We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galapagos treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angermeyer Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Galapagos treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The owners have put much care and attention into building an excellent inn. The attention to the details inside the rooms was outstanding. We stayed in the huge Ocean Breeze room which had an unparalleled view of the bay. The restaurant area at the waterfront offered nice views of the harbor.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    37
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
87
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner (although we didn't know it) who turned us over to a very friendly staff. We were a large group and the staff seemed to have trouble getting the right luggage to the right rooms. Also, the rooms vary in size, view and quality. We were a large group and we had all paid the same price but some were in nicer rooms than others.

The food was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed one dinner and two breakfasts.

This hotel is accessible only by water taxi. This could be annoying or charming, depending on how you look at at.

This was our last stop on the Galapagos tour. The whole week our guide had talked about how there was no crime on the islands so I thought it was odd that this hotel had video surveillance all around. On our first night there, I left my shirt on the patio and went in the room to shower. When I returned, it wasn't there. The security staff was able to queue up the video and learn that a stray dog had taken it. So, somewhere on Santa Cruz island, there is a stray dog, sporting an LL Bean surf shirt. If you see him, you'll know what happened. But just in case, don't leave your clothes lying around on the patio.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked this hotel through the Andean Discovery Galapagos Islands Tour. Again, Damon from Andean didn't disappoint in his hotel selections! You take a 2 minute water taxi ride to/from the main entrance to town (Puerto Ayora), which our kids loved. This hotel is right on the water, as is their restaurant. We watched sea turtles and sea lions swim right next to us while eating every day! It's a very nice, charming, friendly, clean, beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Mockingbird Suite which was our own little house with a King bed and 2 twins. A kitchenette/living room was also part of the room. It had huge windows on all sides and a cute patio with a view of the bay. The staff was excellent, as well! I would stay here over any other property in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Mockingbird is perfect for a couple with 2 children! (This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This charming waterfront hotel in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz was outstanding. Simple, sweet, waterfront charm. The restaurant overlooks the port where you can eat a fabulous breakfast or enjoy a drink from the bar and watch the boats come and go, which is both relaxing and entertaining.

This hotel has nice rooms. Most do not have a view, but just walk to the tables on the deck. The rooms sort of have a beachy Greece like feel to them with their hardwood floors and white walls and multiple windows with the sea breeze blowing through. The bed was comfortable, the A/C was great and the room had some comfortable club chairs for relaxing. The closet was huge with an extra space for luggage storage as well and a safe. The bathroom was nice with a large shower and consistent hot water. Everything was clean.

They had a nice breakfast buffet with eggs to order and a wide variety of fruits and other warm foods to pick from.

The staff was very nice and well versed in English and always helpful. The only knock I have is that we arrived early and our room wasn't ready which wasn't a problem for us. They showed us to some bathrooms we could use to change and freshen up. They promised us our luggage would be in our room when we came back in the afternoon. When we came back and got our key and went to our room the luggage was not there. The front desk guy told us he'd go get it from the "safe room" and have it delivered to us. Upon walking back towards our room we noticed the pile of luggage was sitting in front of the bar right where we had left it and had been there all day. Clearly an oversight.

You do have to plan a few minutes to go into town from this hotel, as you are dependent on water taxis to take you back and forth. We found them to always be available so that was not ever a problem. They cost 60cents in the daytime and $1.00 after 6pm per person.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were at the Angermeyer for 3 nights during our Galapagos trip. First night was when we dropped off the Galapagos Sky and stayed in the Geko room very wide but no view, just to move to Isabela the day after. We left one of our heavy bags with the diving gear to be picked up in part two of our stay. In the second part we were there for 2 nights and stayed in the Pelican smaller room with incredible view of the Santa Cruz harbour. The food is great and good value for money and so are the drinks especially at happy hour. Angermeyer is very close to the more expensive Finch Bay but the location is better and you can get the same drinks for $10 less. We had dinner twice as the mainstream set up of Santa Cruz did not appeal to us especially after being in Isabela. We also had a trip to Santa Fe arranged that I would definitely recommend as we spent half hour with baby sea lions in the water. I booked the hotel with Expedia first but then contacted the front desk directly for trips, transfers etc and the service was fabulous. On our last day we booked last second the transfer service to Baltra. Though this was double the cost of just getting on yourself we had a driver taking us until check in. What's more wife had forgot her kindle in the room the driver got a prompt phone call and the kindle was delivered mid way by scooter. The rooms are impeccable and the mosquito net (essential in Santa Cruz) are super tight unlike some other outfits we have seen. If you don't want to be in the crowds and enjoy an impeccable location with 1st class service in the best location look no further

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor with harbour view are smaller but view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stepping from the panga boat to the dock after a long trip from the US to the Galapagos,the Angermeyer was a haven of peace, calm and beauty. We were welcomed to this pristine paradise by polite staff and a cool drink. The Angermeyer Waterfront is immaculate, a beautiful whitewashed collection of cottages. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable and everything is clean, neat and cozy. The staff kept offering to upgrade us to a better room after our first night but we were perfectly happy with our cottage on the lower level of the resort, though those on the higher levels offered incredible views. We were content to eat breakfast and dinner on the deck overlooking the bay(food is fresh and delicious), and watching the wildlife from our chairs. (We spotted golden rays right from the dock). Just a 3 min boat ride from the town of Puerta Ayora, it's a cinch to explore the town. A great beach secluded in a calm cove is a 5 min walk down the path adjacent to the hotel. This is a perfect place to base yourself for exploring the Galapagos.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill have gorgeous views and ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Angermeyer was our base for our Galapagos exploration, and was fairly conveniently located to the main area of Puerto Ayora. It is set across the water, reachable by a couple-minute water taxi ride, and the water taxis run all day and night. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. They were kind enough to loan us some aloe vera when we returned from our first snorkeling day with sunburns on our backs. They told us we could hang onto the bottle of aloe until we checked out a couple of days later.

Besides this, the restaurant was very convenient, with a lovely waterfront setting, including views of rays, a sea lion, and a sea turtle. The food was pretty good at the restaurant also. Over two nights, we each tried the seafood ceviche once, and had a seafood pizza and a sautéed calamari dish besides. The ceviche was definitely the tastiest meal we had on Galapagos. Breakfast in the morning had a nice buffet spread, along with eggs to order.

The rooms were a bit on the small side by American standards, but comfortable. We were kind of disturbed to be reminded that the water was not only non-potable, but that we should remember to keep our mouths closed while showering. I know this is standard across all the hotels and residences in Galapagos, but still a jarring reminder.

The rooms were generally very clean, although there was a small army of ants that seemed to be fans of our daily flowers; we solved this problem by putting the flowers out on the balcony table each day when we returned. On our second night in the hotel, we were greeted by three lizards crawling on the wall, which we also escorted to the balcony.

Overall, comfortable and well above average for Galapagos.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right at the waterfront, which provides a splendid view of the bay and the interior of the island of Santa Cruz – as well as a convenient place for taking a swim. The final phase of construction was finished in 2009, and our hotel is a natural first-choice for quality travellers. A short 100 meter walk along a path takes you to a small beach. There is an ocean view from 13 of the 16 rooms. Due to the restrictions of the National Park it is not possible to walk to the hotel. Instead it can easily be reached by a 2-minute water-taxi ride right to our door. We have a beautiful wooden deck built out over the water where we serve lunches as well as dinner by candlelight. From the deck we often see sea turtles, sea lions and iguanas swimming past. Pelicans, frigate birds and blue-footed boobies are always our visitors. We offer full bar service as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angermeyer Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.