We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Dili” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dili

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dili
Save
You added Hotel Dili to your Saves list
Av. Direitos Humanos | Lecidere, Dili, East Timor   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Dili”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What can I say ... down to earth great little hotel right on the beach.... Very nice small hotel. The rooms are comfortable and almost " homelike" ... The furniture is a mix of old retro style, clean in good condition and the bed was a very comfortable queen sized one. The bathroom was clean, the towels were fresh and the air con and ceiling fan all great. There was a small veranda sitting area out the front with a nice table and chairs. Great bar and great restaurant, the food was cheap, tasty and freshly prepared. The breakfast was a buffet continental style one ( cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juices and spreads) but cooked american was available for extra cost. The staff are awesome , very helpful and friendly and willing to help with whatever you need, I needed to pick some things up from central bank, and I needed security to take me for safety , this was no issue to them. Security honestly is no issue, there is a good strong gate and fence around the hotel, that is locked at night until about 7 am the next morning. The room has a lock, and there is a safe at the reception area, we went on a tour we left our passports in their safe with issues. The hotel is well placed for tourists, it is a short taxi ride to the Timor Plaza, and walking distance to some nice restaurants. We will stay here again when we next come back to Timor-Leste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel Dili is a great place to stay when in Dili, Timor Leste. Staff are very friendly. It is a safe and comfortable hotel. Close to shops, Xanana's Reading Room, 'One more Bar' , ANZ bank, markets and opposite the Dili Harbour and Lecidere waterfront.

Room Tip: A Seaview Room is my favourite. All rooms are on ground level and are private. Security staff are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I like the layout of the place and there's some nice plants around. The room is OK by the standards of small hotels in SE Asia; it's comfortable, but the decor is a bit shabby, fridge, desk, telly etc all good, but at 70 USD per night it's very poor value. The internet works OK, (given East Timor's recent past its' great that they have it at all!), and some of the staff are fine. But the food is a bit basic (think motorway cafe if you're over 40 and from the UK); yes, you can live on it but there are far more interesting things elsewhere for much less money and with a much more cheerful service. The beach is only a short stride away.
If it cost about 35 USD per night, I'd be happy, but it's very poor value for money as it is.

Room Tip: Eat somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a Seaview Room for one night. This was my first time to Dili and my expectations were pretty low. The room was clean and comfortable. There was no "seaview" however. The front windows are bricked over with decorative bricks that make kind of a lattice work that still allows light into the front enclosed porch area (living room/office?). Even though the hotel is on the ocean front the fence and plants make it so you can't see the ocean. The Hotel is a hodgepodge of buildings and not well laid out. Breakfast was good and dinner at their restaurant was fine. I put a premium on clean and it was clean enough for me. I did not take my family with me to Dili because I was worried about the conditions, this Hotel would have been fine for them, but in no way luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at the Seaview Room 1 for 2 nights last week at a rate of USD100/night which I thought was very expensive. It had a porch, a seperate sitting/fridge area, a bedroom and a bathroom. But I have to give them credit for arranging a room for me (I was a walk-in as my booking online did not come through before I arrived in Dili)

Interesting layout due to the different types of rooms available in different areas of the hotel. Breakfast (continental only - eggs and bacon or sausage will cost you USD10!) was served in a 'tent' and there was a TV tuned to CNN.

The TV channel selection is awesome I have to say, I think there were more than 40 channels, so don't worry you will find something that you like. As I was staying alone, I had two pillows and a bolster all to myself. Air-conditioning was strong and I slept well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms are awful and expensive. The lady in the reception is very nice though and can help you with anything. The food is good and for location i'm not to sure there is a good location in Dili.
The good thing is that it's a fairly big road just outside were you easily can find a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights on business with other company staff. The rooms varied, standard, special, seafront etc. The layout meant each room was different, so a bit of character. My room was 6A, nearest the parking lot. Although the room could have been a bit cleaner, the bed was wonderful, changed each day. Airconditioner was super quiet and worked extremely well. Had ensuite (basic) TV, fridge, coffee facilities, desk. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel for breakfast (included in the tariff) and had meals there three nights. Although there was some wait for the meals due to the amount of people at our table, the meals were excellent. Would go back for the grilled fish.Location, right across from the waterfront area that has recently been made into a park and recreation area. There is a supermarket three blocks down the road (about 10mins walk). Otherwise, would suggest cabs as the best way to get around.

Room Tip: Seens rooms are all different, my room had a quiet aircon and lots of hot water, others were not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dili

Address: Av. Direitos Humanos | Lecidere, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.