We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise in the galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floreana Lava Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Floreana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Floreana Lava Lodge
Save
You added Floreana Lava Lodge to your Saves list
Via a la Loberia, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Galapagos Land Specials
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winterswijk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“paradise in the galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

All the positive reviews stated herunder are true. Staying at the Floreana lodge, in the little cabins is one of the best landexperiences in the Galapagos. Also the nights, with a clear sky, are beyond believe. One can see the entire milkyway and for us, northern guys, we can see the Big Bear hanging upside down in heaven. It is also possible watching the Southern cross (during the night). The story of the Floreana inhibitants (the docter & his wife, the baroness, the Wittmers) is also very spectacular and it's a good thing that there 's a museum to be opened at the Wittmers place. Ofcourse there's wildlife & the tortoises.. All & all an unforgettable explercience. thanks to the guide(s) & ofcourse the very kind and helpful staff of the Floreana cabins (wonderful cook !!!!!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms are little cabins set in a spectacular location overlooking the ocean. It is a short walk to kayaking, snorkeling or swimming. The breakfast at the lodge was delicious and located outside with a view of the ocean. The stay here was a wonderful way to see Floreana, meet the friendly people of the island and see the stunning landscape and wildlife from the mountains down to the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place made me the most nervous before coming, and when I got there all my fears were laid to rest. This was the best place I stayed during my 10 day stay. The cabins are very quant and peaceful. there was scuba diving under a mile away where my son swam with giant tortoises, sting ray and hammerhead sharks. The walk over was over lava rocks and thru a small mangrove. We ate at someones home where they made a table for the group and cooked fresh tuna. That evening we sat in the wooden chairs and watched the stars and listened to the ocean. I would definately recommend this place, I only wish I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is rustic, but exactly what we were expecting the Galápagos to be and so charming we wished we'd stayed longer. All the rooms are twin, but my boyfriend and I didn't mind as we drifted off to sleep listening to the sea and the sea lions. Breakfast was lovely - great setting obviously as all the lodges and the breakfast area are just up from the shore, and delicious. The Cruise family are wonderful and really added to the magic of our trip there. Dinner was at Lelia's restaurant. Make sure you also have coffee or passion fruit juice at the "coffee shop and pizzeria" (another of the Cruise clan's).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After a week on a dive boat I decided to stay on land for a week, taking in Santa Cruz, Floreana and Isabela as part of a guided tour. It is to my regret that we only spent 24 hours on Floreana as it was by far and away my favourite island. It's unspoiled and the wildlife both on land and below the water was amazing even by Galapagos standards.

The lodge is basic but it has everything you need. The huts are small but clean and have everything you need in them, including a proper hot shower. However its the location that is killer - right on the water. I sat on my porch at 7am with a yellow warbler on the arm of my chair while watching seemingly endless turtles surface in the bay outside. I'd go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Anyone who is lucky enough to set foot on Floreana, and even luckier to stay over night at this simple but little piece of perfection should count their blessings. You are in the Galapagos and any complaints about bugs, sea crossings, heat or discomfort are, well frankly, irrelevant and par for the course. I feel so blessed I just returned from 11 days in Ecuador and five in the Galapagos. My goal is to return to Floreana. The rooms are clean and perfectly fine, small cabins with safes, air conditioning, fans, and all the neccessities. The view is ten stars. It is not my preference to tour with groups (even small ones) so taking dinner and breakfast as a group was but a small price to pay for an experience like this. I wish we had had one more night here. The baby sea lion beach and snorkeling with giant sea turtles is just down the beach. The food prepared for both meals was simple and perfect, our wonderful guides even brought over some wine for dinner. It is my understanding that these land based tours (thank you Red Mangrove) are helping ease some local resentment over all of the tourism dollars all spent on boats and rarely coming ashore. I hope Floreana stays just as it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is fun fun fun. We stayed in 5 stars hotels worldwide. But we truly appreciate the simplicity of the lodge and are grateful for the locals to welcome tourists in their unspoiled island. A gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropiceco, Manager at Floreana Lava Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Floreana with us. Your review is exactly what we are expecting our guests to live: the old Galapagos way of life, where the islanders life style is appreciated and shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floreana Lava Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreana Lava Lodge

Address: Via a la Loberia, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Floreana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Floreana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floreana Lava LodgeFloreana´s fascinating story and the desire of the local people to offer a more relaxed , more enjoyable and environmentally sensitive kind of tourism, is why Tropic has chosen to launch its new Galapagos adventure here. Together with the local community and the owners of ‘Floreana Lava Lodge’, and under the supervision of the Galapagos Authority, Tropic has created a new program designed for visitors who are looking for something out of the ordinary, who will understand the value of slow tourism.Located in Puerto Velasco Ibarra (named after a five times president of Ecuador) Lava Lodge is owned by members of the Cruz family, one of the Floreana´s oldest. The hotel is a comfortable lodge with top class service and the best of friendly local hospitality, built on black lava sands at the ocean´s edge: one of the best sites on the island. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village, Lava Lodge is also only a few steps from the ‘lobería’ where visitors can watch the islands famous sea lions in their natural surroundings. ServicesThe 10 independent cabins are each equipped with 2 twin beds (bunk beds for up to 3 people are also available). Each ocean front cabin has its own bathroom, front porch, a reading and shady area to provide privacy and enjoyment of the outdoors.The lodge also has a common area where guests can relax together and savor a welcome drink while enjoying the striking Galapagos sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Floreana Lava Lodge Galapagos Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floreana Lava Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.