We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Opuntia Galapagos to your Saves list
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charles Darwin St. | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno sn, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Clean, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We decided to book an extra night on San Cristobal at the end our cruise. The hotel had a nice location right on the edge of the main drag in town. It was very clean and a good value. We had a room on the first floor just off the main dining area and were never distrubed by any noise.

We really enjoyed San Cristobal Island as we were able to arrange for a private tour 4 hour tour of the island with a local taxi driver for only $30 (plus a generous tip because he was great). If you are staying on San Cristobal I'd reccomend this hotel for the value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was close to the water,shops and main road. It was at the end of the road so it was quiet. We were on the top floor with the balcony facing the sea. It was an awesome view. The room was spacious clean and yes the water flow for the shower requires fixing.
We did swim in the pool so i did not like the previous peoples idea to clean their diving items in the pool. The breakfast was basic but it filled us. Coffee juice and eggs. I loved the birds when they flew into the garden. The outside tables were great to have breakfast in as the view was great. Friendly staff and wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. It's at the end of the ocean front walkway. The tourist shops and restaurants are a stone throw away. There's sea lions that like to bask right in front of the hotel on the walkway.

The staff is ready to help you in any way, but the hotel needs the most help. We had several rooms including lower and upper floor rooms. The upper floor rooms had a balcony facing the ocean and a rear balcony facing the pool. The room was very bright and spacious. Very nice room except for the bare electrical wiring next to the water. The women loved the room.

The lower floor rooms either faced the ocean or the pool. The rooms were much smaller and seemed darker since the drapes were drawn unless you wanted everyone to be looking into your room. The left and right edges of the drapes also didn't cover the window so everyone could see into your room at night unless you put up a towel The water damaged ceiling or the paint peeling off the wall didn't help in one of the rooms. No soap holder in the shower or bathmats is a negative for me.

Some of the rooms had hot water while other didn't because they used an instantaneous hot water system for the rooms. They did try to fix it, but gave erratic results.

The restaurant is outside overlooking the ocean. The food was good especially the freshly deep fried plantains. The only problem were the little birds that would come in and occasionally leave droppings on the table.

The pool didn't look crystal clear (most likely a sand filter instead of a DE filter), but who swims in the pool while in the Galapagos. We used it get rid of the saltwater in our scuba equipment.

They also have a cistern with drinking water so you can fill up your Camelback or canteen before you take off for a day of adventure.

They have free internet. You may have to go to the front office since the signal strength isn't really strong, but it's nice to keep in touch with the real world outside of paradise.

Would be good if you know some Spanish since the staff isn't too well versed in English, but I didn't have a problem in getting everything I wanted. The staff really wants to please you.

Depending on the room you get here you'll be kinda happy or extremely happy

.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms are nice. They have a balcony facing the ocean and the pool. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location is outstanding. The outside dining and food are great. However the rooms need work. Hot water was sometimes unavailable and sometimes scalding. Finding a happy medium was a challenge and one could feel a strong sense of accomplishment when completed. Some light bulbs were burnt out and one member of our group had no electricity in their room for a day. That being said, if this is the best on the island, I'd stay there again to experience the island.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our first stop in the Galapagos and we had no idea what to expect. This was probably the nicest inn in the area and felt very homey. The food was really great and even though they didn't provide a menu they ask when you check in if there is anything you don't eat. Our food was all really fantastic especially the Ceviche. Our room had a nice view. It wasn't the fanciest but it was adequate. The management and staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Karen R
Thank you very much for your comment. On behalf of our team, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Casa Opuntia. Our goal is to provide an excellent service. We work hard to make our guests' experiences unforgettable, and we are glad that we could help to make your Galapagos trip a great one!

Thanks again for your good reference. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some reviews but all in all this was a pleasant little hotel. Not a 5 star resort by any stretch, but I wouldn't expect too much on an island that has a population of around 2000 people.The staff were truly exceptional and made our entire tour group feel like honored guests in their home. We were fortunate enough to have a view of the ocean bay so in that respect we got lucky. The simple fact that you just walked down the stairs to sea lions galore was enough for my wife. A great stay, wonderful food and a great way to start a 5 day vacation of the Galapagos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Outta bounds Okc,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a comment; on behalf of our team we are happy you hear we made a great stat for you vacations in Galapagos. We believe that our location is a real asset not only because the hotel is really close to the pier, but also for the great ocean views.

Thanks again for choosing us and we await for your return to Casa Opuntia.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first stop on our Galapagos trip and I discovered quickly that many houses and properties are in a constant state of building- new floors being added or walls being finished. So seeing construction equipment or exposed re-bar isn't necessarily indicative of a bad property.

The hotel is in the midst of adding another floor and the pool seemed to be somewhat under-construction.
Our rooms were fine- one had an ocean view and was a bit nicer than the other. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The AC worked.

What pushes this hotel up above average is that the staff was super-friendly, the food was excellent, and the location superb.

We ate most of our meals here and were impressed for each one- fresh juices, excellent ceviche, as well as simple dishes for our picky kids.

The location is excellent- right above the boardwalk overlooking the harbor. Plenty of places to walk and explore. Sea lions everywhere which was fun to observe.

Not a luxury hotel but a simple place to get some sleep and enjoy the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Address: Charles Darwin St. | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno sn, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Opuntia is a tourist superior hotel, with its 13 cozy rooms is one of the best accommodation on San Cristobal Island. The hotel overlooks the boardwalk and is only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach. Casa Opuntia's restaurant features some of San Cristobal's best sea food dishes to be enjoyed surrounded by endemic gardens and perfect ocean views. It has a small swimming pool and an outside bar that are always open to welcome our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Opuntia Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.