We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old seaside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsala Tita 135, Opatija 51410 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Opatija
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great old seaside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a "Superior room" and it seems that gets you a sea view. Our double room was nice and big with views across to the islands. We booked bed and breakfast but it turned out that the buffet dinner each evening was included. Staff all seem to speak English, Italian, German and Croatian. Very impressive! Enjoyed the happy hour in the bar - cheapest cocktails I ever had. Buffet dinners were good, lots of variety and very good wine waiters. The hotel "beach" is more like a concrete harbourside. OK for sunbeds but no sand or even stones. Sea was COLD in September! This hotel is about half way along the 12 km promenade that follows the coast in Opatija. We walked it one way one morning then the other way next day. Oh, and they do charge for car parking - 10 Euros a night.

Room Tip: Go for superior room and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for the 4 nights whilst in Opatija. I would say it was nice enough although the interior could do with updating.
It was spacious enough for my partner and I although the first room we had was pretty small and over-looked the street, it was probably better suited to a single person. It also adopted an unpleasant smell in the bathroom, we mentioned this without requesting to be moved as it had gotten better after a few hours and the receptionist called us when we came back to our room several hours later to advise they had another room if we would like to look at it and may be take it if we were happy. As it turned out the new one was much larger and had a sea view.
The bathroom was nice and had a decent shower.
The air conditioning whilst wasn't an issue for us may bother some as it didn't appear be able to go very cold, so hotter summer months may prove uncomfortable and can be a little noisy but I suppose it depends on how deeply you sleep.
The food served at breakfast was the usual fare; bread, cold meats, cheese etc but also had cereal and fruit which was nice to have on the pleasant outside eating area over looking the sea.
Wi-fi in the rooms was hit-and-miss. Constantly dropping and proved quite frustrating at times but the reception area was fine if you're happy to sit there for a bit.
Overall I'd say it was decent enough, not ground breaking but was reasonably comfortable for a few nights and not too expensive. If you hire a car though you'll have difficulty parking

Room Tip: As for a sea view if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Kristal hotel is located in the center of Opatija, near the sea. I got a room for one person and I can say that it is very small. There little old television with a poor image, air conditioning was so loud that it is almost not usable. The whole hotel does not deserve four stars for a maximum of three stars. The hotel is clean but should be renovated. Breakfast is not bad but it was all on the level of the hotel with three stars. The hotel is inexpensive compared with other four-star hotel in Opatija, but is significantly wors.

If this review help you choose or do not choose this hotel please leave a helpful vote.

Room Tip: Take see side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Went here first on a 2 centre package - a week was about ideal for us here. Upgrading to a sea view on a package is expensive. it's a clean hotel in an excellent position. we originally intended to hire a car for the fortnight but parking in Opatija is crazy, as are the hotel charges for it. We got by well without a car for a week. Our room was fine, a nice size, but none have balconies. It looks like they reworked the hotel to include balconies within the room as the internal design was odd. The air con was noisy, but essential. There's wifi. Staff were ok & cleaning staff friendly. We breakfasted and ate our evening meal on the patio as it was coolest. You could always get a seat for breakfast there but had to go earlyish to get a table in the evening. Food was typical for this type of hotel and average to poor. Typical breakfast fare with powder base juice, cereals, limited fruit, breads meats & cheeses, cakes & pastries and of course hot food if you dared. Evening meal had 2 soups(1 clear[dishwater?]), salad bits, breads, choice of various hot meals, some fruit, cakes and 2 ice creams. Lots of fishy dishes and rice. Hot meals varied, the rest didn't. The house wine was fine. Service was variable to slow. We tended to go early as what was there tended to stay there all night. Cant understand why they let guest reserve tables outside on the edge, especially as frequently they're either not used or people turn up well late. As expected in this area the sunbathing area was free padded beds on concrete. Service was good. Get there or reserve(!) early if you want a seaside spot ;-) bathing was brilliant - straight off the side into deep clear refreshing water with a nice shower when you got out. The bar by the hotel does excellent ice cream and drinks and they're very friendly. We went for lots of walks around, all nice. A boat trip is also a good idea - we went on a fish picnic to 2 local islands and it was a great day out. go west and it's quieter, cheaper and beautiful. East is through the town and very busy at times, but get through it and it becomes nicer. Nice parks around. Night time is busy. We were ready to leave after a week and glad we'd not got a car.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

well located water front hotel in opatija. good value, great facilities, lots of rooms. gets quite hot with the morning sun, aircon can be noisy. no carpark, but you can park 1km away and they'll take you there and back. the water front area is great, but wouldnt be good for kids, as its just a concrete ledge, there is a small beach along the water in town more. in the evening there is a lot going on near the hotel which can be loud. but not too bad.

Room Tip: single rooms are very narrow, more than large enough for one though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Soth Wales
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel was well located to all central attractions. The room was large and very clean with daily maid service. The hotel had all the services one would expect from a modern hotel with the added advantage of an indoor pool. The food was plentiful and well prepared, the selection was consistant offering, cereals, pastries, and hot food. Guests choosing to eat breakfast outside on the patio were constantly being pesterd by pigeons, this was not dealt with very well and seemed to be accepted as the norm, we only ate outside on our first day, subsequently, we ate indoors which was a shame because the weather was glorious.
Unfortunately, the only reason I did not give this hotel full marks is the level of customer service. Specifically, there was no urgency to attend to visitors booking in or anywhere to leave luggage in the interim period. This seemed a typical attitude in a small amount of other establishments in Opatija however, most were pleasant and seemed eager to offer best customer service. There was a car park attached to hotel which was chargeable daily, it was only small therefore securing a parking slot was a matter of sheer luck and required some ingenious manoevering skills. There was a private sunbathing facility with umbrella, sunbeds and an outside jacuzzi, this area became very full, so again be early to secure the best spot.
As the atmosphere and the service were not all that great in the hotel, we frequented the Stella Cafe Bar next to the hotel on the promenade. The cafe bar served excellent ice cream, cocktails and beers and snacks, but the best thing was the friendly customer service and an eagerness to chat with customers.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a sea view, it makes all the differnce
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Visiting Opatija every year since 2006 and seeing improvement every year. In Kristal hotel have stayed now for the third time and was very pleased with the upgrade. First of all sunny beds for hotel guests at the concrete mole are free of charge now. Free wifi available everywhere in the hotel is also a plus. The rooms and the cleaning service are at their usual good standard. The view from sea side rooms is amazing and during night sleeping with opened windows without air condition helps a good sleep. Food (had just breakfast) shows no big improvement but still OK. For excellent dining visit Pizzeria Roko at M. Tita 114 - one of the busiest (best) restaurant in Opatija. Booking place in advance at the gate is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side recommended. Not that expensive compared to street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal

Address: Marsala Tita 135, Opatija 51410 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#17 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal Opatija is a sea lover's dream come true. Built on the banks of the Adriatic and along the Lungomare coastal promenade, the sights, scents and sounds of the crystal clear water are inescapable. The spectacular views of the Adriatic are everywhere. From the seafront rooms to the restaurant's terrace to the private beach, the beauty of the Mediterranean is never far away. Over half of Kristal's 130 rooms boast views of Kvarner Bay and its islands, an inspiring scene to wake up to each morning. The beach is furnished with new deckchairs, parasols and whirlpool and provides a wonderful escape for a sun-soaked, relaxing day. Other features such as the SPA zone and indoor pool with heated seawater push the four-star accommodation to another level of splendor. Also equipped with conference and banquet facilities and close to the center of town, it is no wonder Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal is one of the top destinations in Opatija. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Opatija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remisens Revital Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.