We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly there. Drive there. Swim there. Whatever you do...make sure you go there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galapagos Safari Camp
Save Saved
You added Galapagos Safari Camp to your Saves list
Finca Palo Santo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sabi Sands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fly there. Drive there. Swim there. Whatever you do...make sure you go there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This tented safari camp is spectacular. It makes you feel part of the environment...and as if you are on an African safari.

The owners were there during our visit and were exceptionally kind and helpful.
The manager and her colleagues are beyond warm, friendly and professional.

You feel as if you are at a close friend's home surrounded by people you want to be with.

The property is gorgeous.
The tortoises are on property.
The drive to the camp is beautiful.
And the food is amazing.
Fly there. Drive there. Swim there.

Just be sure to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the perfect property to attest to the saying that people make the place! We had an extraordinary time there, with catered attention to all of our needs, wishes and dietary requirements. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable! The resort has only 9 tents (I think) so the sense of intimacy while being there is wonderful!

The only thing you need to take into consideration is the fact that the resort is in the middle of Santa Cruz island so, for every day trip out of any of the ports, you need to budget in about a 30-35 min car drive each way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two days here as a part of our trip to the Galapagos. It was incredible- I do not know where to start. The lodge is very relaxing and the food was fantastic. We do not eat meat and we had the most delicious vegetarian and fish meals. The tents provided far more luxury than the two hotels we stayed at in other parts of the Galapagos. Hot water bottles were placed in the beds in the evenings. We had a Galapagos Owl sitting just outside of our tent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a tented hotel that remembers the African safari experience ... in the Galapagos. Very confortable bed and accomodation, in the middle of an incredibly incontaminated nature. The sevice is of outstanding quality, excellent breakfast and we had a very good lunch. The chef is Italian.The staff is friendly helpful and very competent. The location and quality of infrastructure second to none. Really worth spending at least one night. Negatives: it is in an area where it rains a lot , the vegetation is great for this reason but could be annoying. The pool was not properly maintained. It is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is hard to figure out how and where to start this review, but here's an attempt at a summary in no particular order:

- A fabulous scenic property in the northern part of Santa Cruz Island, a perfect location, below the mist and above the heat, sunrise and sunset are not to be squandered ... enjoy them when you have them, views of Santiago Island to the northwest, Baltra, Bartolome and Daphne major/minor to the north can be had when the Garua (mist) lifts

- The safari camp/tent theme works really well as a differentiator from the ordinary without compromising comfort, dining and appropriate luxury. The lodge is very comfortable and inviting, each evening you are greeted by a fire, an offer of a cocktail and sharing stories/photos of the day's adventures, do Not miss a trip or two to the "observation platform" ... this is a wonderful large raised viewing platform with a great shots to the north and northwest and superb place to have a glass or two of wine or your favorite spirit

- Our tent was very comfortable, clean and cozy, the platform beds were firm but comfortable, turn down service included a fleece covered hot water bottle to keep your feet warm if you run a little on the cool side, either way it is a nice touch and indicative of the attention to detail provided by GSC. The bathroom in the tent was fine as was the shower which had plenty of pressure and hot water which was welcome after a long hard day of photographing the creatures of the Galapagos. The north looking views were wonderful.

- Catherine (Property Manager), Felipe (Executive Chef), Liz and Waldo (pm shift managers) made all of the difference with their desire to acccomodate and make the trip special and comfortable ... yeah sounds cliche ... but they are special folks, spend some time with these folks as they will be more than happy to do the same and you will learn and laugh

- Food, especially dinner was excellent under the guidance and skill of Chef Felipe, we mixed it up with regular and vegetarian options and all were exceptional, Chef loves to talk food as you might expect ... Catherine, Felipe and a fellow guest, Joshua made my wife's birthday a very special evening, we laughed .... boy did we laugh

- Daily island excursions via the Narel I & II (the crew prepares an impressive home cooked lunch each day from scratch in the tiny galley of the boat) to Bartolome, Seymour and Plazas were all you would expect in your photographic dreams of the Galapagos Islands, just lag behind the group and you will have the opportunity to take fine shots without humans in the shot

- Do not take for granted the hand-picked Naturlist/Guides (Dries, Jaime, Alejandro) and drivers (Milton) as the trip would have a whole lot more overhead without them being pre-arranged, and their knowledge seems so matter of fact that you could take it for granted, we had VIP treatment from the moment we arrived in Galapagos until we departed, you are definitely not running with the herd

- Bottom line, if you want a unique experience that is very comfortable, relaxing and satisfying, you would be hard pressed to find a better land-based option in the Galapagos, We will savor it for months and years to come. Thank You Catherine, Felipe, Waldo, Liz, Lyndsey, Dries, Milton!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Galapagos Safari Camp (GSF) is an Eco friendly 'hotel' that offers stays in luxury tents with highly personalized service. The tents have nice beds, indoor shower & restroom. The tents are integrated into lush natural settings within what is known as the transition zone of the island (500m above sea-level). We had views of the ocean & number of islands. We had a many days of sunshine with a few 'misty' days. More importantly, the staff of GSF were all top notch. They flawlessly coordinated our various boat and land excursions in addition to ensuring our VIP travels to & from the airport. All week we had a personal driver (milton) each day & for the land tours we had our own personal guide (Dries) who was patient & very knowledgeable. At the main lodge, the manager (Katherine) made us feel so welcome it felt like we were old friends getting together. She also went out her way to make my birthday extra special (thank you!!) Liz & Waldo's hospitality was wonderful and Chef Philipe's cooking was outstanding (he may be famous some day!) . We highly recommend Galapagos Safari Camp!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights as an add-on to a cruise. It's a magical place with very comfortable safari tents, an amazing chef, and an unbelievably attentive staff. The sunsets a incredible and Michael and his crew went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for our group.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galapagos Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Safari Camp

Address: Finca Palo Santo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GSC provides an authentic inland experience by offering 9 luxury safari tents – all with oceanview balcony- in an exclusive natural environment, both as an alternative or in addition to a sea-based travel itinerary. Tents are spacious with private bathroom and hot water. Guests gather by the fireplace in the main room to view the sunsets, taste our chef´s creative dishes in the panoramic dining room or enjoy the tranquility of the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galapagos Safari Camp Hotel Santa Cruz
Galapagos Safari Camp Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.