We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a shame they don't so they care, just a little.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miconia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miconia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miconia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charles Darwin Avenue, San Cristobal ,Galapagos Islands, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in San Cristobal
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Its a shame they don't so they care, just a little.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't enjoy writing negative reviews, but this place has gotten to me.
The good for starters; room, reasonable, compact.
The disappointments; the fridge doesn't work. Seems new.
Asking for help 2x yeilds nothing.
Room sleeps 3, only one glass provided.
Ask for ice, as no fridge - will not give ice.
Ask for another glass, after 2 requests recieved, but rather ungraciously.
TV, maybe my in adequacy, but seems to have a complicated process, beyond me.

Room Tip: Check everything functions properly before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I almost never write a bad review but I feel that I must in this case. The room we were shown was like a dungeon, cinder block, dark, one small window. It had been divide in three, with one space (I can hardly call it a room) for a double bed, but no window. Another space had another double bed and a window. A third space had room for two small chairs that looked suitable for children. I didn't even want to go into the bathroom. Enough said. Its location on the harbor is not a reason to choose it! Stay away. We left! (and had a marvelous stay at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a comment about the hotel Miconia restaurant. We are there twice for lunch and we liked the service. They have a so called economical lunch for $8 which is good value. you can have fish or chicken with rice, fries or patacones (fried green plantains). We are there twice for lunch and the fish was consistently good. The small personal pizza was also good and for $7 a good value as it can easily feed 2 hungry people. In general I would recommend the hotel miconia restaurant for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Galapagos Alternative reserved our room at Miconia. We spent three nights there upon arriving in Galapagos and one night at the end. First we had Room 11 upstairs facing the inner courtyard, and Room 7 on the ground floor (weird feng shui) on the return. Beds were comfy and rooms extremely clean. The location was great- right across from the gorgeous harbor and the sea lions lounging everywhere...it's a good thing they weren't allowed in our room! The breakfasts were not very good, though the restaurant has an incredible water view. We had one dinner there... a chicken and a veggie crepe... and they were quite good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the hotel, which is on the sea front in Puerto Moreno, a perfect location. The hotel itself is okay, the food is quite good for lunch and dinner, although the breakfast is limited in choice. The bedrooms are of a reasonable size and are in generally in good order. The bathrooms are also okay, although if you look at the showers and the maze of wiring and fixes, you realise that the hotel has a major problem with water pressure and supplying hot water to the rooms. The shower in both our rooms was pitiful, cold and lacking in pressure. The loos don't always have enough pressure to flush properly either.

You also need to like loud 80's music being played in the gym each night for a couple of hours. Quite a few of the locals use this hotel as their gym.

Overall we would not recommend staying at the Miconia as we felt it was to expensive for the facilities and the service, which was average at best. They need to give the hotel a spruce up as well, the reception area and restaurant need decorating. Lastly, they should be made to turn the large screen TV off in the restaurant, as none of the guests are interested in Ecuadorean TV! This hotel relies on its location and the lack of decent local competition too much.

Room Tip: The top floor is the least noisy location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Damp, dark, dirty, rundown. We booked the "presidential suite" on the top floor (up 5 flights of stairs). The only good thing about that room was the patio overlooking the bay. The rugs were filthy: stained and full of dirt and dust. So bad that I had to roll them up and put them under the bed. There were piles of dead insects in the corners. Food was terrible -- breakfast, which was included, was inedible. And you could look into the bathrooms of all the rooms adjacent to the stairs as you were going up and down!!! This place reminded me of a set from a horror flick.
I don't mind staying in budget accommodations - but this place was hugely overpriced and filthy. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Our stay in San Cristobal island during 2009/2010 new year's eve was one of the top trips of our lives (my wife included), and Hotel Miconia played and important part in the great experience we had. Good accomodations (not luxurious, but indeed good), good staff (specially Mrs. Kathy Espinel), good food, great location right in front of the harbour. In summary: Hotel Miconia has got what you need - at a reasonable price - to enjoy what I consider one of the most gorgeous places on earth.

And particularly if you're focusing on the surf, like I did, having breakfast with the 2 main surf spots in sight (Cañon to the left and Carola to the right) is an experience any surfer will appreciate. All you have to do is take a look and choose which one you'll be surfing that day. It's a 15 min walk to both spots.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miconia

Address: Charles Darwin Avenue, San Cristobal ,Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miconia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Miconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miconia Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel Miconia San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miconia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.