We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit and miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Erli Sun

Erli Sun
Av. Marginal, Metiaut, Dili, East Timor
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Dili
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Dili, East Timor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little bit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and while the food has always been lovely the service can be very hit and miss. If your happy to sit and look at the view and are not in any kind of hurry then I would recommend this place

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A little pricey but very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ate here with friends, with the sea lapping just a few feet away, good food, good service, little pricey but par for Dili.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall, but try DiZa next door - it's better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I know it's cheeky to write a review about one restaurant, but recommend another place instead.
There's nothing wrong with this place - I came here with two colleagues, and the food and service were fine. It's quite big as a restaurant, with views over the ocean (like almost everywhere here). They specialise more in terms of fish and South-East Asia food, rather than western-style steaks. My colleagues both took fish as main courses. While the size of the fishes were OK, they were not totally fresh (still partially frozen), and expensive - the largest priced at USD 50, and the smallest USD 25. Bearing in mind that these were only big enough for one person, and were caught only 100m from the restaurant, I thought this was expensive. From what my colleagues said, they weren't that great to eat either.
I had sliced beef in sauce, with sea-food fried rice. And we also had 'spicy' soups (they weren't actually very spicy, but there was a lot of it).
All-in-all it was pretty average. The cost of this, with a couple of beers each, was USD 128. So not that cheap for pretty average food and service. And just next door is DiZa - which is much better, in every respect.
So, that's why I recommend the other place, and not this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Raising the standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had dinner with a group of Australian friends. Busy without being crowded. Food was excellent without trying to be too fancy. Good choice of seafood, and the entrees were almost the size of a main meal. A total of $200 for 8 people, all ordering entree, main meal and multiple drinks. Pretty damn good value

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erli Sun also viewed

Dili, Dili District
Dili, Dili District
 

Been to Erli Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erli Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.