We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veraneante Restaurant

Veraneante Restaurant
Esquina de Sucre y Garcia Moreno | o 9 de Octubre y Bolivar, Cotacachi, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Cotacachi
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Restaurant details
ROUND ROCK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our favorite in Cotacachi.! We found Veraneante about 1 hour after our feet touched ground in Cotacachi. And it remains our favorite restaurant. It has a strong expat following as well as a strong local clientele. The new (and permenant) location is 3 1/2 blocks south of Leather Street on Perdro Moncayo.
Darwin's chicken sandwich draws the praise of many expats. We, personally, recommend a bowl of soup and one of guacamole, avocado stuffed with tuna or the ceviche.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a surprising gem tucked away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was was originally put off by the look of table cloths whenever I passed by - thinking it must be too expensive for my budget. However, when a friend told me it was not like that, I decided to try it. What a lovely surprise! The food was wonderful, the service was friendly and the bill did not crash my budget. It's a quiet restaurant with a classy feel that draws locals and travelers alike. If you are walking about town during the lunch hour, give it a try. You will be glad you did.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy : Ecuadorian Foodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent Ecuadorian food and were the locals go for fine dinning. Cost is more than standard local restaurants but well worth it. During our trip we ate there twice. I highly recommend the sea bass which was broiled and crispy on the outside and moist inside no bones! I had 4 large pieces which was more than I could eat. It comes with French fries and salad for around $10. The other dish I had was the garlic shrimp which was also excellent and not what I expected. The shrimp comes in a little bowl with a creamy sauce. We ordered a side of rice which you can mix in the bowl with the shrimp and also dip your French fries in which was to die for delicious. All meals come with generous portions of green salad and sides of potato salad and fries. This is not for anyone wanting low carbs. However all the walking easily burns off all the calories so splurge and try it. You can also order soup but watch out the servings are large and they do not understand the concept of just a cup of soup. I tried the avocado & tomato soup which was served steamy hot just the way I like it! The soup was rich and creamy with little slices do avocado on top. The other soup I tried was the potato and cheese soup which was also excellent. My husband tried the mushroom soup but we both agreed that it was not as good as we expected. They have a full service bar but we either had bottled water or beer. All meals start off with a little bowl of popcorn, salsa and plantain chips to munch on while you wait for your meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, NB
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow dessert first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ordered our supper and much to our surprise sliced apples a beautiful chocolate dripping on top came first. What a nice addition to our meal. The meal was excellent and the chef takes pride in his presentation as well as quality of his food! Everything was fresh. Will go back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I had several meals here during our recent stay in Cotacachi. The chef is amazing and his soups are the highlights of each meal. His wife usually serves the patrons and is extremely cordial. My husband is fluent in Spanish and was able to converse at length with this lovely couple. The food is superb and the prices are extremely reasonable. We highly recommend Veraneante Restaurant to everyone who either lives or visits the beautiful town of Cotacachi. It is a gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veraneante Restaurant also viewed

Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Veraneante Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veraneante Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.