We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gardens Residence
Save
You added The Gardens Residence to your Saves list
Bebonuk, Dili, East Timor   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dili
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A magic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gardens residence for two months. This was not our first visit to Dili as we come regularly with work. This is far and away the best place we have stayed. Nothing is too much trouble for manager Macu and her well trained and friendly staff. Any reasonable request is cheerfully met. Having a private garden is a real bonus and the one bedroom unit is very clean, modern and neat. Everything works & if something breaks it is quickly fixed. This is not common in other places in our experience. The place is very private and neighbours respect one another's privacy. It is close to Timor Plaza (Dili's only modern mall & picture theatre) and the beach but is about 5km from the city centre. Taxi's are cheap, (around $3) but you might need to walk to the main road to get one. The roads are safe & we had no problem walking around them, either during the day or at night. I would recommend a car if possible. It even gets cleaned every evening for you. The pool & garden area is beautiful although the gym equipment is not the greatest. My wife who is in training for her first half marathon joined a gym elsewhere. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed between Jan - April 2013. We were recommended the Gardens Residence on account of its high standards and the relaxing location and we weren't disappointed. Many of the good things have already been covered by the earlier reviews but we can add a few more that made it stand out. By Dili standards it is not expensive especially when you include the free internet and the immediate attention to faults in the system. We mentioned we weren't getting a good reception at certain times -the next thing to happen was a new router installed in our apartment! We were also pleasantly surprised to receive discounts on our rent when we were out of the country and even a refund for the days of the month that we hadn't consumed when we left. I can't remember that ever happening with a landlord before. Other nice touches include having your car (and you will need one that can cope with the bumpy road from the beach if you live in the Gardens) washed every morning. The maid and laundry service was outstanding and one of the gardeners seemed to spend much of his time tending our garden. The only downside? you may need to book early as there may be a waiting list of people wanting to move from sub standard accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Gardens Residence for a little more than three months and absolutely loved the place. It is a cozy and homelike compound. The houses are so lovely surrounded by individual gardens that you don't feel the rush of otherwise urban environment. Inside it is always clean and well-maintained. The staff is amazing. Not only are they friendly and helpful. They are highly professional. It's a great place to live, to have parties, to relax and even to work, if you work from home.

I would definitely recommend The Gardens Residence for a small families, to say nothing of single persons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I came to a short work in Timor-Leste after leaving Mozambique and I was really glad that I stayed at The Gardens Residence! It is a lovely place to stay in Dili… it is out of the busy area, near the beach, but close enough to cafes and restaurants (you can even go walking to some of them)… I went walking every morning in the beach – 200m away – and it gave such a pleasant experience of Dili (seeing the sea, the community, the fishermen in early hours…)
The residence was very nice, with great furniture, all utensils necessary for a comfortable stay. The outside private garden was a huge benefit to enjoy the warm weather of Dili… I also enjoyed the large windows which afforded great natural lighting even when I wanted to stay indoors with the AC on (as it is pretty hot this time of the year!). My colleagues from work who came to visit me at The Gardens were so impressed by the privacy which The Gardens gives to its residents and also commented that most accommodations lack a personality, which The Gardens have… Staff were simply great and did it all to make my stay comfortable… They even change the big mineral water gallons and bring my clothes washed and dry and put it in the closet (in the right place!).
Prices in Dili are quite high… It is expected from a post-conflict and island place where everything needs to be imported by sea… Before I stayed at The Gardens I went looking around, and found that The Gardens had a bit lower price than other quality accommodations and had the added advantage of its location and the private garden.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who would like to stay in a stress-free, comfortable, enjoyable accommodation while in Dili.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in both the 1 and 2 bedroom apartments in the Gardens Residence and they were both very comfortable, clean, private and spacious - the small private garden with table and chairs was truly lovely. The staff was fantastic in accommodating our (we were a group of three) changing needs and stored our excess gear while we were out of Dili.

The only difficulty we had was getting a taxi to the apartments as many drivers did not know where it is, but this will come with time.
Thanks to all for your help!

Room Tip: Both 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are available with a fold out couch - the two rooms I stayed in were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardensDili, General Manager at The Gardens Residence, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words towards our place and our services. The reality of Dili urban setting is one which most taxis will only know the main big hotels along the busy roads. We have chosen a more secluded place to provide peacefulness for our residents. We are also a boutique tyoe of accommodation, offering exclusive accommodation with only 10 residences. We have a list of taxi drivers in Dili who we trust and we often offer their services if our residents need...But your review gave us the idea of providing the directions to The Gardens in writing to all residents, mainly those coming for a short stay. Sincere thank you for you taking the time to review of services. We hope to see you again in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dili
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family has spent 5 months at the Gardens Residence. It is an oasis in mad Dili. The staff are delightful and will do anything they can to assist you. Our apartment was well appointed and spotless, we had everything we needed to live and work. The pool and garden area is a real bonus for relaxing and entertaining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at The Gardens Residence for almost a month in August 2012 and it was an excellent place to live and work, as it was clean, quiet, safe and comfortable with nice light filled rooms and neatly kept garden.The staff were immediately responsive to any small issue that came up. It was great to come home to a clean house and clean clothes.The fully equipped kitchen meant I could self cater. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Residence

Address: Bebonuk, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dili
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gardens Residence, a New Concept of Living in Dili (1 and 2 bedroom residence)The Gardens Residence is a residential complex offering luxury short and long term rental accommodation. We offer modern and spacious house with one or two bedrooms designed to ensure you will feel at home. The Gardens Residence provides excellent services and facilities, with close access to businesses and leisure activities of the city. Its proximity to the beach, just at a 200m walk, means that you can enjoy one of the main beauties of Dili. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.