We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Negra

Sierra Negra
Ecuador
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$687*
and up
Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa...
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Isabela
Type: Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Horseback riding
Attraction details
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Luckily the day I went on this tour was cloudy so the heat wasn't too bad. The hike is 16km (8 up and 8 down) and as others have mentioned takes about 5 hours, with stops and time for packed lunch along the way.
The first half of the hike is along dirt tracks which can get a bit slippy if it rains a little - definitely wear decent shoes. This takes you to a viewpoint over the Sierra Negra crater which is breathtaking. The second half of the hike to Volcan Chico is over lava and is like being in another world.
The views along the route are great and the guides stop to tell you about various species of flora, fauna and the volcanos themselves.
A definite highlight of my trip to the Galapagos and a good workout!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great experience.Our guide wasn't the best. The lunch was minimal with a juice box. I'm glad we brought our own waters and other snacks because you need it.
This is definetely a must do.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Guide, Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you make it to the Galapagos, make it to Isabella and tour the Sierra Negra Volcano with an excellent guide (Maximo is HIGHLY recommended!!). This was a 10 mile trek up the volcano and down around the lava fields. LOVED IT!! Very knowledgeable guide, Maximo, pointed out all the flora and fauna. Lots of finches and lava lizards. If you go in the right season there will be refreshing guava along the path :) Beautiful views of the massive crater and if you are into rocks, the lava flows are an amazing sight!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hike - and amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were lucky enough to enjoy Vulcan Sierra Negra on a cloudy day - so it was pleasantly cool. We also had our incredible guide with us (Roberto, from Opturga Tours, the BEST!) who made the 5-6 hour walk both fascinating and entertaining. The views are amazing - and it's definitely worth trekking out to Vulcan Chico too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hike - no wildlife ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hike is about 5 hours and is a bit of a drive from the main town so it cuts a big chunk into your day. The crater and views are very nice but if you don't have much time in Galapagos then I would suggest doing other volcano hikes in Ecuador or Sth America (which are much nicer).

I spent 5 days in the islands and if I had my time again I would have spent the 7 of so hours on an activity with wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Negra also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to Sierra Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.