We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge to your Saves list
Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge
Km 12, via a Baltra | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOTEL & TOUR PACKAGES
Ranked #1 of 37 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent a week here on a yoga retreat in July. Rob, the owner/operator was an integral part of the fabulous experience I had during the entire trip. He is high energy, enthusiastic, and makes a great guide. He and his wife Daysy, along with the local staff were all extremely kind, helpful, and accommodating to all our needs, itinerary changes, dietary restrictions and requests. The lodge is gorgeous and spacious, the rooms and bathrooms are large, comfortable and clean.

Semilla Verde itself is nestled in a paradisical jungle where they grow their own delicious coffee and vegetables. There is a mile of trails to wander and even a giant tortoise who has made their land it's home. Stunning, serene and magical are adjectives that best describe Semilla Verde.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden/jungle are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
132
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights there recently on our honeymoon. The lodge and rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, the food is excellent, and fresh coffee is available all day. We were in room 1 which has a fantastic view over the grounds, and on a clear day you can even see some of the other islands in the distance. We enjoyed relaxing on the hammock on the private balcony, seeing giant tortoises on the grounds, and it's easy to arrange trips into Puerto Ayora. Robert also arrange a day trip to Bartolome for us and suggested some places to go on Santa Cruz. Daysi prepared a lovely meal for us on the last night. I would certainly recommend staying at Semilla Verde.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the top has the best views and I believe is the largest room, but the other rooms all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After researching our Galapagos trip for some time, we eventually decided to use Semilla Verde as our base for a land-based holiday rather than opting for a cruise ship package. This decision was definitely vindicated, not only for the amount of money saved but for the wonderful stay we had at this property. Robert did an excellent job of organising our day-trips before our arrival, all of which ran like clockwork. Great to be able to relax in comfort in the Highlands every evening after some long days out on boat trips visiting the tremendous wildlife nearby. Puerto Ayora is a 15 minute taxi ride away, if you want to visit its' bars and restaurants, or buy the tacky tourist trinkets. All the staff were fantastic, and served up some wonderful meals on the days we ate in. Highlight is drinking their delicious coffee on your own private verandah as giant tortoises wander by!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Believe all the hype,Semilla Verde is a great place to relax away from the (relative)hustle and bustle of Puerta Ayora and the complimentary daily one way taxi ride largely offsets any downside to being a distance out of the town.

Robert and Daysi have converted their former home into very comfortable guest accommodation set in a beautiful coffee plantation and natural grounds. The rooms are well appointed ,spotlessly clean and comfortable and the food and service provided by their staff was excellent.The atmosphere is similar to a European ski chalet transplanted to the Equator!

Robert's help with planning our diving and cruise itinerary were spot on(Cruise reviewhere:
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g294310-i6637-k6577928-Galaxy_Cruise_Review-Galapagos_Islands.html#50563085).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Imagine waking up to a view overlooking a lush canopy of Scalesia trees with the ocean as a backdrop, smelling the brew of coffee that is grown on site, and sitting down to a hospitably served breakfast each morning. Our trip to the Galapagos and our stay at Semilla Verde were once in a lifetime experiences. We were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary and my husband’s 50th birthday. My husband had read the reviews of Semilla Verde and had carefully chosen the perfect setting for our special celebrations. Robert (owner of Semilla Verde) made certain that our 7days were expertly booked to provide just the right mix of adventure (snorkeling with sea lions, frolicking in Tortuga Bay, wildlife spotting, and walking tours with knowledgeable guides) relaxation (blissful boat rides), and excellent Ecuadorian meals (thank you Evelyn and Daysi). After full days one was able to retire to the peaceful, romantic setting at Semilla Verde to reflect on the excitement of the day, or to stay in town for a time to soak up the local culture. Our stay at Semilla Verde exceeded our expectations and made the memories of our celebrations unforgettable. (thank you Robert and crew)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Your host at this lodge is Robert. He is a pleasant guy and a veritable walking tour guide for his island home of Santa Cruz. I had many questions about this mysterious island that managed to elude detail and description of its activities and attractions, even from within Ecuador. Robert quite patiently answered all of my 250 emails that I sent him with a least as many questions about it (JOKE...I am joking!)

Robert organized my arrival and a typical local lunch was provided to me once there. He accommodated my vegetarian diet preference AND a severe food allergy as well (It is indeed a daunting task to cook for me and many dare not). The meal was delicious and served to me by his charming staff- two endearing local women who always smiled at me no matter how badly I mangled and destroyed their beloved Spanish language.

Rooms were well appointed and I had probably the largest wooden room closet in a lodge that I had ever seen before..wow..at least 6 other people could have used that closet with me and I would not even have noticed them! My bed was large and comfy and I had a beautiful hammock from which I watched the stars at night and listened to the sounds of the highland forest in the day. The ensuite bathroom was expansive and was thoughtfully equipped with the needs of the travelling unwashed. The room provided many conveniences that I did not even use like a hair dryer, tv, safe, etc....SOAP teehee.

Although I travelled alone this past trip, this lodging concept is very well suited to groups and in particular, yoga groups as it boasts a separate yoga studio on the grounds. Within the lodge there are many common areas to convene with your group and/or friends. There is a kitchen available as well which I appreciated very much.

Semilla Verde is situated a little outside the port however it is but a quick 15 minute cab ride away and Robert was kind enough to reimburse my daily trips in and out of the town. The commute afforded me the privilege to chat with probably all the island's cab drivers and gave me a unique opportunity to spread my bad Spanish over a wider region.

Would I return? DEF! AND I have been taking intensive Spanish classes since I returned home so watch out when I do return because I have added more vocabulary with which to torture native speakers!

Thanks again, Robert! (or was it Fred...JOKING) See you again within the year!

Superfood Chef Michelle

Readers: Thanks for reading my review and if it helped at all please hit that button below and give Trip Advisor feedback for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Situated on Santa Cruz in the highlands in a lush coffee plantation . Simple but lovely rooms, clean. Plenty of hot water. Lots of communal space to use. Rob organised a really good itinerary for us which was excellent. We had a few really excellent meals at the house which i would heartily recommend. Breakfasts were lovely though a bit of variation might have been nice as we stayed for 8 nights. Lots of lovely walks around the plantation and birds and tortoises. One free there and back taxi to the local main town included which was great. Lovely staff. we would certainly recommend a stay here and I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge

Address: Km 12, via a Baltra | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!! NEW IN 2015 !!! In addition to our yoga studio the mini-spa will offer our guests facial and body treatments, massage and sauna. Semilla Verde Lodge offers complete hotel & tour package options. You will visit outlying islands and local sites with qualified naturalist guides and experience first hand the beauty of Galapagos and it's unique flora and fauna - from giant tortoises and lava lizards to marine iguanas and playful sea lions. Your stay will be based in an original and idyllic rural retreat where peace, privacy and Galapagos wildlife abounds. You will enjoy one-to-one personal service, traditional home cooking, panoramic views from private terrace, spa services and exclusive access to nature trails through twelve acres of private forest where giant tortoises lumber freely and native birds thrive. At night, gaze up into the unspoilt majesty of the milky way. Comfortable en-suite bedrooms with AC, WiFi and DVD just 12 minutes taxi ride from Puerto Ayora. All in all, an authentic and genuinely friendly land-base for your Galapagos adventure and an all encompassing alternative to a traditional cruise ship experience. Semilla Verde Lodge & Spa. Your Natural Selection for Adventure, Relaxation & Revitalisation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semilla Verde Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.