We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place only two blocks from the main street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Hotel
Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place only two blocks from the main street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived on San Cristobal without prior booking and found most mid and top range hotels fully booked. We were really lucky to stumble accross Blue Marlin - you get new spacious rooms and huge bathrooms for half the price of the few top range hotels! Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one. The pool and relaxing area are really nice, breafast area as well. Loved the fridge/minibar. We heard some other guests complaining about the noise (nearby bar, rooster next door) but all was good in room no 8 where we stayed. Perfect ending to our trip and fully recommend this hotel for everyone! Very good value for money. Hint: the beds in twin rooms (cheaper) are big enough for 2.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group. Rooms were large, clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The bathrooms have locking doors and the keys are in the room, so we could lock our belongings in the room when we were out. My only complaint is that whoever cleaned the room unlocked the bathroom door and put the extra keys, which I put inside the bathroom, back out into the room. It is an easy walk to get anywhere in town but it is located in a quiet area away from the main streets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our Galapagos adventure. We enjoyed the central courtyard and the pool. Everything is walking distance from here. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked well.

The beds were firm and I have to say that some, not all , of the pillows were hysterically hard...really weirdly spongy hard...like a couch. No give...just a spongy brick.

We had breakfast organised through G adventures so I am not certain if it is provided for all guests. It was very good.

The only neg: The doors are have a little gap and being in the tropics some bugs sneak in..mostly huge crickets but some harry potter sized spiders...problem solved by laying a towel in front of the door at night and doing a bedcheck before turning out the lights. Bugs and geckos are everywhere in the Galapagos...expect them to visit no matter how clean the room is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, for 3 nights, part of our Gap Adventure holiday. The Blue Marlin hotel is brand new. I think only has been open for 2 months. The hotel is family owned and the whole family helps in running the hotel, cleaning, serving breakfast and catering to their guests. The rooms are very very clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. There is a mini bar in the room (priced right), AC works great, outdoor heated pool, and free wifi. The free breakfast in the morning was great and served fast.
The hotel is located 2-3 blocks from the ocean.
The only downside, you can hear the neighbours roosters crowing in the middle of the night.
I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. Choose if possible the rooms on the north side. You won't hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Address: Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.