We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casi Olivia - CLOSED

Casi Olivia
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My favorite is there pizza. There is a wide variety to choose from and I have enjoyed everything I have tried on their menu. You know the ingredients are fresh and organic.
They usually live music, wonderful food, and the owners are the friendliest.
Great night out....or lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Cotacachi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are lucky enough to find yourself in Cotacachi on a Thursday, Friday, Saturday or Sunday you won't want to miss this little gem. The food is consistently delicious, organic and fresh from their own organic farm and very inexpensive. This family run hot spot is so friendly and accommodating you will feel like a guest and not just a customer. The owners are fluent in English and Spanish. If you would like to meet people as well as satisfy your hunger you could not pick a better place. I don't eat dairy, wheat, or sugar, and they always manage to make a special meal for me that is so yummy, I find myself longing for Thursday when they open again. Their pizza is the best in town and they offer a gluten free one as well. They sell fresh produce from their farm and we always buy from them. They host a needlework club, and tango lessons and so many musicians and iron chefs, that it has become like the town's community center. The beer is always cold and the food is always fresh. Don't miss this one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otavalo, Ecuador
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Come for the food, stay for the atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I were thrilled to find this cozy, family run restaurant on a quiet street in quaint Cotacachi. The food is excellent and the service is even better. We were treated like family from the moment we walked in the door. Yes, their pizza is the best around but don't overlook the rest of the very creative menu. They have a guest "iron chef" on Saturdays so it's a fun surprise to see what will be on the menu. Their Cuban sandwich, which is always on the menu, is to die for. Casi Olivia and the wonderful family that own it has become a regular reason for us to come into town. We always come away with a full belly and a warm heart. Seriously, come for the food...stay for the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food in a family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The owners are always in ... not only overseeing the restaurant operations, but actually personally responsible from the warm greeting at the front door, preparing, cooking and serving, to a friendly 'hasta luego' as you depart. The menu differs daily except for the really great Sunday pizza --they are open for dinner Thursday through Sunday. Escaping the traditional Ecuadorian fare, you may find Cuban, Mexican, Indian, Middle Eastern or other special meals on any evening. If you are going to be in Cotacachi, subscribe to their email list which will give you the weekly menu: casiolivia@gmail.com. Lastly, if you want something different for lunch, drop in for a mui bueno Cuban sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the best Pizza in Ecuador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This friendly little family run bistro has pizza all day Sunday. I was completely blown away by the quality of the pizza. Some of the best I have had in six years in Ecuador. I am not exaggerating.

Then we got the bill. Five of us had pizza and soft drinks (one beer) and the price came to $18. Amazing. It's about a block off main street on Pedro Moncayo. If you can't find it, just ask one of the gringos you see on the street.

There is a good chance if you come Sunday evenings, you will find us there. And hey, the rhubarb pudding was to die for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casi Olivia also viewed

 
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casi Olivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.