We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part is the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Kapetanovic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Kapetanovic to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nova Cesta 12A, Opatija 51410, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The best part is the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night while visiting Opatija. Our room was in the old part of the hotel and was a bit disappointing as the decor was a bit old-fashioned and worn. Otherwise, the room was very tidy and clean. The beds were comfortable. The balcony faced the ocean.

The newer part, as well as, the lobby looked modern. I would recommend to pay a bit extra to stay in the new part as the old part had poor noise insulation and the airconditioning was both noisy and didn't work well.

As the hotel is located a few kilometers from Opatija, there's a complimentary shuttle bus going between the hotel and Opatija city center until 7 pm every evening.

The best part of the hotel is the hotel's restaurant, Laurus, and the breakfast in the morning. If you stay in the hotel, make sure to have dinner there one night. We were told that, Laurus is one of the best restaurants in all of Croatia! And the breakfast is yummy! The buffet is very generous with different Croatian cheeses, breads, croissants, cakes, spreads, ham, fresh fruits and berries, mozzarella salad, etc. There's also complimentary sparkling wine for breakfast.

The staff was friendly and accomodating compared to Croatian standards, but be prepared that the service isn't as good as in some other parts of Europe.

The hotel lacks an iron and ironing board, so make sure you have your clothes ironed before check in...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
99
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We visited hotel again on our way to Italy, stayed before we left and returned for two more days on our way home. This time we travelled with three kids so we stayed in the lovely, spacious family room no. 30. A lot of changes took the place since our last visit – the Villa now has new wing with additional rooms, it is upgraded to a 4 star hotel, it has beautiful swimming pool with Jacuzzi and high stream spot so you can swim in place, lovely designed beach beds around the pool, underground garage free of charge with direct access to the rooms in new elevator, and for the people who arrived without their own transport, they provide free air-conditioned hotel shuttle bus with driver.
The only thing that did not change (beside the kind hotel stuff, beautiful view, clean rooms and the most comfortable beds), is that they still serve the best food ever in their restaurant Lavrvus so even if you stay in some other place, you should definitely go their to taste that heavenly food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at Villa Kapetanovic for three days in early July 2011. As Croatia was our main destination on our "Eastern European" roadtrip, we wanted to make sure that our stay in Opatija would be a pleasant one. Based on the positive reviews on TA, we chose Villa Kapetanovic. We paid around 90 EUR per night (including breakfast) for a standard double room.

First of all, the hotel should really invest in a couple of additional signs to help guests find the place. The given address didn't really help much, as apparently dozens of houses seem to have the same house number. It took us quite a while trying to guess which alleyway we should check out. THere is also no hotel sign on the house itself (all the signs point to restaurant Laurus which is in the same building), which doesn't help either.

But when we finally found the right place, you could immediately tell that this is a more upscale place by the white "marble" staircase and classy interior design. As the hotel name says, it is basically a huge villa with a beautiful terrace overlooking the picturesque village and Mediterranean below. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and sunbathing area on their backyard, we didn't use it however as we were on the go most of our stay in Croatia.

It must also be said that having access to a car is almost a must, unless you intend to stay in Opatija (which is basically a small harbor village) for the whole stay. There are a LOT of steep winding roads, so running up and down between the hotel and the village might grow tiresome after a while. There was a lot of parking space next to the hotel and it was free!

The room was very nice with one of the best beds I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in on my travels! There are two types of rooms: ones overlooking the village/sea and others facing the "backyard" with the pool. As we were quite late in booking, unfortunately we had to settle for the more boring version. But if possible, be sure to choose a room with the sea view as it is truly awesome! It might also be worth mentioning that the rooms were very quiet, the air conditioning worked perfectly and was easy to use, but no minibar/refrigerator to keep your own drinks etc in!

Wi-fi was available but you had to pay for it (2,5 EUR / 24 hrs), which I found was strange for a hotel like this. They should definitely include wi-fi in the room price, as it is quite a pain to get new usernames/passwords every day! Additionally, the connection only works in one device at a time (not, for example, in a laptop and phone simultaneously).

The breakfast was excellent, and it was served on a terrace with a perfect view that was mentioned earlier! There were a lot of different breads/pastries to choose between, various fresh fruit and basically everything you could hope for in a good breakfast buffet. There were not a lot of hot options available, but you could ask for different kinds of scrambled eggs from the hotel chef for no extra charge!

We had the pleasure of meeting (what we assumed was) the owner at breakfast, a lovely lady who really made our day with her positive attitude! She really made us feel welcome and took good care of all the guests!

As a conclusion, this was probably one of the best hotel experiences I've had throughout the years! Even though this hotel was slightly pricier than our other hotels on our trip, it was definitely worth the extra euros! A beautiful hotel with excellent rooms, superb breakfast buffet with an amazing view as well as great service: what more can you ask for? There were a couple of minor issues that we feel would have made our stay even better (better directions/signs to the hotel, free wi-fi included in the room price), but you can't go wrong with Villa Kapetanovic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Upon arrival we were given a choice of a standard room in the new wing, overlooking the swimming pool at the back or a standard room in the old part of the hotel which was a little dated but still of a very good size and clean and with a beautiful view over the sea. We opted for the sea view as the room also had a balcony. The rooms in the new wing are beautifully finished but you'd really want one with a sea view which was an extra 20 euros per night. The new wing of the hotel was finished June 2011. Our room was perfectly ok but the air con was a bit temperamental and had a tendency to switch itself off of it's own accord!

It was lovely to be able to have a swim and relax by the pool at the end of the day. Without this facility, I would have said the hotel was a bit overpriced.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening as it had such good reviews. We chose the 4 course 'taster' menu and whilst it was good, it wasn't exceptionally good which is what we were expecting having read the reviews. We have had much better meals in other restaurants in Rab and Korcula which were half the price. To sum it up, it was a lot of money for what it was. Our waiter did his job but didn't really have much personality and never asked us how we found the meal and whether we enjoyed it. With the taster menu, you opt for a meat or fish selection. We went for the fish but specifically said we couldn't eat mussels or oysters and the first dish had oysters. The waiter just said 'your husband can eat this which I didn't think was really acceptable. They also overcharged us on our meal which we had to tell them about!

Ten owner/manager couldn't have been more helpful having said all this.

Room Tip: Standard room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our family of 5 (three small children) stayed in the family suite (room 30). The restaurant was having a grand opening party for their new wing when we showed up and the owner greeted us at the door and made sure we knew we were all welcome to join in...so we all did! There were dozens of people and a local Croatian folk band and platter after platter of delicious food. The kids had a great time and so did we. The owner and his family were gracious and made sure all the guests had fun. What a nice welcome!
They are happy to drive you into town, the included full breakfast buffet is good, and the staff is great. It was too cold to use the pool when we were there but it looks very nice. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We booked directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend-on-sea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We just stayed for two nights. We booked through Booking.com and did not realise it was on trip advisor. We have now read all through the other reviews and they all say what we would have said before we read them. It is a great place with great staff. The food is superb and nothing was too much trouble in any area. The hotel has wonderful views and the rooms are very comfortable. It was totally idyllic. However as it is up a hill a car is really a must.. Jeremy

Room Tip: The top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The hotel is situated at the top of the hill overlooking Opatija and Rijeka. You must have a car or be able to afford taxi if you stay here but as reward you get the best panoramic view.
The hotel is super-clean, staff is kind, friendly, they have nice wellness, rooms are cozy, beds offer extra sleeping time.........everything can be described with one word-top service!!!
But when it comes to the food in the restaurant......oh, the food.....I could write for days describing food they offer in the restaurant........it is the type of "slow food", pieces of art on the plate. You can't tell if it is better to look at or to taste. Their use "regular" food to transform it into most unusuall combinations good for eyes and great to eat. They have amazing choice of wine and skilled waitress who can recommend the best choice of wine with the food you eat. They do not have standard menu - menu changes from day to day, depending what fresh food they can offer that day. For instance, I had fresh shrimps with cheese from Pag and wild asparagus decorated in a way that made me feel bad to spoil to eat :)
And prices are regular prices you would pay for any other meal in any other restaurant eating steaks, pizza, fish......
Even if you stay in some hotel close to the sea, I recommend that you come to this hotel restaurant and enjoy their food masterpieces with a beutifull view from the restaurant terrace.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Kapetanovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kapetanovic

Address: Nova Cesta 12A, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Kapetanovic 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Kapetanovic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Kapetanovic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.