We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opatija Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milenij

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milenij to your Saves list
Hotel Milenij
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsala Tita 109, Opatija 51410, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Opatija Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful hotel and I would say the best attribute to the hotel besides the view is the top notch staff. From the moment you check in to the moment you leave, you are attended to with white glove service. We had dinner on the balcony over looking the bay with a solo guitarist playing a mini concert in the back ground. If you are looking for peace and romance, this hotel delivers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, that is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for a great review and thank you for complementing our services.
Feel free to contact us for your next reservation in our hotel.

Kind regards from Opatija,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    88
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
38
106
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel located along the coast line, about 1km walk from the town center of Opatija. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient despite some do not speak English. The breakfasts and dinners served in the restaurant were really good in terms of the choices and taste. If you need something for the evening not from the hotel, there is already a supermarket located just opposite the road, about 50 m to the right. The down side was that they do not provide iron in the room so you have to get the pressing service if you need to, and the internet connection was poor in the room. I was lucky enough to get a corner room facing the conference hall so I got my internet connection using the password of the conference facility instead. Also, having a corner room have extra 2 windows which allow for ample sun lights and ventilation!

Room Tip: Get a corner room with ample sun light and fresh air, and great view to the see and the surrounding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Opatija and thank you on your nice review.
We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay at hotel Milenij.

Kind regards,

Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull. Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We arrived on a tuesday afternoon with a coach party at about 6-30 pm. From the moment we went into reception nothing was too much trouble, food was excellent, room was excellent, staff were very curteous and polite, all in all i cannot say much more about this hotel, other than fantastic. We will be going again but going to take all the family this time

Room Tip: nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you on your great review.

We are very glad that you had such a wonderful stay in hotel Milenij.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay at our hotel.

Kind regards from Opatija,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here on a stopover from Venice to Split. This is the luxury section of a larger property. Staff were very helpful- they met us next door and brought our luggage to the room. Staff at restaurant stayed late to make sure we got a good dinner; the restaurant was very nice, food was delicious, and waitstaff were outstanding. Our room was large, with hardwood floors, furnished with Old World style. Modern amenities were all available. Breakfast buffet was large and tasty. Grounds were beautifully kept by the sea with pretty views. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

From the superb breakfast on the terrace to the spa and view, almost evrything about this hotelnis top class. It lost a raTing star due to the incredibly annoying necessity to get a new internet login for each device evry 24 hours. Staff were excelwnt, and it took only 5 min or so to retrieve our car when we wanted it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay in hotel Milenij and thank you for rating our hotel so highly. We look forward to greeting you again so please let us know if we can be of any help if you decide to come back.
Kind regards, Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were already staying elsewhere in Opatija but decided to look elsewhere as we were disappointed with the hotel we were staying at. Location was very important and after walking around looking at the various options, we opted for Hotel Milenij for various reasons: in our opinion, it has the best position, next to the lunge mare (promenade) so no road to cross to get to the sea, a short walk to the bus station, a large terrace with great views, friendly, helpful staff and lovely comfortable rooms.

We opted for a sea view room, returned to our original hotel to check out and checked in at The Milenij. Had we made the right decision? Definitely. It was everything we had wanted from a hotel and saved this part of the holiday.

The hotel itself has 2 buildings and our room was on the 5th floor, having recently been renovated to a high level. A very comfortable bed with excellent quality bedding, good bathroom with bath and overhead shower along with a double vanity unit, sliding doors with a small Juliet balcony that gave just enough room to stand on, a small table with 2 comfortable tub chairs, TV (rarely turned on), a mini bar, great air con and a safe inside the wardrobe. I have to admit that it's probably not the largest of rooms but to us, quality wins over size every time. Besides who goes on holiday to sit in their room for long periods?

As well as having a very large terrace for having a meal (we did and it was really good), have a drink or indulge in one of the amazing ice cream sundaes or cakes (oops, there goes the diet!), the hotel also has a spa centre giving various treatment options, a sauna and a great indoor swimming pool with a glass roof, which opens when the weather allows. Walking outside from this area you can use the jacuzzi or sit on one of the many sun beds. Whilst not the largest of areas, it is not overlooked by anyone passing by on the lunge mare and it certainly met our needs.

The breakfast, taken either inside or outside on the terrace, is quite an affair. There are many hot and cold options to choose from and I even had my first taste of caviar! While we were there staff walked around with offerings of prosecco, raspberries and cranberries and also filling up our orange juice if so wished. All this to the background of classical music and there was even a live guitar/violin duet on two of the mornings we were there! Now that's how to take breakfast.

While the World Cup is taking place, the hotel is showing live matches in its bar, where you can sample either the cocktail or ice cream sundae specially concocted to celebrate this event. Visit the spa too for their special peel/massage. I tried all 3 'specials' and can highly recommend them.

The hotel has a 5* rating, however does not have the pretentiousness that goes with it. It has an air of relaxation and the staff, without exception, were the friendliest, most helpful that we had encountered during our 2 weeks holiday, visiting various areas on our first trip to Croatia.

Don't miss it while visiting Opatija.

Room Tip: Room 518 on the 5th floor has a view of the sea, side view of the park next door and a small inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel Milenij! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Feel free to contact us if we can help with your accommodation arrangements.
Sincerely,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located right in the center of town this is a nice hotel in a charming city with Austro-Hungarian architecture. The hotel is in a complex of four hotels. The rooms are spare but comfortable. The restaurant is in a separate building. The breakfasts are fairly good, not excellent, but there is a lot variety. There is a small cafe with a wide selection of pastries and chocolates. It is a great place to have a pastry and a cappuccino. There is also a small restaurant but we didn't eat there. There is a 7 mile promenade along the waterfront and it's a great place to walk and view the scenery. This hotel has a very annoying wifi system. They give you a code to use but the only place you can get wifi is in the lobby. Overall, this is a good place to spend 2or 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on your great review and for your recent visit Grand hotel 4 opatijska cvijeta. Please let us know if you are planning to come back so we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way. Greetings from hotel Milenij.
Kind regards,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milenij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milenij

Address: Marsala Tita 109, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#3 Family Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Milenij 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Milenij is a 5 star luxury hotel in Opatija. An essential attribute of this property is convenience and central location in the centre of the town. Situated alongside the beautiful park and Church of St. James on the one side, and the famous Lungomare seafront promenade and the town’s Slatina beach on the other, the Milenij invites guests to enjoy enviroment where superior service and distinctive surroundings create unique experience.The Hotel is at walking distance from many attractions and the beach is only steps away.In its 99 stylish, luxuriously furnished rooms (Standard, Deluxe, Superior) and suites (Standard, Superior, Residence), the hotel offers its guests accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere with a view of Opatija’s most famous landmark– the Girl with the Seagull statue.The Wagner Caffe and Argonauti restaurant located inside the hotel Milenij are a long-time favorite among the prominent Opatija localties and socialities.In good weather, you can enjoy an aperitif or a meal outdoors on the restaurant’s and caffe’s stylish terrace across the sea with magnificant view of Kvarner Bay.During the summer time, this terrace turns into a perfect setting for a live music nights that we are hosting 5 times a week. Our uniquely designed summer program includes special music events performed by finest musicians and artists every Thursday in July and August which makes this terace probably the most ‘famous’ on Adriatic coast.Come and discover the Milenij hotel, where charm and hospitality are our trademarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milenij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milenij Hotel Opatija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milenij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.