We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Loberias

Las Loberias
Ecuador
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful place to watch the waves and sea lions. Make sure to hike beyond the beach. There is a trail that leads you up to a great view. Bring some good shoes because part of the trail you are climbing rocks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice beach to walk to for an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Las Loberias Beach twice during our stay on San Cristobal, the 1st time we went on the way back from a cycle to the town of El Progreso, we were really glad we went to Las Loberias that day because that was the 1st time on our trip we saw Iguanas and a turtle as well

If you go by bike they have bike stands so you can padlock your bike, the 2nd time we went we walked from town, it took us about 35 minutes to walk out, the day we went by bike it was sunny, we saw 6 or 7 iguanas on the trail to the beach, they were taking shade in the bushes by the trail, the 2nd time we went it started raining so we had to walk back in the rain............ No luck!

On our 1st visit, just as we arrived at the beach a small turtle had just landed on the beach, we stayed for about an hour watching the turtle trying to manoeuvre up the beach, really nice to see

There were also plenty of sea lions lazing about on Las Loberia’s as well, the beach is nice, I am not too sure if I would fancy snorkelling there though, there are a lot of rocks close to the shore, both times when we were there the waves were massive and there was a fair old swell in the sea

Well worth a visit out, if you don’t want to walk a taxi is less than $5 and you could ask the driver to pick you up later

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
244 attraction reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Closed to town and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We walk 4 times to Loberias. You can swim with a lot of turtles, fish all size and color, and yes, the sea lions. The beach is also very nice. The water can be cold depending of the season. If you don't have or don't rent a wet suit, try with a t shirt and at low tide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An abundance of Sea Lions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A cracking place to snorkel with turtles and sea lions. The water can be a little choppy with small currents but the visability was good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant beach and clear waters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went to this beach with some of my fellow volunteers from the Jatun Sacha foundation. We took a short walk (approximately 15-20 minutes) from the town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno to the beach. There are some marine iguanas and sea lions, which are easy to spot. Also, if you go onto the lava rocks, there are plenty of Sally Lightfoot crabs, though they are always quick to get out of sight when humans approach them. The waters are generally clear and are decent for snorkelling. While in the water, I saw a good number of fish, as well as two huge sea turtles. I could get really close to them and I managed to take some good underwater photos and videos. In addition, one sea lion came up to me and swam around me a few times. It was exhilarating. Overall, this is a small and pleasant beach with waters clear enough for snorkelling. The short walk from town should not dissuade one from visiting this beach (taxis are always an option too). There are no bathrooms in the area but there is a little tent with shade for those who want a respite from the sun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Loberias also viewed

Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Las Loberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Loberias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.