We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, modern hotel with gorgeous rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galapagos Eco Lodge
Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely, modern hotel with gorgeous rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Eco Lodge and would have loved to stay longer! Although it says lodge it is a brand new, modern hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms. The beds are lovely and huge! Each room has a microwave and fridge as well as a table and chairs.

Everything is thoughtfully designed and the service from Harry and his family is wonderfully welcoming and professional.

There was a fantastic breakfast included each morning and we were surprised at how many delicious courses we were served! I guess a lot of people do diving and hiking so you need a good breakfast but they really go all out, first fruit salad and granola, then pancakes and syrup followed by an omelette.

Breakfast was different on each of the days we were there and it is served in a open air cafe that has stunning views of the whole bay. This is an awesome way to start the day!

Harry is super helpful with recommendations and tours and being a guide is very knowledgeable about the islands and the animals.

This is definitely a place to book in advance, the best hotel on the island and the perfect base for exploring San Cristobel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as guests of the Eco-Lodge. Our greatest happiness comes from knowing that we succeeded in making you happy with the level of service and attention we strive to provide to all of our guests. Come back again some day to Paradise. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellbrook, OH
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Eco Lodge for 3 nights during our Galapagos vacation. Although it was a bit out of the way that wasn't a problem as taxis are very cheap. As others have said, the food was delicious and the rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Although we did not meet Harry at the hotel, I'm sure he is as wonderful as everyone says because our friends had him as a guide 2 years ago on the Letty Cruise boat and they said he was a wonderful guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
It was my loss that I was not able to meet you personally as Lucrecia has told me that you were delightful guests. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Eco-Lodge and welcome you back anytime. Thank you for your thoughtful words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My fiance and I have just had the most wonderful five nights at the Galapagos Eco Lodge - or for all taxis in town the wonderful "casa de Harry Jimenez!" as Harry our host is so well known in town.

The rooms are spacious with smart bathrooms and kept impeccably clean. Harry´s wife cooks up the most eclectic, creative and filling breakfasts from the top floor restaurant providing you with everything you need to last until supper. But, in agreement with the other great comments below, it is Harry himself who steals the show. You could not ask for more from the perfect host to make you feel right at home. Harry waited for us at the ferry dock, before giving us a guided tour of the town and highlighting all the best restaurants and town picks. After settling us in, he then took us out to watch the sun set. Nothing is too much, from arranging tours at competitive prices to any special request you need - on our part I can never be more grateful for Harry´s help to create the perfect setting for our engagement!

Our only regret is that we did not visit when the place is finished, as additional rooms are still under construction and the garden is yet to be completed. There are light works ongoing throughout the day which is of little annoyance when you are out swimming and snorkelling with sharks, rays, turtles and sea lions. The wifi was a little hit and miss but I am sure this is a work in progress.

Galapagos Eco Lodge provided the perfect end to our 11 day tour of the Islands. To Harry and the whole family, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
My friend: When Lucrecia and I conceived of the hotel, we did so with wonderful people like you in mind. Your utter appreciation of the unique and powerful beauty surrounding you combined with your enthusiasm are all the thanks we need. That said, we thank you in return for allowing us to be part of your vacation and the beginning of what we are sure will be a wonderful life for you together. Anytime you are able, we welcome you back to our home - champagne on the house to celebrate your return! Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for one month at the Galapagos Eco Lodge and we loved it! Almost everything was perfect.

The room has all you could ask for: a huge and comfortable bed, a fridge, a microwave, a small table with 2 chairs, a good shower with hot water, good air conditioning and internet access. But most importantly it was kept impeccably clean at all times. The only downside of the rooms is that they look to the (not yet completely finished) garden and have no view. The internet connection was not always very stable but sufficient to check your mails.
The big and very tasty breakfast Lucrecia prepares every morning is the perfect start to an adventurous day in the Galapagos. She is very inventive and during our one month stay we hardly got the same breakfast twice. You can enjoy the famous pancakes or delicious fruit salads with yoghurt and granola from the top of the hotel in the new dining room that has a stunning panoramic view of the island and the harbor.
Harry, Lucrecia and their two kids are doing everything to make you feel at home. They know almost everyone in town and can help you to organize your activities. Harry is a knowledgeable certified naturalist and dive master and will be happy to answer any question you might have about the islands and its animals.
The Eco Lodge is located a 10 minutes’ walk up the hill from the center of town. If you don’t want to walk you can take a taxi for one Dollar only. It’s a save and (apart from some roosters in the morning) quiet place.
At the moment they are building 6 new guest rooms on the first floor. However, this did not affect our stay in any way and it was interesting to see Harry’s vision come true step by step.

Even though we haven’t seen any other hotels in San Cristobal we are quite sure you won’t find a better value. It’s hard to beat the fair price of the Eco Lodge with its high standard and the friendly owners.

Harry, you and your family took such good care of us and made our stay unforgettable. It was really like being in paradise. Thank you very much for everything, we hope to come back to your wonderful place on San Cristobal Island! T&S

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We appreciate your kind words. More importantly, we want you to know that all of us feel as though you are a part of our family and both Lucrecia and I await your return to our Paradise. By then the construction will be complete, including the outside gardens, and Lucrecia will have even more recipes to test on you! You were delightful guests and allowing us to be part of your extended stay was very special to us. The best to you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Trip advisor did not except my first review. Must have given Harry to much of a rapt. Honestly the Ego lodge is new, clean ,close to facilities and safe. My partner and I arrived on San Cristobar with nothing booked or planned,nervous, just a little. Within half an hour Harry had setout the next four days with everything we wished to do,everything went perfectly. Thanks Harry and your lovely family for making our stay special .Geoff and Lynette. australia.

Room Tip: See Harry first, any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It's wonderful to hear from you after all this time and we're very appreciative that you have reviewed the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. I trust that you are remembering your tours here with fond and happy memories. Though Australia is far away, we hope that you are able to return again to our wonderful paradise. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Galapagos Eco lodge at the end of our 10 day trip to the islands and my wife and I both agreed that it was the best hotel we had stayed in on our honeymoon and it was also incredible value for San Cristobal...

The lodge itself looks over the bay and is located a short walk from the centre of town. The rooms are very clean and spacious and finished to a very high standard with all the home comforts that you could wish for. The brand spanking new bathrooms and air conditioning are fantastic and there is a fridge to keep drinks and snacks cool. These factors make the lodge the best value in the islands..

However, the main advantage that the eco lodge has over it's competitors are the owners. Harry and his wife could not have been more accommodating and helped to organise all of our activities, recommended great local eateries and served up delicious breakfasts daily.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough, we can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Rusty: Lucrecia and I enjoyed your visit and felt very special being part of your honeymoon trip. You should come back so that we can serve you a delicious breakfast again, but this time in our new restaurant where you can have a lovely view of the port. Thanks so much for staying with us and for your thoughtful words. Harry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my second trip to the Galapagos (the first I did a cruise) and this time we decided to try and do a land based trip. Our first stop was the San Cristóbal. We were so comfortable and well taken care of! Rooms were very clean and safe. Oh and got were cooked some amazing pancakes (amongst other wonderful breakfasts). The staff helped us plan our days, diving, beach days, dinners you name it! They really did go above and beyond! If we ever get a chance to head back to San Cristóbal we would definitely return to the Eco Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so happy that on your second trip to Galapagos you chose to stay in San Cristobal at the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. While a cruise is always fun, staying in hotels provides a great opportunity to get a taste of our culture while enjoying beautiful visitor sites here and throughout the islands. That is the essence of ecotourism, and the purpose of the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. It's our pleasure to provide you with all of the tips and arrangements for your day trips. As for the pancakes - what can I say but that Lucrecia is determined to make everyone feel at home and her pancakes are, indeed, becoming quite famous! We do hope to see you back again some day. Thanks for your very thoughtful review. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galapagos Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Eco Lodge

Address: Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galapagos Eco-Lodge is a family-run hotel and bed and breakfast in the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador in San Baquerizo Moreno on San Cristobal Island. Dedicated to being environmentally friendly and to ecological sustainability, the hotel prides itself on its level of personal service. Guests from around the world enjoy combining the services of a personalized boutique hotel with all the comforts and luxurious amenities of home. Located on a hill with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and sunset, it is just moments from the harbor and center of the town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the provincial capital of the Galapagos Islands. From the hotel, often accompanied by Harry Jimenez, your private guide certified by the Galapagos National Park Service and owner of the hotel, you can travel to some of the most important, scenic and dramatic visitor and tour sites in the Galapagos - indeed, anywhere in the world. The hotel has an extensive blog that will help you plan your travels to the Galapagos Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galapagos Eco Lodge Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galapagos Eco Lodge to your Saves list