We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tarsa

Tarsa
Josipa Kulfaneka 10 | Trsat, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
+385 51 452 089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Rijeka
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In the oldest part of Rijeka called Trsat up on the hill over the city the tavern Tarsa offers croatian and international specialities for lunch or dinner. Homemade cakes and pasta. Croatian specialities like "peka" and so much more. Great wine list. Smaller and larger groups are welcome. Inside fireplace and great aquarium. Outside playground for smaller children. Outside terrace. Family friendly.The right place for special occasions like weedings, birthdays, anniversaries, or simply a great place to have a nice dinner for two? We have our own large parking space. Every Friday and Saturday night our guests can enjoy in live music! Meaning singing and dancing are included :)) Welcome to the tavern Konoba Tarsa!
rijeka, croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'm sorry to say so but this restaurant is overrated. It's way too big, absolutely impersonal and much too expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Expensive average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Although one of the restaurants in Rijeka, which runs until the late hours we are very disappointed. Appetizer was very varied but for classic as ham and cheese and polenta, was very expensive. As a main course we ordered the grill, that makes this restaurant well known. The taste of food was unrecognizable. Without a true taste and scent of the grill We will not certainly come here again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Very Tough Steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went for a late lunch on recommendation of my friend. Sat outside food was good but returned my steak .The management deducted the steak and provided desserts. Would visit again and try something else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehhh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“thank you, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

With this words it could be described this restaurant. Food is good, service excellent, all made professional. But.. but missing something to feel like home. Still it's highly recommended and even excellent if you in to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pearl in the hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Last night in Croatia, we picked this restaurant as our last dinner place. It didn't fail us at all, and it was the best dinner we had in Croatia, with great seafood, steaks, and local cuisine.

Tarsa is situated in the hill above Rijeka (with big cars going there, watch out the narrow hilly road). Waiters speak excellent english and serve food with profession (e.g., always serves from the right side).

We ordered a fish soup and a risotto as appetizers. Highly recommend the fish soup, it is so fresh and so generous with all sorts of seafood in it. For main dishes, we had a steak (recommended by the waiter) and cevapcici (suggested by a croatian colleague), they were all perfectly cooked, and taste great.

You would spend easily 5 times money for the same dinner in a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarsa also viewed

Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Tarsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.