We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the light hearted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Volcano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Volcano
Save
You added Hotel Volcano to your Saves list
Main Street, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Isabela B&B and Inns
usersav
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for the light hearted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We paid 40 dollars and I wished I had shopped around were rooms at similar prices only realised when exploring next day .
The fan in room not working horrible smell.
The room shabby really unpleasant not worth it budget or no budget
I would not recommend this . Even if tired worth walking around . We were in a downstairs room no one on reception Internet works that's a out it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed 1 night in a double room with private bathroom

+ well situated, close to the beach (1' min walk) and to the center (5' min walk)
+ free wifi
+ you can choose whether you wish with/no breakfast (cheaper)

what could be improved in our view:
- when you know that someone leaves early in the morning, make sure that the reception is occupied
- lower the price a bit

our conclusion: okay to stay but not really best value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went almost to every budget hotel on the island to ask for prices and check rooms. We stayed for a week and we found about 3-4 options that were great at the $30 mark.

There are cheaper (mainly older) ones further from the beach and of course much more expensive ones in various places.

We stayed at Volcano in a lovely bright room that looked out across the road to the ocean, the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. I notice people complaining about the place but in this price range and compared to the other places on the island, this is really nice! I have a feeling they would not have been happy anywhere for the same price. And it seems that cocks crow on all islands in Galapagos all night long. Take some earplugs if you are a light sleeper!

We were told $40 a night but ended up paying $30 a night (without breakfast) as we were staying a week.

I think downstairs people were paying $25, I am sure all the rooms are negotiable when it is quiet.

Pros.
10 metres from the beach
Serviced daily
Loads of hot water
Ocean breezes
Cheap
Spacious and comfy

Cons
Some mildew on our bathroom ceiling dripped from time to time
There is a kitchen you could use, but it is filthy
- The wifi is slow and only works in the lobby (and on the breezy veranda) not in the rooms.
- The water tastes bad when brushing teeth,

The last two cons are more a function of the island than the hotel.

If you are a budget traveller then this hotel will be a step up from many places you stay! It is airy, bright and spacious hotel and the perfect base for enjoying Isabela.

If you are not going in the high season (July-Sept) it is definitely worth rocking up and checking out your options. It is a sleepy island and there are lots of options! Expect to pay more than the mainland ($25-$40 for 2 people - private room with bathroom) and you will not be disappointed as the island is GORGEOUS!

Room Tip: All of the upstairs rooms have views and lovely big windows. I didn't see any ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The usual deal with finding a hotel here from offshore is to try for a room at the Casita Iguana (which I didn't book because they only sporadically replied to my emails) or book online and take a chance.. usually resulting in boring hotel, slightly inland for too much $$ and then walk the town to find better digs.
I took option 2 and found the Volcano after a night in a loveless little hole that was NOT what anybody hope for as a Galapagos experience.
Better to go ahead and book The Volcano, it's $20 or $25 a night.
This place is great! Half the price of Caleta Iguana, with ocean views from cute rooms all painted bright colours. Mine was deep blue, with matching curtains and views of the volcano at sunset, the volleyball courts at the Iguana at Happy Hour and 10 seconds to the beach.
It doesn't have the uber-cool (ish) scene of the Iguana, and thusly less loud music, ab-strutting etc, but it has a kitchen, is very clean, I thought the rooms were cozy and quirky, and at $20, you can stay longer....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

No hot water, electrical problems, complimentary breakfast was so bad or should I say "not sure what it was". The hotel receptionist claimed not to speak a word of English except when my daughter and I walked out after the first day of cold water even though I paid for 2 nights through our travel avency.

Hotel selected by Galapagos Travel Center. The agent was outstanding with the rest of our trip, just a bad selection here.

Roosters crowing in the early morning.....windows don't shut so be prepared to wake early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel Volcano offers a basic place to stay as you explore Isla Isabela. It was not the cleanest place that we have ever stayed, but we were not in the Galapagos islands to hang out in our room. There are nice aspects to the hotel: It is directly across the street from a beach front bar and restaurant that is laid back and lovely. The volleyball court outside the bar is great fun. The hotel is also close to several other restaurants, shops and laundry facilities. Breakfast in the hotel was filling and delicious and the staff were always kind to us. We always had hot water for our showers.

If a less than spotless bathroom and mildew smell/bedding are deal breakers for you, I wouldn't recommend it. If you are in the Galapagos to enjoy the beauty of the islands and the wildlife, then call this a place to rinse the sand off and sneak in some sleep before the roosters start crowing in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Volcano for 3 nights (Dec. 29,30,31), located on Isabela Island. We are a family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. This hotel was chosen for us, part of our Gap Adventure vacation.
The hotel does not have much to offer. From what we understand the hotel is owned by the Ex-Major and his wife, who have split up. Subsequently no money has gone into up keep. We do not have high standards, simply look for something clean and comfortable. Our kids stayed on the ground floor, and the windows did not lock. Our room was on the second floor. The lighting was poor, no hot water for showers, lack of toilet paper, and no soap. Our son's room did not have a toilet seat. Really, no toilet seat! The hotel is in need of paint and some "love and care".
The hotel would be good for young travellers, backpackers, and the like. Famlies and older people, I would look elsewhere.
The hotel is right across from the beach / ocean, and you can hear the sounds of the waves at night, which is the nicest part of the hotel. Views from the second floor are nice.

The bar across from the hotel, Bito's is a must. It is located right on the beach. Cold beer, great food, good music and very relaxing overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: You have to do the second floor because the ground floor room windows, do not lock. You are just of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volcano

Address: Main Street, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isabela
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Volcano Galapagos Islands/Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.