenient for leaving for morning tours.

Rooms are small, bathrooms are worn, but are cleaned well each day. There was no hot water while we were there. One night, there was a great deal of noise from the town and it was hard to sleep. On Sunday mornings, the church crowd will definitely wake you up. But, you'll probably have a tour to go on, so I guess that doesn't matter.

There were tour briefings every night by a man who spoke Spanish quickly and would not speak any English. He was not friendly and quite abrupt. Tour guides were ok, but spoke limited English. The boats they took us on were of good quality.

Food was simple, but very fresh and healthy. Kitchen staff were always very friendly and hard working.

The pool area was really nice. So nice, that it seemed out of place with the run down rooms.

I recommend this hotel if you are willing to sacrifice luxury and comfort for a low price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent 5 days on a tour at Ninfa in a suite. We enjoyed a lot our stay and were very happy of the accommodation. As we selected the tour, punctuality was the keyword including for the meal time. The food was basic but tasful and the waiters were friendly as soon as you speak spanish... The hotel has a very slow internet connexion but a very enjoyable bar closed to the swimming pool. The guided tours were very interesting and well organised. If you want to spent an agreable time in Galapagos for an affordable price, this is the good option !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ninfa

Address: Calle los Colonos y Av charles Darwin,, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ninfa Galapagos, located in the heart of Puerto Ayora, is more than just a hotel. We are pioneers in Galapagos tourism. No one is better equipped or has more experience to help you fully enjoy your adventure on the Enchanted Islands. Stroll along the harbor, visit the shops and galleries, or simply lounge around in our comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ninfa Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.