We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful if you are a foreigner !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bonavia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bonavia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonavia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rijeka
Rijeka, Croatia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Be Careful if you are a foreigner !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Spent a night at the hotel but had registered my home address with the police as is the law in Croatia if you are a tourist. The rooms are tired but the buffet for breakfast is good. On reporting to the police again the hotel had reported me and I was told I needed to report again to them after staying at the hotel and was fined 500HRK for being an illigal immigrant !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The airconditioning wasnt cooling sufficiently.
there was no coffee/tea maker in the room.
housekeeping staff was good,efficient and polite.
most hotels place a fruit basket in the room on arrival but there was no such thing in Bonavia.
when i stayed here a few years ago the rooms were bigger and there was a platter of fruit and cookies in the room but this time nothing !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and charming hotel , proud of its 130 years of existence. Extremely clean, albeit a bit oldfashioned, very well maintained, very friendly staff.
A hot water cattle and some coffe and tea could be added though...
Still, the minibar is very much ok
They could "touch" the rooms a bit too but I suppose they just want to preserve the history spirit ...
Overall impression is very good.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thi hotel is located in the central area of Rijeka.I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013.Room was big with just everything you might need.Clean and with good aircondition. The Free wifi worked perfectly.Breakfast was perfect with lots of food and beverages to choose from. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location in center of town. Also staff gave good recomendation for local non-touristy recommendation which was 10 minutes away by taxi which sort of negated location benefits. They said nearby restaurants didn't have as fresh local fish.

Rooms were fine as was breakfast.

Big problem I had was with Internet and I have started marking large business hotels down a category if Internet was not acceptable.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely hated this hotel. I had stayed here a few years prior, and it was excellent. Not sure what happened. The lights outside don't work, the reception had one man who had to do practically everything for us. The elevators have a strange smell, and are deathly hot compared to the lobby and hallways. The bathroom was awful. I'm quite used to average soaps and shampoos given at hotels, but these were beyond awful. I had to go buy my own. The soap is powdery and useless. The shower door leaks water all over the floor if water happens to run down it. The tub is slightly clogged as well. There is no exhaust, and the flush doesn't work too well. There is no robe or complimentary slippers. The room also has no kettle or iron. The fridge door was broken, and it nearly came off all the way. The cooling was despicable. We were still sweating despite it being on the lowest temperature. The rug looks dirty and gross. The television remote control doesn't work even at the best of times. The beds are average. We asked for two empty mugs and the room service charge was 30 kn. Unbelievable. The only redeemable quality about this hotel is the location and the friendly staff. For how much the rooms cost, I expected a great deal more. I'm not sure how a hotel that used to be extremely amazing turned to this. I recommend Hotel Jadran instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very metropolitan hotel in the very heart of town, although the decor was very antique and old fashioned (a positive thing). The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive, and the price is acceptable for this level of service, as well as the location of the hotel itself. The sweets in the cake shop are very, very good, and to sit on the terrace at night is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bonavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bonavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.