We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to a visit to the Galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Safari Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galapagos Safari Camp to your Saves list
Galapagos Safari Camp
Finca Palo Santo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a visit to the Galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Safari Camp for 3 nights after being on the boat for 5 days/4 nights. It was a perfect ending to our trip. The boat regime is very regimented due to visiting many islands and locations in a short time. We welcomed the "calm" atmosphere at the "Camp".
The tents are far from what I recall when camping as a child. They were definitely luxury accomodations! Each Tent has a lovely balcony with hammock, table and chairs for 2! We were extremely impressed with the bathroom facilites. Great shower and plenty of space in the entire modern bathroom.
I can't say enough about the food! We were impressed at every dinner....not only was the food the best we had during our 2 weeks in Ecuador, but the presentation was exquisite! The young chef and his staff were very accomodating and provided us with unbelievable dishes at each meal.
Jimmy, the bartender, was a delight! He was very accomodating and made the best Mojito we've ever had! He picked the mint from the garden at the camp! Jimmy brought us beers out to the "sunset deck" and assisted us with our photography! The deck is amazing and the views and sunset were spectacular.
We highly recommend the Safari Camp as the perfect ending to an amazing trip to the Galapagos!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I think there are only 9 tents. These are luxury tents, meaning lovely beds, in tent coffee tea, air condition unit, and full bath shower. Yep, it just doesn't get any better than this. It's the perfect tenting experience for me!

The location is in the "highlands" and is very much remote and out of the main touristy areas. This is a plus because you are just surrounded by nature and have amazing views of the land and water. This is also a minus because it is far from town and you will require a taxi driver to get to anything. Despite this, it was perfect for us. We really liked not having to see a ton of people.

As others have mentioned, the food is fantastic. Definitely not typical ecuadorian cuisine but so delicious. They have excellent chefs / cooks there doing a great job!

There are some very cool things happening on this property:
Cool Thing 1: they are starting a cacao farm and will soon be growing high quality coco beans.
Cool Thing 2: they are environmentally focused and have built their resort around this value, they collect water and actually have enough to sell back to the local businesses. Very smart!
Cool Thing 3: Manager Katherine is outstanding in her hospitality. She and her team made our stay wonderful. They helped set up all of our activities.

I can't recommend this property enough. They only have 9 tents, so if you can get this place, go for it!

Room Tip: Make sure that you bring enough U.S. Dollars in advance. The ATM's only allow you to pull out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights following a week on a dive boat. This really is 5 star camping with 9 amazing luxury rooms under canvas. The camp is situated in the Highlands with amazing views and wildlife including giant tortoise. The service is superb and really friendly and the food is excellent. We booked a safari package and thoroughly enjoyed two days with a private guide and two days on shared boat trips to North Seymour and Plaza Island. This is a really unique and relaxing place to stay and is very central to visit all areas of the island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabi Sands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This tented safari camp is spectacular. It makes you feel part of the environment...and as if you are on an African safari.

The owners were there during our visit and were exceptionally kind and helpful.
The manager and her colleagues are beyond warm, friendly and professional.

You feel as if you are at a close friend's home surrounded by people you want to be with.

The property is gorgeous.
The tortoises are on property.
The drive to the camp is beautiful.
And the food is amazing.
Fly there. Drive there. Swim there.

Just be sure to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the perfect property to attest to the saying that people make the place! We had an extraordinary time there, with catered attention to all of our needs, wishes and dietary requirements. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable! The resort has only 9 tents (I think) so the sense of intimacy while being there is wonderful!

The only thing you need to take into consideration is the fact that the resort is in the middle of Santa Cruz island so, for every day trip out of any of the ports, you need to budget in about a 30-35 min car drive each way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two days here as a part of our trip to the Galapagos. It was incredible- I do not know where to start. The lodge is very relaxing and the food was fantastic. We do not eat meat and we had the most delicious vegetarian and fish meals. The tents provided far more luxury than the two hotels we stayed at in other parts of the Galapagos. Hot water bottles were placed in the beds in the evenings. We had a Galapagos Owl sitting just outside of our tent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a tented hotel that remembers the African safari experience ... in the Galapagos. Very confortable bed and accomodation, in the middle of an incredibly incontaminated nature. The sevice is of outstanding quality, excellent breakfast and we had a very good lunch. The chef is Italian.The staff is friendly helpful and very competent. The location and quality of infrastructure second to none. Really worth spending at least one night. Negatives: it is in an area where it rains a lot , the vegetation is great for this reason but could be annoying. The pool was not properly maintained. It is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galapagos Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Safari Camp

Address: Finca Palo Santo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GSC provides an authentic inland experience by offering 9 luxury safari tents – all with oceanview balcony- in an exclusive natural environment, both as an alternative or in addition to a sea-based travel itinerary. Tents are spacious with private bathroom and hot water. Guests gather by the fireplace in the main room to view the sunsets, taste our chef´s creative dishes in the panoramic dining room or enjoy the tranquility of the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Galapagos Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Safari Camp Hotel Santa Cruz
Galapagos Safari Camp Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.