We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location, charming front office staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agava to your Saves list
Hotel Agava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsala Tita 89, Opatija 51410, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent location, charming front office staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We originally booked for a one-night stay, and enjoyed it so much that we returned for a further night later on in our trip. The hotel is a couple of minutes from the sea (or if you prefer, the Milenj 4-Flowers hotel just behind the Agava has an indoor/outdoor pool that Agava customers can use for free). While the hotel is in a central location, its "beach" (a rocky strip with space for sunbathing and where boats are moored) is a reasonable distance from the main beach area in Opatija which makes for a far more pleasant and less crowded swim. A sea kayak rental service is also available.

Our first night was in a standard room on the third floor - a very spacious room complete with king sized bed, a living room-esque area, a balcony, and even a welcome bowl of fruit. This room is worth a 5-star rating.As we booked the second night on impulse, there weren't many rooms left and we could only get an economy room on the second floor, which was very adequate given the price. The only gripes we had about the economy room was that the air conditioning seemed to shut off partway through the night and the room became almost unbearably hot, and the wi-fi reception was fairly poor (though it had been excellent one floor up). Breakfast was very good on both days. I can't praise the hotel reception staff enough - on both visits the (male) manager on duty and the other (female) staff member were more than accommodating, and went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Room 301 was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice words! I am glad that you had a nice time in our hotel. Wi fi is now fixed and there are no problems anymore with air condition. Hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel and the first impression was breathtaking - large room with balcony, clean, well kept every day, very pleasant stuff, rich breakfast. The biggest dissapointment came during the night. We were not able to sleep with an opened window during the night because there is a busy street with much traffic just below the window and more than that there is a live music performance and loudy discotech lasting till deep night. If you dont care to keep windows closed and run the aircondition unit all the night then you might like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry for havinig loudy night. At that time it was a musical event in Opatija, so we could not do anything with that situation. Hope the next time you will have pacefully vacation. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The village is very nice, quite and lively at the same time with many attractions especially troughout weekends.
Lovely location,close to beaches.nice,clean and comfortable rooms.breakfast was good enough.probably I would suggest To extend wyfi internet broadband in rooms too ....
Worth for money.....
overall ....
very good

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are working on wifi conection in the rooms too and it will be finished soon. We are happy that you like Opatija and our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

we alway stay in 2 other big-sister hotels, but Agava was such a nice surprise! Big room, big bathroom wth a bathtub, spotless clean. And that was only "ECONOMY room"! You can use facilities in both sister hptels "Milenium" & "4 opatijska cvijeta"- garage, pools, spa, restorants... Garage is easy to use- just park in 4op. cvijeta, take a lift to +3 level, go to the Agava reception and adk for a bell boy zo bring your bags to the room. If U R going out from Agava, go down to -2 level, and entrance to tje garage is across the road.
The only -: breakfast ends at 9.30! So order breakfast in bed, It's great, and costs only 25kn (3,1E)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are very happy that you liked our hotel. For the satisfaction of our guests we have extend breakfast till 10:00 o'clock. Hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The standard room is really spacious, clean and elegant. The sea view can be enjoyed only in standing position - if you sit "bushes" of flower block the view, fixed to the balcony bar. "Don't disturb" sign is not provided and once the cleaning lady entered to the room while we were sleeping inside. There is no direct access from the hotel to the garage, so the luggage need to be pulled on the street from the 2. building. Pool is in the nearby sister hotel as well - one large pool, most of it indoor, with small overcrowded outdoor part. The breakfast is OK. The variety at dinner is weak, it's quality varies from poor to fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are apologize for disturbing in the room and we are hope that you will gave us opportunity to correct that. It is true that there is no directly access from garage to hotel but our bellboy is at your disposal all the time and can help with the luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel Agava for 1 week, and loved it. Great service, staff is very helpful, nice breakfast, and the rooms are beautiful. Short distance to the ocean, and everything else. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are happy that your vacation was nice. We expect you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice and friendly hotel with clean rooms
In special when you have a room with a sea view. Nice town with friendly people and beautiful sea. In the hotel there was a relaxing spa and pool. Massage services were pretty good value for the money. Receptionist told us good advice for exploring near by sights :-) such as jama grotta cave and beautiful islands. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Agava, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked hotel and excursions that you made. Hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agava

Address: Marsala Tita 89, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agava 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Agava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agava Hotel Opatija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.