We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great staff, food, and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Opuntia Galapagos to your Saves list
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charles Darwin St. | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno sn, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great staff, food, and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first stop on our Galapagos trip and I discovered quickly that many houses and properties are in a constant state of building- new floors being added or walls being finished. So seeing construction equipment or exposed re-bar isn't necessarily indicative of a bad property.

The hotel is in the midst of adding another floor and the pool seemed to be somewhat under-construction.
Our rooms were fine- one had an ocean view and was a bit nicer than the other. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The AC worked.

What pushes this hotel up above average is that the staff was super-friendly, the food was excellent, and the location superb.

We ate most of our meals here and were impressed for each one- fresh juices, excellent ceviche, as well as simple dishes for our picky kids.

The location is excellent- right above the boardwalk overlooking the harbor. Plenty of places to walk and explore. Sea lions everywhere which was fun to observe.

Not a luxury hotel but a simple place to get some sleep and enjoy the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Every year we travel to galapagos and spend one night before boarding a dive Live aboard. Staff is friendly, breakfast is perfect, Beer is cold, easy acces and always noisy Sea Lions clos by ... really fun. But ... they can improve the rooms ... noisy airco and indeed mosquito nets ... the bathrooms had their time. We will still book Opuntia as we get good prices, but they have to upgrade the rooms !

Room Tip: Always ask Ocean View ... great !!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Paul:

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment. It’s great to hear that you choose us every year for your Galapagos vacation! We are glad that you enjoy the facilities and find staying with us to be a good value.

We appreciate your feedback about the condition of the rooms. We have gotten a bit behind on maintenance lately due to a particularly strong rainy season that caused some damages to the property, but we are committed to fix these issues in the coming months. Rest assured that the property will be in a much better state soon! Again, thanks for letting us know. We are always trying to improve, and guest input, especially from valued customers like you, is essential to this process.

Thanks again for choosing us… we look forward to seeing you next year!

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

It is a shabby , run down, dirty and depressing place! Our travel agent booked us for 2 nights and we are desperately trying to leave earlier. The airco is so loud that you can't leave it on for the night. The mosquito nets are full of holes. The room is full with urine smell. The bathroom is falling into pieces. This is truly your nightmare hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Laetisz:

Thank you for your comment. Your input is very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel, and we extend our sincere apologies. We do suggest that guests experiencing any inconveniences speak with our hotel staff in person. Our staff does everything they can to accommodate our guests, and it often possible to find a solution or a way to compensate you on the spot.

We kindly ask you to consider that the rainy season is under full swing in the Galapagos, and during your stay there was a particular strong storm that caused some damages to our property. Casa Opuntia is painted white, and it is quite difficult to keep the grounds looking perfect in these conditions.

Our room cleaning and maintenance schedule is quite rigorous, and the vast majority of our guests are very satisfied with the cleanliness and condition of their rooms, including bathrooms and air conditioners. Again, we ask our guests to report any issues to our staff immediately in order to take the appropriate actions to correct them. This sort of issue in particular is often fixable right away.

Please contact us at sales4@opuntiahotels.com in order to find a way to compensate you for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay in Galapagos.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from two days there. San Cristobal doesn't have luxury hotels so you need to keep that in mind when deciding to stay there. We had an ocean view room and it was clean. Good location right on the boardwalk, malecon. No complaints about the place and you are woken up in the mornings by the sea lions making noises.

Room Tip: You only want rooms in the front building facing the ocean - the back rooms near the pool look scary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Globalcitizen77,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a comment; on behalf of our team we are happy you chose us to enjoy your vacations in Galapagos. We feel glad you had a nice time at Casa Opuntia and appreciate your good references for future guests.
Thanks again for choosing us and we await for your return to Casa Opuntia.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This place had potential once upon a time. We were in the back. They should not even rent these rooms. They are dark dank and buggy. They look out on a pool that was rimmed with slime.
Breakfast was made in a shed by the pool. They cleaned the dishes in an old sink by the pool.
Maybe if we were in the front we would not have seen how dirty the shed and the pool were.
The staff while always there did not seem to do much all day long.
Their sister hotel iguana crossing on izabela was beautiful in every way. Rooms location and staff all top notch. If they are smart they will sever their relationship with this dump.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed on the top level of this hotel right on the waterfront. We had a great view and even a hammock on our deck. We had a single and a double bed, plenty of room, a nice bathroom and an in room safe with both a key and a combination to be used together. Everything was safe there. There is no elevator so if you have trouble walking up narrow steps be aware, of course most people that go the Galapagos are pretty hale and hearty as we are! We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and it was all made to order in a small kitchen next to the pool. The ceviche is wonderful as is the fresh fruit and fish dishes. There is wifi if you need it although I decided to be unconnected on this trip by choice! The rooms were clean and we had plenty of fresh purifed water for us to use. There were sea lions on the steps leading to our hotel entry which I thought was very charming.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms on the very top of the hotel so you can look out towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear travelwomanNewMexico,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a comment, on behalf our team we are happy you chose us to enjoy your vacations in Galapagos. We are glad you had a good time at Casa Opuntia and also to hear you founded everything nice and charming. You can be sure next time you visit us it will be even better.
We will be waiting for your soon return,

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is part of a group of hotels, but the "feel" is mom-and-pop. The property started out small but is being added to on a daily basis. There may be some light construction noise during the day, but mostly this property is very quiet. There are only 11 rooms and each is air conditioned. The rooms are all quirky, clean, and well equipped. I was in room 11 and it looked like it was new. It had a large balcony that had a view of the waterfront with sail boats in the distance. Floors are tile and this room had a nice large shower area and a room safe. I must have been far away from a water heater because it took a long time before hot water reached the shower, and it continued to be hot for a short time. (hint: take a quick shower!) There are unmarked dispensers in the bath and I had to ask which was shampoo and which was soap. When I came back after my tour they were labeled! Other guests with me said they had an occasional teeny ant in their room, but this is a remote hotel with lots of open windows so some ants come with the ambiance.

Meals are served to order and not buffet, but were ample and served in courses. Even breakfast had several courses of wonderful food. Be sure to check out the lady in the outdoor kitchen and tip her well if you enjoy the food. Only one staff person spoke fluent English, but everyone understood some English.

This hotel is right on the waterfront and along a nice "boardwalk" of sorts for strolling. You'll have to walk around sea lions, which are all over the boardwalk and on the steps leading to the hotel. You'll definitely have a chance to see wildlife up close and personal.

Rooms do not have a hairdryer, but if you email them ahead of time they will have a hair dryer waiting on you at checkin. WIFI is available if you are in the area of the reception/office. Beer and wine are available on an honor system; you order at dinner and then pay at the office.

If you want a quiet place to stay that is not overrun with tourist and has a friendly staff then this is your hotel on San Cristobol Island.

Room Tip: Go for room 11 which has one queen bed and a beautiful view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, customer service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Westgalady:

Thank you very much to take a time to write this review, on behalf of our team we want to thank you for staying with us. We will make sure to share your words with all our staff, as I can say also that your opinion is extremely important for us to improve our service. Our Quality Service supervisor will take immediate actions in order to make your next visit an unforgettable experience.
We will be waiting for you to return soon to Casa Opuntia.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Address: Charles Darwin St. | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno sn, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Opuntia is a tourist superior hotel, with its 13 cozy rooms is one of the best accommodation on San Cristobal Island. The hotel overlooks the boardwalk and is only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach. Casa Opuntia's restaurant features some of San Cristobal's best sea food dishes to be enjoyed surrounded by endemic gardens and perfect ocean views. It has a small swimming pool and an outside bar that are always open to welcome our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Opuntia Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.