We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crossman

Save Saved
You added Hotel Crossman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Crossman
Juan Montalvo y Charles Binford | Barrio Las Ninfas, 00593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
Guayaquil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“100% recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was more my home at Galapagos when I decided to move over there... I totally recommend this place for a nice staying. Quite relax place and the people is also nice... the administrator Jannina is really cool and always making sure u r having a good time there.... the dorms are comfy, clean and have all the services (hot water, A/C, TV Cable, WIFI, really comfy beds) couldnt ask for better while I stayed there. Its close to Tortuga Bay road and the upstairs room have a really nice view, the lobby whether downstairs and at the mezzanine is nice to chillax with other guests and locals.

Doesnt feel like u r in a hotel but like u r in a family place! At least thats how i felt over there and cant wait to go back there in a few days!!! Greetings Jannina!!! Good vibe Marina

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found the Hotel Crossman by chance while walking to Tortuga Bay. We found Hotel Crossman to be really lovely, with big comfortable beds, clean facilities, a nice atmosphere, lovely host and great value. We stayed here for five nights in a room with a balcony overlooking bougainvillea. The hotel is a block awat from the cheap restaurants in Charles Binford, and a short walk from Tortuga Bay. I wonder if the rooms may have been renovated since the previous reviews. The only drawbacks that we found were low pressure in the shower in the rooms upstairs. The breakfast was decent, but basic. We preferred to eat breakfast externally.

Room Tip: The better rooms are on the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in room #3 on the 1st floor one night in July before we headed to a Galapagos cruise. It is the worse room we've ever stayed in anywhere.

We had trouble to open the door from inside which was a serious safety issue in the event of fire. The shower did not work. It gave you boiling hot water only. The mirror was hung so high that you could only see the part above your eye level. The window faced a garbage dump. The air condition was placed next to an open hole. So the hot air just came into the room directly. What a waste of energy. A part of door frame was missing. It reminded us a scene in a horrible movie. We ended up sleeping with our cloth on. We could not take shower. We just wanted the night to be over so we could get out there! The breakfast tasted weird. We did not eat.

Room #3 is NOT made as a guest room. It can only be a storage place but we paid $110 for the night. It is a very bad experience.

The rooms upstairs looked better but the water system was still a problem. I hope someone runs the business will pay some attention to the place. Otherwise this hotel will run down by itself.

Room Tip: On the next block of Crossman, there is a beautiful hotel "Villa Laguna". We walked in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The moment we entered the hostel we had bad feelings, which were only reinforced during the upcoming minutes. We were supposed to have breakfast in the hotel, but arrived from another island 15 minutes too late to get served, as they finished serving breakfast at 8 am. Staff did not even bother to lift from the table to speak to us. The room was not ready. I asked to use the toilet. It is a shared one, but with no washbasin - no chance to wash your hands. I peeked at one pf the rooms on ground floor - bunk beds etc. It looked to be housing 8-10 persons. The public areas - nothing like in the pictures. The refrigerator in the eating area is grotty and secured with a massive chain. The tables are tacky plastic ones - no sight of tablecloth. Everything looked seriously worn out and dirty. The meeting area in the pics shown with comfortable sofas and cushions in fact just feature all sorts of wooden, mixed tables and chairs. Furthermore - note the pics do not show any surroundings - just the building adorned with flowers. You will find a noisy school just accross the street, and the rest of the neighbourhood is simply dismaying...We were offered a room that was very dark - no window, but with water leaking through the ceiling in several places, plaster falling off the ceiling, strong smell of mustiness spreading accross. We passed on this one. Our recommendation is - stay away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I recently brought a group of 12 VolunTravel volunteers to the Crossman Hotel while working with a wonderful non-profit in the Galapagos called, Galapagos ICE. The hotel was clean and welcoming, and the staff were friendly and helpful. My volunteers thoroughly enjoyed our experience there and I'd recommend it for others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Good place in Santa Cruz, the staff and owner are very friendly, and if you have a chance to talk to them you will learn a lot from this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Crossman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crossman

Also Known As:
Hotel Crossman Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador
Address: Juan Montalvo y Charles Binford | Barrio Las Ninfas, 00593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Santa Cruz
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Crossman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crossman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.