We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zlatna Skoljka

Zlatna Skoljka
Kruzna 12, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
00 385 51 213 782
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 95 Restaurants in Rijeka
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palermo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Recommendable seafood restaurant when you are in Rijeka downtown.
Fish is fresh and nicely prepared, and restaurant atmosphere is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aufham, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went there with my family and it was really good. I don't know for other people eating in that restaurant, but all my family had a nice meal. I would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lost chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

So, this is supposed to be a nice fish restaurant in the center of the city.
The atmosphere might be nice, but there is something missing..
So, the food.
Well, even with the best ingredients, the chef has no idea what to do with them.
My partner had risotto with Adriatic shrimps and truffles. Sounds good, right?
Just everything in that plate was wrong.
The pasta was overcooked, shrimps too (they got lost in the pasta, waste of shrimps) and there was waaaay too much truffles, you couldn't eat it. In fact, he took several mouthfuls and he was truffle overdosed.
What I had on my plate was just horrific. It might be good as some kind of carnival food, cos this is the closest I can get with the description.
It was a forg-fish (grdobina in Croatian) filet, rolled in prosciutto (way too salty), as well overcooked and dry.
It was lying in the tomato sauce with prawns accompanied with lemon risotto.
Okay, it was my fault ordering that, cause it makes no sense all this combo..but I really wanted to taste some good fish, and believe me, the fish was the last thing I tasted on this plate!
Service, so-so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant I HAVE EVER BEEN TO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Went there last year with my sister while on holiday on a very rainy Friday evening. Where to start from?!? No one greated us, actually there was NO ONE in the room... The waiter kept on leaving the restaurant that was fairly empty (wonder why?) and completely messed up our food AND drinks order. When we brought this to his attention he just left and started bad mouthing us to the kitchen. After dinner I stepped outside for a cigarette and saw him DRINKING ALCHOHOL with a group of friends on the terrace!!!! The food tasted like they reheated the lunch leftovers and the risotto was like out of a sachet... Dry and tasteless... Lets not mention The mussel starters... Shame because I had dinner there in 2009 and I had a great experience... Looks like the venue changed management/head chef or both... AVOID!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy little restraurant with excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had a business dinner in Zlatna Skolja with my collleagues. I ate beef carpaccio for starter and sirloin steak with truffle sauce as a main course. Food was excellent as it is almost everywhere in Croatia.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zlatna Skoljka also viewed

Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Zlatna Skoljka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zlatna Skoljka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.