We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galapagos Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Galapagos Eco Lodge
Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | San Cristobal Island, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno EC200150, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are new and very clean. the maid does an excellent job every day, its like you were not there the night before. The breakfast is huge and goes with a great view. we forgot our kindle and they made sure it came from santa cruz. There are.taxis passing by.all the time and takes a dollar to get to town if you feel lazy. otherwise the walk is not long but not much to see.along the way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We were more than happy to help you with your Kindle not only because you are our guest, but
also in that way we got to know you better. Now, we wish to welcome you back anytime! Thank
you so much for selecting our hotel and for taking the time to remember your experience on
TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
93
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here earlier in the month after Galapagos cruise with adult daughter . We didn't meet Harry whom everyone local seems to know. However we did meet his wonderful wife and children who we're running the property exceptionally well . Nice quiet, spotlessly clean comfy accomadation. Plenty of assistance with washing and organizing taxi/guide for island tour. Breakfast is amazing & different each morning. The premises are a short walk up the hill and very secure. wifi was best outside.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Lucrecia, Harry, Jr. and Katherine were happy to help you in any way as you were so kind and
thoughtful to them as well. Soon, Fernando may be helping as well! Thank you for staying at our
hotel and, in that way, becoming a part of our family. Please come back anytime; hopefully I will
meet you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely place, we loved it! We stayed for 3 nights & Lucretia was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are good, a nice big size & the breakfast that is served is awesome. The walk down the hill to the center of town & back is needed to work off the calories!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I know what you mean about Lucrecia's breakfasts - she really is a sensational cook. When you are in Galapagos your days are filled with hiking and snorkeling so she takes that into account making sure that you get the nourishment you need. We certainly want you to return to home satisfied with your entire vacation, including the ambiance in our home. Both of us truly appreciate that you chose the Galapagos Eco-Lodge and took the time to thank us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Galapagos Eco logde is a new lodge that is being built and managed with much care from Harry and Lucrecia. The room is very clean and has a frigobar, microwave and LCD TV. The breakfast is delicious and the recipes change every day but Lucrecia. You also eat it looking at the best view of Puerto Banquerizo Moreno. The wirelees internet has a very low signal. But the down side of the Galapagos lodge is the location, on the top of the hill and kind of far from the downtown. The taxi ride is US$1,00 though. Harry wasn't there during our stay, but I believe that when he is there, as a naturalist, he takes care of your daily tours and the location won't be any problem. The nicest touch is that you receive a thank you message by email from them the next day you leave.

Room Tip: Every room is the same, although you might prefer on the first floor to avoid the stairs if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and, especially, for recognizing the personal care that both Lucrecia and I give to every single aspect of the hotel. In fact, you may not know that I built every room using indigenous and eco-friendly materials and that together Lucrecia and I selected every hotel amenity. Truly, it is a labor of love for both of us, as well as an extension of our home. The view from the dining room of the harbor is certainly the best in town, providing a break from the hustle and bustle of our busy seaport. We will, of course, respect any request for a specific room or floor. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here following our cruise and pre and post some diving in Santa Cruz.

The room was new, neat and tidy. The breakfast area on the 3rd floor is lovely overlooking the whole town of St Christobal. The fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and granola was lovely.

Whilst the lodge is located on the outskirts of town- we didn't find it a problem. Walking into town was an opportunity to see how the local population live. We walked back after dinner - albeit pretty early at 8.30pm or so and didn't feel unsafe- and the taxi was only a $ or so anyway.

Yes there are chickens on both sides but we didn't find that as bad as the noise staying in the centre of Puerto Ayora.

When I checked in I asked Lucretia where the local laundry was- she kindly offered to take our washing- 2 bags! and wash it for us. Returning from diving Harry was also helpful in helping me rinse and dry out my diving gear prior to a long haul flight home. Gestures that were much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
It was just wonderful to have you as our guests. Our pleasure is seeing you so happy and excited after returning from your expeditions because to see the joy on your faces is all the appreciation we ever need. We know that you have traveled far to join us in our special paradise and it's our goal to make sure that guests like you from all over the world have memories to last a lifetime and that those memories include being well taken care of and having delicious local foods. We certainly don't want you to have to do chores like the laundry when we are able to help. I hope that we get to visit Australia one day too. Thank you for your thoughtful words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a perfect three night stay at the Eco Lodge to start off our Galapagos trip. We were met at the airport by Lucretia and shown to our room. The rooms are all pretty identical, the place has been designed and built from scratch and looks marvellous. Excellent earthy toned decorated rooms, with a decent bed, a hot shower and amazing breakfasts served on the top floor café, which must have the best view on the island.

We booked trips through them to the highlands and Kicker Rock which were good value and interesting, and when one pickup failed to turn up, Lucretia hailed a taxi and took us into town herself. The lodge is maybe half a mile out of town up a small hill, but this means its quiet at night away from the seafront discos, which was important to us. There was also free wifi which worked well enough for emails and general use.

The only thing we'd say would be get some softer pillows...

We met Harry on the last night, and he got up at 6am to take us to the port - we also bought ferry tickets through the lodge too. Perfect hosts, the eco-lodge deserves to do well, and at the bargain price we paid, it was just amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all of your kind words. As you know, Lucrecia and I consider the hotel to be our labor of love and we hope that it shows in our personal service. Lucrecia certainly enjoyed having you as our guests and I too was very glad that I got to meet you, even if just for a short time this trip. Perhaps you will visit us again some day. I trust that the remainder of your Galapagos visit was an equally satisfying and memorable experience. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife Elizabeth and I spent two weeks with Harry and Lucretia and genuinely felt part of a family. Harry is incredibly knowledgeable from Galapagos geology and history, to botany to who to contact and where to go and what to see. I am a veteran science teacher , and I was blessed to have Harry take time to teach me so much about the geology and flora and fauna of the islands.The rooms are immaculate and comfortable and the service is 5 stars. Lucretia's breakfasts are awesome and the Eco-Lodge is a short 10 minute SAFE walk from the harbor and downtown. Everyone knows Harry and it is 100% true....hail a taxi ($1) and say "casa de Harry Jimenez". Done !!! From a pickup at the airport to personally taking care of making sure we received personalized service to Santa Cruz when we left, Harry was there 100% for our every need or just to have a friendly chat. I have travelled quite a bit and this was one of the best travel/hotel/trip experiences I have ever had. Harry, his family, and the Galapagos Eco Lodge set a standard few can match. Don't even think of staying anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
As my friends and family would tell you, nothing makes me happier than sharing my love and knowledge of the Galapagos Islands. So, I have you to thank for giving me the opportunity to introduce you to my very special world. Lucrecia appreciates the great feedback about her delicious breakfasts and attention to detail at the hotel. I don't think that I shared the link to the hotel blog with you. It is blog.galapagosecolodge.net. There you will find many articles about the islands, the ocean currents, the volcanoes and the other natural wonders that created the Galapagos Islands to add to the knowledge and experience you gained here. Thank you for your very thoughtful review of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galapagos Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Eco Lodge

Address: Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | San Cristobal Island, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno EC200150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Galapagos Luxury, Ecological Integrity" - These are the words that best describe the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. A family-run hotel and bed and breakfast in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno on San Cristobal Island, this hotel is not only dedicated to being environmentally friendly and to ecological sustainability, but prides itself on its level of personal service. Guests from around the world enjoy combining the services of a personalized boutique hotel with all the comforts and luxurious amenities of home. Located on a hill with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and sunset, it is just moments from the harbor and center of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the provincial capital of the Galapagos Islands. From the hotel, often accompanied by Harry Jimenez, your private guide certified by the Galapagos National Park Service and owner of the hotel, you can travel to some of the most important, scenic and dramatic visitor and tour sites in the Galapagos - indeed, anywhere in the world. Be sure to visit Harry's personal and extensive blog for an introduction to the wonders of our Galapagos Islands paradise and to help you plan your trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Galapagos Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Eco Lodge Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.