We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del lago Lovely suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Lago

Save Saved
You added Casa del Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Lago
Moises Brito and Juan Montalvo, Galapagos Islands, Puerto Ayora S/N, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
“Del lago Lovely suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent 4 days at caso del lago. I made a room reservation through booking, in which I have asked for media Luna but when we arrived I was given del lago suite and I thank the lady for that, because it was the loveliest room I have ever been.

The whole ambiance was in a perfectly harmony. the colors the view and of course the company made the perfect honey moon for me I couldn’t ask for more ... or maybe yes I wish I could have spent more days in Galapagos :)

The lady who welcomed us was such an interesting person to talk to , she was a tour guide so her advices were really helpful besides that if you have the chance to share some time with her you may get lucky to hear her sing !!! Wonderful voice

And the breakfast was such a nutritious one that we were full up to afternoon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'm just back from a swim in a lagoon around the corner from this charming and comfortable hotel. The location is great. Besides the lagoon, we're away from the souvenir shops but close to the port and restaurants. Now, though, it's time to go sit out on the little balcony and look at the flowers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena A, Propietario at Casa del Lago, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Laurie
Su comentario nos pone muy contentos a todos quienes hacemos Casa del Lago y nos complace haberle servido haciendo de este sitio ......su casa.
Nuestros saludos.

Elena A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our experience at Casa del Lago proved to us that it is indeed possible to find a nice hotel on the Galapagos without any advance booking, even in late July. We walked into the hotel, which is just two streets away from the harbour and were offered 3 nights for the price of 2. And as we arrived at 11 a.m., we were even offered a free breakfast with excellent coffee, a tasty omelet and fresh blueberry juice. It was a very nice welcome.

The first two nights we spent in the room on the corner of the building. It was very spacious and had its own kitchen and a big supply of filtered water. Since this room does not have glass windows, but only insect screens in the window frames, we were happy to have brought earplugs to be able to ignore the cars passing by and the neighbours' party. As there were holes in the insect screens, our bug spray also came in very handy. We were also greeted by a friendly lizard one morning.

The last night we had to move as our first room had been booked by another group. We were given a much better room, on the ground floor next to the owner's residence. It had glass windows and our bed was placed in a second room at the back, far away from the street. Unlike the first room, it also had a separate bathroom. It was by far the best room we had during our stay on the Galapagos.

Big plusses: the awesome, homemade breakfast, the friendly staff and the discount you can get by just booking on the spot. Minuses: the noise from outside, and the internet only works within a one meter radius of the computer in the restaurant (which is closed in the evening, so you will have to stand outside).

The staff have a day off on Sundays, but will serve you breakfast if you ask for it. Make sure to inform them in advance at what time you want to have breakfast that day or they may be a bit late and you'll go on your trip with an empty stomach!

Room Tip: The more expensive room downstairs is much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were at Casa Del Lago with our two daughters. it isa great place for families. We stayed in the Enfante Suite which is two levels and has a small kitchen perfect for cooking light meals if you are tired of eating out. Elena was very helped and Sra. Luz were very kind. Casa also seems to have one of the better priced menus in Puerto Ayora which simple delicious food. After three days of having the same breakfast (one egg, juice, bread, coffee, tea or hot chocolate) we would have liked some varied options of breakfast choices.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Ecuador 3 weeks and we tried to save the best for last, however, the hotel was ruining our plans (we changed hotels by 2 night). 1st the weather on the island is SOOO hot you need air conditioning, all we got was a tiny fan that didn't do much. 2nd mattress smelled like (BO) sweat. 3rd very tiny apartment with little ventilation, only kitchen window could be opened. 4th cracks along doors/windows which allow bugs/mosquitos/ants in.- Not sure if the bug bites we got were from bed bugs and/ or mosquitos in our place, could be both. 5tth Internet service rarely worked. 6th staff not well trained on customer service or information about island. 6th the 60 day cancelation should have been a warning as NO other hotel has this. 7th the reviews were OK when I originally booked, but when I checked again before our arrival they had gone down. 8th Only double beds, not ideal for solo traveler/ friends/ or anyone who can't stand sharing a bed on a stuffy/ hot night. There are much better options not listed on-line which you can just walk into and check out the rooms. LOOK for a place with caring stafff, but most important AIR CONDITIONING and better priced.
Oh yeah don't let the pictures fool you like they did us. Max stay a night and check for yourself, this way you don't have to commit to paying once you don't like it, and you have a chance to look around the island for better places not listed on line.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena A, Propietario at Casa del Lago, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your comment, really helps me to grow up as a business:
Fortunately now every apartments has their own router so you can have internet without any problem, at less we have some technical problem with the main antenna in town.
Galápagos has two seasons: summer and winter. In winter for the rains and high temperatures you will expect all kind of bugs, ants, mosquitos , many lizards on the walls, geckos’ etc. And about this, I can’t do anything because this is nature … I am sorry.
We have a new personal now that are taking care the hotel.
About beds in this place, is very clear what trip advisor publish in the web page we have only doubles suites ( one double bed) triple ( one double bed plus one single bed) and family suite for 4 people ( two doubles beds plus one double sofa bed).
We had been keeping carefully the standard regulation about contamination in Galápagos that is why we have only fans, but seems like new kind of air conditioner is going to appear in the market ( more ecological equipments) and for sure I will get those ones . My intention is to be responsible as much as I can, for the place I am living , and for the health of every customer who are enjoying my place.
Thanks
Elena A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our family spent a week in the delightful Casa del Lago and loved it. The property sits less than five minutes walk from the waterfront,and the colorful two-story Ninfas suite was more than roomy enough for four adults, with firm comfy beds and a kitchenette that came in handy when we had to miss Luz 's delicious breakfast due to a tour. Elena (the proprietor) will help you make the most of your time in the Galapagos, and will happily help you set up your excursions. The Care del Lagos is part of the property, and where we began our day with the included breakfast provided by Luz, our host. Everything we tried was delicious! I highly recommend you come back in the afternoon for a humita, our family's new favorite dish. Luz ensured we had everything we needed and pointed out highlights of Puerto Ayora we might have otherwise missed. We enjoyed every day of our stay, and will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Do tell Elena who comprises your group as there several styles of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a group from the recent Polynesian Voyaging Canoes stay at an Apartment at Casa del Lago, and we loved it. Elena has become our friend and while we were there she helped us organize our days and made us feel at home. The setting is nice with plants and balconies, making for nice evenings relaxing on the balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Lago

Address: Moises Brito and Juan Montalvo, Galapagos Islands, Puerto Ayora S/N, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Lago Lodging House (House of the Lake) is located only 40 meters of the beautiful Nymphs Lake, to 40 minutes of Tortoise Bay the most beautiful beach we have near town, we are close to Charles Darwin Avenue, the main hospital, shops, restaurants, farmacys.etc. House of the Lake is a house with gardens and exterior terraces with successful decoration, with very much color and built with materials of the place as lava rock and wood, also there is present the recycling, favorite work of hers owner who personally designed and constructed and that do of this house a magic site for pairs, families and friends. All apartments are with equipped kitchen, private bathrooms hot water, potable water, wifi-Tv-cable, fans and out door dining areas …this will give you the whole comfort like in home. We have also our Coffee place where the breakfasts with the unique aroma of the organic and filter coffee from the mountains of Galapagos and the vegetarian food, has given to this place a great reputation ,besides that for your free time we have a book exchange corner. This place is special for you also because you can have whole support by the owner, who for hers knowledge and experience like a tour guide can prepare for you the real visit plan inside and outside the Island …. And finally because your visit in CASA DEL LAGO is already part of this paradise call GALAPAGOS ISLANDS!!!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Lago Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.