We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella del Mar Hotel

Estrella del Mar Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella del Mar Hotel
Calle 12 de Febrero, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands | detrás del Edificio de Tame, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good views, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to pay a little extra for this hotel for the view of the harbor and we were told breakfast was included in the rate ($50 for a double). Later when we asked about breakfast times they told us there was no breakfast. I'm hoping this was a communication issue.
We decided other hotels offered better value and moved.
Room 12- The room was clean and spacious. It had 2 rooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 singles. Not sure if they would charge more for 4 people staying - if not it could offer good value.
Hot water was really inconsistent.
There's plenty of available hotels in Puerto Ayora and you'd need a good reason to pay more than $30 for a double.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Molnlycke, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed two last nights of our wonderful Galapagos vacation in Santa Gruz and in Estrella del Mar in January 2012. We didn´t have anything booked ahead and just looked for a place to stay when we arrived. We had some requirements: a sea view with a balcony or terrace and a basic equipped but clean room near the town center with reasonable price. And we got all that - in Estrella del Mar! Other hotels with sea view were 3 times more expensive offering things we did not need.

There is no breakfast served, but there are several nice cafeterias in the main street to choose from. As someone mentioned, it is little bit tricky to find this hotel and you have to go down a dusty road from the main ave towards the sea (2 min walk), but it is very small town and there are impressively good signs to follow. And yes, they do not probably speak that much english there, which wasn´t a problem for us though, since we speak spanish. There was a fridge in the room and also aircon, however the AC was not very effective so the room was pretty warm even if it was on. But this was only review of one of the rooms they have, dont know about the others.

Only thing that annoyed us was the morning when we were leaving and needed a taxi to the airport. We had booked it ahead, but it never came even if we asked about it many times in the reception. And after some waiting we walked up to the main ave and took a taxi there instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed there for three nights with my husband. Very basic hotel, but you can't beat the value, views and location. Right in town, on the bay, near all restaurants etc. A little run down but for half the price of most hotels, cant complain. Room #9 has incredible views 180 views of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed here a couple nights before our ship tour. Location is central and it had an ocean view (same room as in the photos) but it was spars and everything about the place was very basic. It's not a place you're going to want to do much more than sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a Galapagos tour. The main problem is that no one speaks English here. To get to the hotel you have to walk down a dirt driveway, thus if it rained, you would be dragging your luggage in the mud. Though there are screens on the windows, they had holes or would not close all the way, so mosquitos were a problem. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast, which included bread, jam, eggs, bananas and tea or instant coffee. Hot milk was served to the children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Our original trip to the Galapagos Islands booked for May had to be changed to August due to a serious illness. We pre-paid for the hotel in cash through Jenny Divine at Moonrise Travel Agency as was required. Though we notified them of our change in plans 3 weeks before our original arrival date, the hotel refused to change the reservation saying they were fully booked in August (3 months later). When a Spanish-speaking friend of mine telephoned the hotel requesting the same dates they incredibly had a room available and required no advanced payment. The hotel and Moonrise Travel refused to refund our money. Please stay somewhere else. DO NOT use Moonrise Travel. DO NOT pay for hotels in advance - it is only required by hotels and travel agencies targeting Americans. There are much better hotels to stay at for a fraction of the price. Try Hotel Gardner that's where we ended up staying and we loved it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lying about changing reservation, refusal to refund money
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed here before and after a trip to Isabela Island. The location is convenient, it's easy to get to everything. We had a sea view the first night and an interior room when we came back. I actually liked the interior room better, it was quieter without the waves crashing and the air conditioner worked better. The beds were comfortable. It seemed clean to me. The hallways are open-air, so critters could get in. We did see a few mice running on the ground floor and a gecko on the wall of our room. Use bottled water to brush your teeth, the tap water in the Galapagos is bad.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrella del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella del Mar Hotel

Address: Calle 12 de Febrero, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands | detrás del Edificio de Tame, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Hotel Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Estrella del Mar Hotel to your Saves list