We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the Galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa de Laura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa de Laura
Callejon 2, Avenida Armada Nacional | Av. Armada Nacional y 2DO callejon, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value in the Galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here as our first stop in these amazing islands and was pleasantly surprised by the place. We got an air con room with a fridge for $33 a night which was quite a bargain given the reputation of the islands. It's at the end of a small lane and there's lizards running about everywhere. It's a two minute walk to the beach where all the sea lions sleep each night.
The room was a good size and the sheets changed every other day. The shower was nicely warm which was great after a day of diving and the hammocks in the front make a great spot to chill after a hard day in the sun

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creede, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were shown two rooms, one much smaller, a bedroom and shower only and another, larger room, that also had a nice kitchen/dining area. We opted for the latter, but immediately discovered that the gas stove does not have a gas. We were able to negotiate a lower price with Jan, Laura’s daughter, who did not seem to be inclined to have the gas purchased.
The room overlooked the nice garden, the dining area was spacious with a small fridge, table, two chairs, pots, pans, plates, utensils. It had all we needed to prepare the breakfasts.
The bathroom was tiny, but sufficient, the place was quite clean.

The guest can use Laura’s cloth line to hang their cloth to dry.
The wifi did not really work in the room, we always had to go to the front area.

Jan gave us overview of the island and its attractions and suggested a tour operator for Kicker rock, who we did not end up using as their prices were much higher then the competitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights before a cruise in the Galapagos. The room was clean. The location is very convenient. It was more than you could expect for $22/night. The woman who runs it was incredibly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with gorgeous flowers - good for hanging out with fellow travelers after a day of adventures. The location is really good too, close to the waterfront. The rooms are average and really need some improvement. The bathroom is tiny, with no room to put your toiletries, or even hang more than one towel. The shower is electric - you can actually see wires attached to the shower head - makes you feel very uneasy. There's a price list of how much things cost if you break them....and it's not cheap. You pay hundreds if break a mattress??!?! It wouldn't be that disconcerting if the room was in a better shape and didn't look like it was falling apart to begin with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedbacks.
Casa de Laura is concern about the damages that guests might cause. The prices on the list in case of any damage are the REAL prices and costs that we have to pay in Galapagos (600 miles off the mainland). As you noticed in Galapagos everything is double expensive because everything is transported from the mainland. Sure your guide should have told you that. Personally I check the conditions of the implements regularly and I´m commited to offer good, confortable and clean accomodations. that is why yours and other Travel agencies contacted me.
regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a group so I'm unsure of price. The room was ok. The bathroom was very small and i'm very short but I still felt like I was too big for the shower. We were also warned by our tour guide that the sinks weren't properly affixed so too be very careful when using them as they could fall on the floor. We were also warned to check to make sure everything worked and was in good condition immediately as to not get charged for someone else's damage. There was a list in the room with outrageous prices for broken beds, remote controls etc. I was in my room with the A/C n and the owner must have thought no one was in the room b/c she knocked and ran away when I answered. Other guests stated that if they left A/C on when they returned it was shut off. The gardens and location were nice but I was very put off by the price list for damages that I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedbacks.
Casa de Laura is concern about the damages that guests might cause. The prices on the list in case of any damage are the REAL prices and costs that we have to pay in Galapagos (600 miles off the mainland). Sometimes the people dont want to assume the cost of the damages. and for the realloy affordable rate that you pay we cant cover the cost . As you noticed in Galapagos everything is double expensive because everything is transported from the mainland. Sure your guide should have told you that. Personally I check the conditions of the implements regularly and I´m commited to offer good, confortable and clean accomodations. that is why yours and other Travel agencies contacted me.


regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked directly with the owner, Laura, and had specifically requested an air conditioned room (we speak Spanish fluently). Arriving from a grueling rough ferry ride, we were taken to a decent room but the air conditioner didn't work. Laura said the previous guest had complained but that she herself didn't sleep in the room at night so how was she to know and anyway there was no one on the island to fix it. It was take it or leave and she rudely suggested we just find another room. No suggestion of helping us do so, calling a taxi for our luggage, or apology. Beware!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are so sorry for this inconvenient.
The A/C works well in every room and normally takes 5 minutes for the A/C to cool the room.
I say that to every guest. You should understand that is a small hostel within an island.
we try to safe energy wich is very expensive. for that reason we can´t wait for you with the A/C on.
We have to be patient until it cools.

You told me that you wanted to leave the hostal as soon as possible, I did offer you to call a taxi but you said no. You should understand that my hostal is the only one with Hot water; A/C and Free WIFI and a good location for that affordable price in Casa de Laura.

regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean, lots of hot water, air conditioned with a wonderful garden full of flowers, close to town but very quiet, a real gem of a spot. Laura is very helpful. We highly recommend this spot. A short 5 minute walk, turn left off the boat ferry, or on your left as you enter town from the airport.

Room Tip: Second floor has a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Casa de Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa de Laura

Address: Callejon 2, Avenida Armada Nacional | Av. Armada Nacional y 2DO callejon, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa De Laura San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa de Laura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Casa de Laura to your Saves list