We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, and Carlos's tours were great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Rincon de George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Rincon de George
16 Marzo | Puerto Villamil, Galápagos, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$25 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Isabela
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, and Carlos's tours were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel room was exactly what we were after: reasonably priced (we paid $25 per person per night for a twin room with private bathroom) and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We did a tour to the volcano ($35 per person) and snorkelling in Las Tintoreras ($30 per person) with Carlos as our guide, and had a great day -- he was an excellent guide and we really enjoyed ourselves.

The next day, we wanted to do the tunnels, and Carlos helped us organise that (through another agency) at the last minute -- again, we had a great day.

If we were back in Isabela, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sam
Thank you for having visited Hostal Rincon de George. It was a pleasure having you here for this time. You are always welcome to visit us again in the future.

best regards,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are a retired couple from Canada and have visited South America several times. We feel this is one of the best places we have stayed. It is clean, quiet, and well maintained with air conditioning, fridge and TV. Carlos speaks English well and is a naturalist guide. We went on two tours with him and were impressed with the breadth and depth of his knowledge of geology and natural history. He provided us with lots of very useful information on how to visit the island. We went there planning to spend 2 days and stayed a week

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Gerente at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks you dear friend, we are always happy for you honest feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed there three nights as a family. Apparently the price was higher than indicated in the previous review ($ 120 per night + $ 25 for breakfast for the five of us).
The hotel is indeed clean, beddings are ok (although a bit stiff), and the owners are nice and welcoming.
However, given the price range on Isabela, there is nothing exceptional. Rooms could even be slightly improved with things like a bedside lamp (to complement these awful energy saving ceiling lights) and a few local decorative items.
Carlos took us on a Tintoreras tour with another Group, which he did not mention to us before...However he took us to a nice snorkelling spot where we swam with turtles, sharks and sea lions, a great experience.
Bear in mind that Isabela is a laid back place, where wildlife is all around and the hotel/lodging offer is not of high quality.

Room Tip: There is one double room which although a bit small has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We found this hotel after wondering about the town. Very reasonably priced at $40 for double room with large bathroom, good wifi, TV, aircon, use of a well equipped kitchen and a rooftop terrace.Very clean on arrival and our room was cleaned every day when we were out. It's not on the beach but it's less than two minutes away. The couple who run this place are lovely, the husband is also a guide for the island and can help with tours. It's on the left hand side of the main square, above the post office. Everything is walking distance in this town so the hotel is close to everything. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Lizwo
Thank you for taking the time to review Hostal Rincon de George! We are very happy to hear from our past guests. We expect to see you again in another ocassion.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rincón de George is located on the small central square with lovely ocean views from the terrace. The owners Carla and Carlos were very helpful in arranging tours and Carlos is a guide himself. The small extra charge for breakfast was well worth the eggs, fruit, cereals and breads. The rooms are equipped with frig, TV, air conditioning and new furniture. The shower was very large, with lovely tiles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest

we appreciate your feedback, this helps us to keep working to continue offering good service!
Forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Carla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at this hostel for 4 days with my son.
The rooms are clean the breakfast was superb and most important:
The owners, Carlos and Carlota go out of the way to make sure our stay will be joyful.
Carlos is a certified guide for the area. He is extremely knowledgeable, excellent English and escorted us to the Sierra Negra volcano track and also the Tintureras tour.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at this new hostel...but really it is a hotel! It's new and the owners are attentive, knowlegable, speak English pretty well, and cook a lovely breakfast. This place is "LA" clean! Nice tile bathrooms, great beds, cable, and they can do your laundry in washer and dryers...fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Propietario at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, vuelvan pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Rincon de George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rincon de George

Address: 16 Marzo | Puerto Villamil, Galápagos, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hostel is located in Isabel island, one of the most wonderful and natural island in Galapagos.We have 8 rooms between doubles, twins, triples and family room, all have private bathroom, hot water, TV, air conditioning, personal refrigerators, safe-deposit box and laundry service.We have a roof top with an amazing view to the sea and and the flamingos lagoon.We have service of the post-oficce of Ecuador!!We can pick up you from the dock upon requestVisit us, we are waiting for you!Hostal Rincon de George ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Rincon De George Galapagos Islands/Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Rincon de George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Rincon de George to your Saves list