We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic cheap rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gardner to your Saves list
Hotel Gardner
Galapagos Islands | entre Bolivar Naveda y 12 de Febrero, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic cheap rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are very basic, though also very cheap. The price contains breakfast as well. We were suprised that it was personally prepared for us by a staff member. Location is also very central.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
11
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as a solo traveller. Room was spacious and pretty clean but a little dark and stuffy with one window only looking onto a corridor. Bathroom very small and the toilet leaked. Reasonable breakfast served on the rooftop terrace included in the price. Well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights, it was the cheapest private room we could find for $30/night (including continental breakfast). We didn't have reservations. After the first 2 nights, they told us they were full (with reservations) and that we had to vacate. So we scoped out the hotel next door (Espana $35 no breakfast but seemed a bit nicer) and packed up our bags to check out when they told us they could move us to a different room. So we changed rooms (it was huge, on the 3rd floor with 5 twin beds). The next day, they asked us to move to the room across the hall, so we did. All the moving around was a bit annoying.

All 3 rooms had cable T.V. (but the T.V. were all different sizes from tiny to watchable) and a DVD player (but one of them didn't work).

The rooftop terrace was very nice as it had a great view but also had some wind, as it was somewhat hot in the room (rooms had A.C. but cost $10 extra so we just opted for fans). They served continental breakfast on the terrace.

They supposedly had Wi-fi in the reception and terrace but I could never get the rooftop to work and the reception area was still a spotty connection.

Overall, it was a good value but the wi-fi was spotty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week. Our room had a cement staircase bottom in the middle of it. I was sure one of us would knock ourselves out running into it in the dark. There was air conditioning, but we did not want to use it, because all of the electricity on Santa Cruz comes from diesel generators, and we would rather not use it. However, the hostel has one window, and no cross-ventilation, and the one window is on a corridor that has a high plastic wall on the other side. We were supposed to have hot water, but never did. The water pressure was eccentric. The pillow cases had evidence of mold on them. The toilet ran. The breakfast was inedible. On the plus side, the top floor where breakfast is served is really nice, with cushioned chairs in which to rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Look - if you've got the money, get yourself a nice hotel, a private boat - eat a freakin' turtle for dinner for all I care, but if you are like the rest of the world - take it easy. Stay anywhere. This hotel was reasonably priced and close to the center. You have no business doing anything at the hotel anyway. Just like any island nation - they are really relaxed. This also means that not much security or police are present. Do not leave your suitcases full of jewels and cash at the hotel. Take your crap with you if you were dumb enough to bring it on a trip. Book your Galapagos trips wisely and don't get ripped off. The beauty is what will take your breath away - not the boat itself. My partner and I were OK on the boat, but we witnessed about 10 people throwing up from the motion and the speed of the boats. Be careful. Bring your pills and a bag to do your business in. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here before our cruise, and wanted to stay again after, but it didn't work out - turns out telling the cleaning staff anything doesn't make it happen. We left a bag to be locked up, and when we got back, it was still sitting in the reception. She had promised to get it done, but no go. I guess that was kind of our own fault, though we didn't have much other choice since she was the only one around. The rooms are dark, accessible from inside with few windows, but this isn't so bad because it's so darn hot there that the lack of sun keeps things cool. The rooftop is a nice little terrace, tho didn't spend much time up there since we wanted to see as much as possible of the islands. Clean, friendly, breakfast included, good price. Big rooms, comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions while visiting Galapagos. Both times the owners were really nice and helpful. The rooms for what we paid while here were worth it when you compare it to the options available. The breakfast was pretty good as well. The place is dated, but if you are on the island for a day or so I would recommend this place. The location is good especially if you are doing tours the next day. I would make sure to negotiate on the price though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gardner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardner

Address: Galapagos Islands | entre Bolivar Naveda y 12 de Febrero, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gardner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardner Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Gardner Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.