We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Side Hotel
Save
You added Beach Side Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua Area Branca Meti - Aut, Dili, East Timor   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Dili B&B and Inns
Kyneton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have stayed in East Timor several times and now will only EVER stay at the Beach Side Hotel. The position is beautiful, the staff friendly, the rooms spotless and Bruce and Kathy are the best hosts you can imagine. Nothing is too much trouble, their advise is always spot on and it has been an absolute pleasure to enjoy their company over a drink while watching the amazing sunset.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 6 days at beachside in March this year.
It is located in a beautiful peaceful part of the island about 20 minutes from the center of Dili, opposite the beach.
The breakfasts were amazing , fresh and varied and carried to the beach for us. Bruce and kathy who own the place were delightful... both very kind, knowledgeable and aways trying to help.
Kathy is an excellent cook and makes fresh bread and healthy cakes daily and makes her own yoghurt.
I would highly recommend this place to stay. It was very clean, safe and accomodating in so many ways. We would definitly go back.

Room Tip: I recommend the room on the ground floor, opposite the beach on the ground floor, as it has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

It took 30 minutes for a menu to be delivered to my table. I can't comment on the food because I left when it hadn't been delivered after another 30 minutes. I wouldn't bother driving all the way out there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place is absolutely fantastic! Its clean, cozy and by all means up to western standars. We stayed here in october with 8 ppl, and we had 2 rooms (4/5ppl). Kathy and bruce are the best hosts i have ever had, they are super friendly and very helpful with everything!

Food is good and healthy, nothing deepfried.

If you have the chance i recommend to have a few beers with bruce and kathy and chat, they are great company and very considering towards the guests (the bar nearby had some kind of charitydinner/evening and they told us right away to join them in this event). Nice add in a place you dont have much to do except lay in the beach and enjoy great weather!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently returned from East Timor and the Beachside Hotel is a true delight. The location is on the beautiful Areia Branca Beach, a few miles outside of central Dili. This is a plus and a minus. The area is much nicer and cleaner than downtown but you are much farther from the stores, restaurants, and activities in Dili. It is easiest if you have your own transport although there are several good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Bruce and Kathy, the owners, are exceptional and truly go out of their way to make you feel at home. I felt like a member of the family while I was there. They have done a great job training the staff in the finer points of customer service but, this is still East Timor, after all, and there are still a few challenges. All in all, you will find the service here superior to elsewhere in Dili.

The rooms at the hotel are just wonderful. They are of a good size and you won't feel cramped. There is a refrigerator that is quite good size and you can keep plenty of food and beverages in there. The electricity is very reliable. I was there at the end of the dry season when it was brutally hot. The air con worked faithfully throughout and never went out. The water is also reliable and there was no time when the water went out, either. No amenities are provided in the bathroom so you'll want to be sure to bring your own shampoo, lotion, etc. I also had brought my own soap for which I was grateful. The small soaps provided (they are locally made) are not large enough to wash your big toe so be forewarned. The TVs are new flat screens and there are 60 channels on offer on the cable. And yes, you will spend more time in your room than you think, because the intense heat will get to you and you will be looking for respite. The rooms are kept immaculately clean by the housekeeping staff.

The food at the hotel was nothing short of fantastic. The breakfast that is included with the room rate is wholesome and filling. You can also order a la carte at an extra charge if you want something different for a change. Be forewarned that the restaurant is a favorite with locals and expats and is especially crowded on the weekend. Food service is painfully slow during these times so make sure you aren't on the verge of starvation when you show up for your meal. Getting anything on a "special order" was a particular challenge but I started writing down what I wanted and that seemed to help. I was able to get exactly what I requested.

All in all, with only minor glitches as mentioned above, The Beachside is a great small hotel and a marvelous choice for any traveler heading to Dili.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

There may be more than one hotel with a beach less than 30 seconds away, but this is the only one with the best beach. I sat at a table and had eggs benedict + Timor coffee. Lots of people to talk to or just as easily quiet time to read and just look at the scenery or read.

The owners, Kathy and Bruce, are frequently chatting to guests and that is a nice touch, Kathy is really on top of the menus.
A drive of 10-15min from Dili itself, yet close enough to be in touch

No pool, but there is the sea!
No fitness center, but the alternative is an excellent shore walk to the famous Christu Rei and up the steps to the giant statue of Jesus

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week waiting for my motorcycle to arrive from Darwin, excellent hosts who went out of their way to assist in all matters. Rooms large and very clean, laundry done for you as a bonus! Breakfast on the beach a great way to start your day and the cafe lunches and cakes are the best in Dili. Kathy and Bruce introduced me to their " community of friends" and I had a great time here during my enforced wait for the ship to arrive. Cannot reommend this place more highly. I have stayed in three other places in Dili, this is by far the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Side Hotel

Address: Rua Area Branca Meti - Aut, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dili
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Side Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.