We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ive Kaline 7, Opatija 51410, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, didn't get the room with balcony as promised during the booking, but got a free birthday cake for my son's birthday. The location is fantastic with good sea bathing and snorkeling possibilities. Not too far away from the city centre - you can reach the shops and restaurants by foot within 15 minutes walking along the coast. The food quality was very good despite the limited choice. The room furniture is old and the rooms are quite "spartan style" without a TV and a fridge but we did not miss them. Recommended for a budget family vacation.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and a sea view. Get the floor cleaned under your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I chose this hotel because of the location and all the positive reviews we had read on various travel websites. The location is excellent - right on the water and walking distance to the centre of town, multiple beaches, shopping and some amazing restaurants. Upon easily checking in, we were charmed by its old European authenticity. The staff was friendly, professional and very accommodating. The room was clean and very comfortable. The terrace had stunning sea views and the breakfast was fresh and delicious! I particularly enjoyed the managers' company (Rolih). He was very kind and took the time to draw us out an extensive map of restaurants, suggested day trips and even a few hidden "look out points" which were all phenomenal. I would definitely recommend this little gem! Reasonably priced and excellent value. Thank you Rolih and staff for making our stay such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenero, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very old hotel, maybe from 19th Century. Room with dust, very bad cleaning and the day after a table plenty of aunties eating a piece of bread. The forniture is terrible and smells bad like things that you have not opened for at least 6 months. The car parking is away from hotel, 200-300 meters.
The location is great but doesn't worth the money you have to spend. Cheers!

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noising due to the traffic jam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very run down old hotel. Great location and nice staff. Thank you Lydia for your assistance. Wifi only in lobby. If you arrive late at night be prepared to be scared! Little lighting in hallway. No airconditioning. Service at bar and resturant slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjellerup, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is not new, but who cares when you feel at home right away. We arrived 3 hours before checkin, and was greeted with the invitation to use the shovers and pool to refrech and use the facilities of the hotel. Great after 25 hours in a train and temperatures over 30 c.
The staff was great, smiling, competent and always helpfull.
With is location right at the Water, with its own beech it is ideal for relaxation .
PS. Great food, always something for all tastes.

Room Tip: get a room with sea wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We revisited Opatija again having stayed at the Belvedere 12 months ago. This time we stayed in the annex which has no direct view of the sea. The week we stayed in August was reported to be one of the hottest weeks in the last 10 years with temperatures in the upper 30s C. Well this hotel has no air conditioning in any of the rooms so you really feel the heat.We had brought our own fan and left it on all night which made it bearable but without it we would have baked.
The rooms are all big with high roofs which does help. Only one electric socket in a twin room is unusual.
The best part of this hotel is of course the tariff and the food. As previous reviewers have mentioned the Breakfast is exceptional. Serve yourself what you want and the view from the restaurant is without equal. The dinner includes several choices (again serve yourself) including vegetarian options. Amazingly it includes as much drink as you want and this includes wine and beer. You get what you pay for but at the Belvedere you get more than what you pay for!
Still recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I must say for the price you pay, you get a very nice hotel with breathtaking location! The staff is very friendly and the food is very good! The manager of the hotel is very friendly also and everyday i stayed there he always say hello and ask if I need something. You won't get that everywhere. The hotel beach is beautiful, it is clean. One little objection is that there are no air condition in the room. But inspite of that, I had a beautiful vacation! Love Opatija!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Ive Kaline 7, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a historic property, Hotel Belvedere Opatija is situated in a quiet part of the city on the Adriatic Sea. Built in the Art Nouveau style, the hotel has 95 rooms in two buildings, which are surrounded by a lush, green park. This hotel offers excellent service and amenities, including a private beach with deckchairs and umbrellas, a seafront terrace, an indoor swimming pool with heated seawater and easy access to the seafront promenade Lungomare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.