We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay, more than just accomadation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galapagos Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Galapagos Eco Lodge
Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | San Cristobal Island, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno EC200150, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
“The place to stay, more than just accomadation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A perfect experience, Harry was waiting for me as i got off the boat, he then took me on a tour of the town so i could know the best places to eat and the must do's in Cristobal, he proceeded to answer the endless amounts of questions i had. he also organised my tours at the best prices on the island. Very honest and kind man, his wife makes the biggest and best breakfast in Galapagos. Accommodation is great with everything you need and more. i would give my highest recommendation on this lodge and is the place to stay for a real Galapagos experience,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I feel very grateful that you selected the Galapagos Eco Lodge for your visit to San Cristobal as it was my pleasure to get to know you. I love sharing my home with visitors such as yourself, whose questions indicate a true interest in our culture and commitment to maintaining the beauty and naturalness of the Galapagos Islands. Both Lucrecia and I welcome you back any time. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Best regards. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
93
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My friends and I happily stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012 and our visit to the Galapagos was made with Harry's hospitality and passion for sharing his island with us. The lodge currently feels like more of a bed and breakfast than lodge, though will have a slightly more autonomous hotel feel when construction is completed in the next few months.

Amenities were simple but perfect for our needs - comfortable beds, good shower, and clean rooms. Breakfasts prepared by Harry's wife were absolutely terrific - and in fact our best meals on the island. Lodge was a 10 minute walk into the small town, or a $1 taxi ride.

The proprietor, Harry, made sure we were well taken care of. We already had flights into Baltra when we found this lodge on TripAdvisor, and Harry arranged for a reasonably priced charter flight to get us to San Cristobal (flight + room costs were still cheaper than staying in a good hotel in Puerto Ayora). He arranged our diving and snorkeling expeditions (slightly above market rates - but the divemaster was top notch) and gave us daily tips of what to explore.

Just to note as you plan your trip - San Cristobal is a sleepy island with mediocre dining and nearly no nightlife, so your enjoyment of the island is contingent on having daytime outdoor activities. This was perfect for my crew and I; but younger crowds may prefer Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Lucrecia and I enjoyed having you here with us and sharing our beautiful island with you. It pleases both of us that we were able to help you and take part in making your trip to the Galapagos islands a memorable one. Anytime you want to return, we would be pleased to be your hosts once again. Thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the eco lodge in San Cristobal for two nights. Eco lodge is located a ten minute walk from the main part of San Cristobal, in a quiet area (although there are a few roosters nearby which crow infrequently!)

The rooms were great, very clean and spacious. Amenities were good, and the breakfasts were very sumptuous. Lucreria was very helpful in providing transport even when we had to change our plans on short notice.

We loved our stay in Eco Lodge and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
John and Zita:
We appreciate your kind words and are very happy that your stay was a memorable one. One of the main principles of the lodge is personal service, so I was pleased to help you in any way possible. You know we'd love to have you back in our Paradise anytime. It was a pleasure having you at the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. Lucrecia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for five nights for $50,- a night. They are still working on the lodge and only six rooms on the ground floor are finished. We didn't hear much noise from the construction but the view from the room is not very nice.
Great room with a huge bed, flat screen with cable, small refrigerator and microwave oven. Nice bathroom and a good hot shower. Excellent breakfast, every day something else; pancakes, fresh fruit with yoghurt and muesli, toast etc. Wifi is a bit spotty (we were in room 3), outside it's better.
Harry the owner is a guide and can give you advice on what to do on San Cristobal.
It is a 10-15 minute walk from the harbour, ask for Harry's place because the taxi's don't know the eco lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and attention to review the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. I hope that you are able to come back again some day to experience the new restaurant and upper level guest rooms. The view of the harbor will then be absolutely stunning. It was a pleasure having you with us and Lucretia and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you with us. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Whether you’re visiting Galapagos Islands on a cruise or base yourself on land you should definitely spend a few nights at Galapagos Eco Lodge on San Cristobal. This little gem is owned by a very well known naturalist and travel guide Harry Jimenez. Harry will make sure your stay at his hotel and on the Galapagos Islands is the most memorable vacation you’ve ever had. The rooms are very comfortable, well furnished and clean. You will find microwaves, small refrigerators and air conditioning in all rooms. The daily breakfast is simply delish!!! Harry’s knowledge is priceless! He will help you plan your trip, take you to the best diving and snorkeling places and also instruct you on photographing the amazing islands and its out-of-this world inhabitants – Harry will be delighted to share tips on getting those perfect photos as he is an avid photographer himself and you will find some of his most beautiful pictures throughout the Galapagos Eco Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagos E, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
TIna: It's a great pleasure to hear from you and I hope you are keeping up with your own beautiful photography. If you haven't yet, please take a look at the Galapagos Eco-Lodge blog spot as well. It talks about many of the places that we had the chance to tour, and about Galapagos generally. Thanks for your kind words. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This gem of a bed and breakfast-style hotel is located about six blocks from the tourist wharf, slightly uphill, but well worth the walk or short cab ride. Host Harry Jimenez has paid careful attention to what travellers hope to find in a room, everything from the welcome glass of orange juice and big towels, to the microwave and small fridge, wardrobe, desk and chairs, all in a wonderfully spacious room. The king size bed alone was heavenly, bigger than the on-board cabin we just spent seven nights crammed into! Breakfast is also carefully thought out and prepared – we were there for three nights and there was a slight change each morning and lots of choice. The entrance area and guest rooms are complete, but the grounds are a work-in-progress as is a new third-floor dining room – however work proceeds only after breakfast and does not go late, so does not interfere with getting a great night’s sleep. Besides, Harry will do everything he can to make your stay an enjoyable one with lots of advice, help with organizing day-excursions, and even a ride to the airport (5 minutes away). If you’re doing a cruise that ends on San Cristobal Island, do consider staying a couple of nights in this quiet, low tourist-pressure town. When you grab a taxi, ask them to take you to Harry’s place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galapagos E, Owner at Galapagos Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Don: Thank you for this review of the Galapagos Eco-Lodge on San Cristobal Island. You know how excited we are about the renovations and the addition of the new restaurant and additional rooms, of course always using recycled, local and indigenous materials. With all of the beautiful visitor sites on and around San Cristobal, I look forward to leading many special day trips from the hotel so that our guests can enjoy both the pleasure of the Galapagos sites as well as the immersion into our culture. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and making you comfortable and feel at home. All the best to you. Harry Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was very a nice place, very new and very comfortable, de beds are king size and very clean, A/C quiet, and the rest rooms are beautiful, I can recommend to evry one, becaus my whife she is very demanding with every thing and she was very happy

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galapagos Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Eco Lodge

Address: Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | San Cristobal Island, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno EC200150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Galapagos Luxury, Ecological Integrity" - These are the words that best describe the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. A family-run hotel and bed and breakfast in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno on San Cristobal Island, this hotel is not only dedicated to being environmentally friendly and to ecological sustainability, but prides itself on its level of personal service. Guests from around the world enjoy combining the services of a personalized boutique hotel with all the comforts and luxurious amenities of home. Located on a hill with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and sunset, it is just moments from the harbor and center of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the provincial capital of the Galapagos Islands. From the hotel, often accompanied by Harry Jimenez, your private guide certified by the Galapagos National Park Service and owner of the hotel, you can travel to some of the most important, scenic and dramatic visitor and tour sites in the Galapagos - indeed, anywhere in the world. Be sure to visit Harry's personal and extensive blog for an introduction to the wonders of our Galapagos Islands paradise and to help you plan your trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Galapagos Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Eco Lodge Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.