We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - we would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Ulica Marsala Tita, Opatija HR-51410, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - we would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our first hotel as part of a recent tour that took us to various places in Croatia, Slovenia and Venice, and in all, we stayed at six hotels. Hotel Bristol was a fine way to set the tone for the rest of the trip. It met all our expectations regarding cleanliness and comfort, has a friendly staff, a very good location, and we thought the food served at its dinner and breakfast buffets was better than average. Because of planned activities, we did not spend much time at the hotel. Our room faced the rear of the property, and we did not hear any street noise that other reviewers have complained about. Our only complaint here was that we could not adjust the room temperature with the controls and we needed to open the window to cool it down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
Be sure we will forward your nice words to our hotel staff, to keep them further motivated to offer only the best service to our guests!

We hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    108
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
104
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was average in size. Clean with comfortable beds. The hotel is located right on the main street that runs through town. Within a few minutes walk are restaurants, shops, supermarkets, tourist information, and the waterfront. The food at the hotel was very good. I had to go to the lobby to use the free WiFi, but it worked well there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this review.
We are glad you liked our rooms!
The central location of our hotel, surely is a benefit which many of our guests appreciate, we are glad you did too!
We are taking special care of the food in our hotel, having only the most quality ingredients, so we are delighted you enjoyed the food offer.
Usually the WiFi can be accessed in the whole hotel, it must have come to a network error if you couldn’t reach it from your room and we are sorry for the inconvenience.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Despite having the oddest room in the hotel (a corner in the back), this was a very nice hotel. Conveniently located with a nice cafe out front, the rooms were clean and well furnished. Our room had one window that looked out over the tennis bubble behind it and the other to the Opera hotel. The room was quiet but had a very odd layout. It was also one of the few without a view or a balcony! All in all the hotel was quite nice & the staff helpful. Could not get an appointment at the spa because it was fully booked but that happens. A wonderful walk through the Angiolina Park across the street which also house the Croatian Museum of Tourism.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this review.
We are glad you liked our Cafe Palme and the central location of our hotel, it surely is a benefit when the centar of Opatija is close to you. Our staff is our biggest capital, so we are glad you recognized their professionalism.
We are sorry you couldn’t get an appointment at our SPA, you surely would enjoy it! We would recommend booking your SPA appointments in advance, so you would ensure your dose of relaxation.
Regarding the room, we would suggest telling our reservation department all of your preferences in advance, so we could make sure you enjoy your room as much you enjoyed the rest of the hotel!

We hope to welcome you once again at our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Two nights here, good for moving about the town and park. Breakfast and dinner only ok. The room was small. Spa sauna was good, massage services ok. Staff very friendly. Clean, ok for passing through without much desire to spend time in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this review.
We are glad you liked the location of our hotel, which is in the heart of Opatija, across the beautiful park Angiolina. The SPA area, is an area we invest a lot in with new treatments and innovations, so we are glad you were satisfied with it. Our staff is our biggest capital, that would do anything in their power to provide our guests with the most perfect holidays, so it is our pleasure that you were satisfied with them.

We hope we can welcome you once again to even further improve the impressions you have of our hotel!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Gate 1 Tout, the hotel was very nice. The food in the Hotel Restaurant was very good and very reasonable. The Hotel is centrally located to the main part of town for shopping , fining and walks along the Adriatic Sea. Rooms were clean and we had a balcony overlooking the Main Street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!
We are glad you liked our hotel and food. We do invest a lot of effort and take care of the food quality, so our guests could enjoy only the best meals to start their day with.
The central location of the hotel surely is an advantage, which many of our guests do recognize, and enjoy in its benefits. We are glad you did too!

We hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It looks like a wedding cake with Austrian decor. Very pretty, but no substance. I've stayed in Times Square hotels in NYC and they were quieter than this hotel. NO SOUNDPROOFING!
The beds are as hard as rocks. The noise, it's like camping in a tent. I was in room 321
Why did I have 4 bottle of mositure lotion & no shampoo in the bathroom? What's that about?
The drapes may have been sent out for cleaning- since there wasn't any. Old TV, mini bar, safe in rooms, free Wifi in rooms. I had a very unfriendly bar tender. The lobby has no chairs or sofa.

I didn't get any sleep here at all.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into sending us this review.
We suggest for your next booking to ask for quiet rooms in the back side of the hotel.
Regarding the body lotion and drapes in your room, be sure we will check with our housekeeping department how it came to this, and take necessary measures in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We are sorry you didn't report this on the reception right away; our colleagues would surely do everything they can to make your stay more pleasant. Are stuff is our biggest capital, and they are usually high recommended from our guests, so we are sorry you had an uncomfortable experience with our bar tender. We will do some additional check on that, and provide our stuff with extra training so we would keep on providing all of our guests with excellent service.

We hope we can accommodate you once again, and have the chance to improve your first impressions of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is very nice, the location is simply excellent and all the staff is very helpful, we were travelling with children and I can classify the hotel as "family friendly". We took the half board option but I would sincerely not recommended, it is quite average and most of dishes have garlic on it, even plane rice, which for me was a problem since I am allergic so it was a waist of money. I am also vegetarian and there were not a lot of options for vegetarians and couldn' t even eat the veggies or rice due to my allergy so I ended up being served separately every night, which was a good solution but needed to be requested and suggested.

For all the rest, good hotel, great breakfast with a wide choice on pastries, eggs, sausages and juices, very well organized. The bar is very nice and comfy, we usually sat there during evenings after dinner, very nice. During weekends live music will play.

I would overall, recommend this property. The parking will always be a problem, but this is a problem in the whole of Opatija, I would not blame the hotel for that, they have few parking places to offer but they will try their best to accommodate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time invested into writing this review.
We are glad you liked the hotel, our location and staff. Regarding the half board feedback, we would like to recommend you to always let us know your preferences in advance so we could adapt to your needs on time.
We take special care of all the ingredients and food available at our breakfast buffet, carefully selecting and preparing it, so our guests can start their day full of energy.
We love to surprise our guests with live music or events in our hotel, and we are glad you took advantage of this, and enjoyed the nights.

We hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 108 Ulica Marsala Tita, Opatija HR-51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Opatija
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#3 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#5 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#7 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury hotel in the centre of Opatija offers unique experience of vacation with historical flair. Built in 1906, the Hotel Bristol is a shining example of Opatija original grandeur. Enjoy the exclusive charm and discreet atmosphere of 78 elegant rooms and suites, the restaurant and the Viennese-style coffeehouse with a sunny terrace. Relax in the Spa & beauty area, an oasis of tranquillity and privacy, and enjoy a wide selection of massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Opatija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.