We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! We had 2 stay another unplanned night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Palm Resort Hotel
Via Baltra Km 18, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
fort myers
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OMG! We had 2 stay another unplanned night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Royal Palm makes its visitors feel absolutely AMAZING and like royalty. We were able to stay in one of the villas and it was NICE. It seemed like we were literally the ONLY people staying there! We may have saw one other person our entire stay. Due to our budget, we were only scheduled to stay one night. Even that night was priced extremely well due to the construction that absolutely didn't bother us. However, we didn't want to leave and stayed another night!

Arrival to Galapagos was made extremely comfortable by their pick up service, which is only a few dollars more than doing it on your own. However, the driver has a sign with your name on it, waiting for you at the airport. He carried all of our bags, WOW! This was great, because you have a bus, boat and van transfer to get to the resort.

Their staff is VERY attentive, especially Gustave and Victor! We would literally call any time of the night for the fireplace to be lit or order food, even juice and someone would arrive very soon. Speaking of the food, it's only one of the 2 "cons" that I have about the place, everything else is a PRO! The only reason I have to complain about the food is because this place is so amazing that they should invest in better food. The food wasn't good at all and it was very overpriced to be practically be inedible.

The other "con" is the fact that the place is so far out. By staying another night, we missed opportunities to go to town and bargain for excursions. The place is pretty far from everything. So most fun, especially after dark, has to be held in your room. We had the best driver ever, the hotel called him for us. We hired him for a whole day for $100. Although he didn't speak any English, we were able to communicate very well.

All in all, this place is def worth the money. We couldn't find available reservations online, but we emailed and received an amazing price to stay here! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a hotel that once used to be proud but is now run down and dowdy. Like a Queen well past her age.

It is 20 minutes from town and within a large property. The villas are isolated and look good on the outside. But once you come in you notice that not much maintenance has been done in ages.

The bulb for our toilet was not working and changing it did not do the trick and they had to replace the socket. Our desk lamp bulb also did not work. The place was not inspected before it was rented to us - cannot believe that. The shower did not have single hook for the towels and with a family, it is is difficult to come out naked into the hall to get the towel. What a disastrous planning on their part. And one reviewer had pointed it out in 2010 yet they had not made an attempt to correct it. The door to the toilet was creaky and did not even close fully.

They claimed they had internet for free but the 4 days we were there we did not get any internet connection. And they blamed it on the IT person - luxury hotel making such stupid excuses. There was no coffee or tea in the room and to bring even hot water to the room was $8 extra.

The food was good though the service was very slow. With small children food ordered at 8 PM came in at 9.30 PM. The kitchen and wait staff were attentive and was the best thing about this hotel.

About the front desk - the less said the better.

One has to walk on the driveways to see the lose stones / shingles and creaking from them to know that there is no money for upkeep of this hotel. That is a shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel has 2 MAJOR problems, 1: The hotel is 20 min by car from the city, so you can no even see the coast from it. 2: The location is in galapagos "highlands" so the weather is completely different that you could expect in Galapagos. It was all the time foggy, cold and raining.
Apart from that is "suppose" to be Galapagos best hotel, but when we arrived at the airport, they came to pick us up 1.5 hours late! We called the hotel and they keep saying some one is going to pick us up, but they would tell us how long would it take.
The rooms are kind of OK, but shower is quite problematic wetting everything around: floors, steps, which makes is a little bit dangerous. Also the internet is quite slow (when it works).
What I can say is that the staff was nice and food was very tasty, but completely overprice!
Overall... It does not worth the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajolla
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great place to contemplate suicide. The property is located 20 minutes from any services , restaurants, or the beach. We just returned (11/25/2012 , having discovered it's a dump located in a seasonal fog bank. One reaches the property by driving down a bone rattling, unmaintained dirt road that practically requires four-wheel drive.That was the least of our problems. The property is being renovated although there were no workers in sight and no advance warning from our travel agent. Our "bungalows" which were the "best rooms in the house" were filthy, the windows streaked, the furniture worn and spotted, the towels paper thin, electrical wires dangerously strung,etc., etc. The restaurant was closed, the spa and health club were closed, the tennis courts covered with dirt. The "temporary" restaurant was actually OK and the minimal staff(one bellman) intent on pleasing. We would have moved but nothing else was available on the island. Either the manager isn't up to the task or they lack the resources to maintain the place. Leading Hotels of the World should be ashamed of their endorsement.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, preferably at the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Royal Palm is beautiful, serene and romantic. It is in the middle of a plantation, so it is in the middle of a vast empty space. You can see the ocean from your breakfast or from your villa or room. It is small, unique and exclusive by its very nature. We spent a week there and many times felt that we had the place to ourselves. The staff was very professional friendly and spent a great deal of time making us feel welcome. The concierge made our stay even better by arranging much of the sight seeing on our behalf. We were introduced to the property manager and he spent some considerable time discussing how best to enjoy our stay in the Galapagos.

Book in advance and you will find the place quite affordable. Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Try the villas if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bland, MO
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On arrival... down a long po hole filled road, got checked in at make shift office, and found out no internet working in room, and can not call the front desk, as no phone. Had to call on cell. After a few hours internet was fixed, still with not good reception, but sort of worked. Phone never worked more than 1/2 the time. Would ring and ring, no answer. Front desk claimed was phone in my room... so why not have fixed it? Construction everywhere... restaurant closed, fed us in small 4 table area by the bar. Food was good, and waiter was great. Then the surprizes... seems was some marathon going on and road CLOSED out of the hotel, which did I mention was 20-25 minutes from town, and had NO gift shop, no where to even buy a toothbrush or ost card. So for afternoon our 2nd day and all morning 3rd day, were stuck. Could not go anywhere. Hotel even bookd a tour for us on 3rd day and after driving in a circle for an hour, had to come back... Seems quite strange a hotel would not know what is going on in there own area. This was scheduled months ago.... No ESPN, CNN or BBC... Although readily available in town. Was told island did not have which was obviousnot correct. Saturday Morning fun...up at 6 AM to go fishing.. except no water.. Not for a shower... not for flush toliet.. not a drop. Told at 6;10 AM will be fixed in 5-10 minutes.. Really fixed about 2:00PM.... Wait... there more. Ceiling leaked by bed. Awoken with water drops splashing on my face middle of night. They did fix it. ON departure day.. a fitting end.. ran out of coffee. How does a hotel run out of coffee? I travel 100 nights a year or more, for last 25 years, and this was the worst supposedly top place I have seen. No offer for compensation... Gave some little trinket was to make me feel better. Stay away. I would not go back for free.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

While the Royal Palm has an extensive property with numerous individual villas which are very comfortable, the property has not been maintained, with the result that it looks run down. The road in is full of potholes and difficult to navigate, the thatched roofs on the dining room and main building were overgrown with moss, necessitating the use of black vinyl coverings to prevent leaks, the cobblestone pathways were uneven, moss- covered and dangerous, the tennis courts were overgrown and in need of resurfacing and, worst of all, the dining room was filled with birds. The birds were nesting in the thatched roof and were constantly jumping onto the tables and pecking at the food- not only a nuisance but also a serious sanitation risk ! The villas have a 60's decor, even though the property is only about 12 years old.

Although the staff were very pleasant, the management appears to be non- existent. The property is also very remote ( a full 25 minutes by cab to Puerto Ayora) , making it difficult to eat out. Definitely not worth the prices charged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palm Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Resort Hotel

Address: Via Baltra Km 18, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Palm Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Resort Hotel Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.