We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Marlin Hotel
Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week in february and loved the hotel. Clean and modern rooms, hot water, and even wifi...pretty good for galapagos. Staff was all very nice as well. There are not many options for hotels in galapagos and hard to find better at this price point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived on San Cristobal without prior booking and found most mid and top range hotels fully booked. We were really lucky to stumble accross Blue Marlin - you get new spacious rooms and huge bathrooms for half the price of the few top range hotels! Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one. The pool and relaxing area are really nice, breafast area as well. Loved the fridge/minibar. We heard some other guests complaining about the noise (nearby bar, rooster next door) but all was good in room no 8 where we stayed. Perfect ending to our trip and fully recommend this hotel for everyone! Very good value for money. Hint: the beds in twin rooms (cheaper) are big enough for 2.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group. Rooms were large, clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The bathrooms have locking doors and the keys are in the room, so we could lock our belongings in the room when we were out. My only complaint is that whoever cleaned the room unlocked the bathroom door and put the extra keys, which I put inside the bathroom, back out into the room. It is an easy walk to get anywhere in town but it is located in a quiet area away from the main streets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our Galapagos adventure. We enjoyed the central courtyard and the pool. Everything is walking distance from here. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked well.

The beds were firm and I have to say that some, not all , of the pillows were hysterically hard...really weirdly spongy hard...like a couch. No give...just a spongy brick.

We had breakfast organised through G adventures so I am not certain if it is provided for all guests. It was very good.

The only neg: The doors are have a little gap and being in the tropics some bugs sneak in..mostly huge crickets but some harry potter sized spiders...problem solved by laying a towel in front of the door at night and doing a bedcheck before turning out the lights. Bugs and geckos are everywhere in the Galapagos...expect them to visit no matter how clean the room is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, for 3 nights, part of our Gap Adventure holiday. The Blue Marlin hotel is brand new. I think only has been open for 2 months. The hotel is family owned and the whole family helps in running the hotel, cleaning, serving breakfast and catering to their guests. The rooms are very very clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. There is a mini bar in the room (priced right), AC works great, outdoor heated pool, and free wifi. The free breakfast in the morning was great and served fast.
The hotel is located 2-3 blocks from the ocean.
The only downside, you can hear the neighbours roosters crowing in the middle of the night.
I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. Choose if possible the rooms on the north side. You won't hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Address: Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Marlin Hotel to your Saves list