We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice vintage hotel - Hotel Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsala Tita 144/148, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Liburnia Palace Bellevue Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Split, Croatia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location, nice vintage hotel - Hotel Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all be aware that this is actually 2 hotels. Hotel Palace which is renoveted and which I recommend and hotel Belleuve which is stucked in time. This is true 3 star hotel. Furniture in rooms bit old but ok, nice bathrooms.

Hotel PALACE:

+ Pros: great location (couldnt be better), our room was huge, nice balcony, polite and friendy staff, great breakfast, nice heated indoor pool (30C), great value (I got it half of regular price in May), renovated bathroom.

- Cons: limited parking space (you pay 10€ per day), indoor pool is open only till 18.30 (it should be till 22h), many obstacles if you have child and strollers, furniture in room, no mini bar and AC.

Room Tip: If you want fantastic view try to get see/street side. If you want peace and quite than ask back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    61
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
58
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kragujevac, Serbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Interesting, old hotel. Rooms are spacious, with high ceilings and classical furniture. Staff is polite. Food was excellent - wide variety of dishes for every meal and there were always several local dishes. However, waiters were not very kind and sometimes even loud. One of the best features of the hotel is pool with warm sea water, which was always very clean. We could use towels, several showers and locker rooms. Guests are mostly older couples and hotel organizes animation programs in the evening (not very interesting). It is located in the center of Opatija very close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As other reviewers had noted, this hotel has 2 hotels -- Bellevue + Palace. Hotel Palace is the one to the right (when facing the 2 hotels) and that's where I stayed for 3 nights in August 2012. The breezy lobby with a big balcony facing the sea is very grand and this is the only spot where guests get WiFi access. I got a room facing the mountain, but could still hear the music from hotel balcony or nearby clubs late into the night. The loud music seems to be typical of seaside resort towns in high season. Having previously stayed at seaside resort towns in Italy, France, and Croatia, I consider the evening free music part of the charm of seaside resort towns. As a traveler who frequently stayed in 5-star hotels all over the world for over a decade, I was quite happy with my big and clean simply-furnished double room with balcony, modern bathroom, comfortable beds, and good linen. There was no air conditioning, but a cool breeze blew right through the room if I kept the door open a bit. The extravagant breakfast buffet (at Hotel Bellevue's very grand dining room) was as good as many 5-star hotel's breakfast buffet. Opatije is a really lovely seaside resort town catering mostly to German and Russian tourists. This town has everything for a long stay -- lots of good swimming spots, clear blue-green water, beautiful seaside promenade connecting several towns, a main street with lots of good restaurants, shops, and a couple of Konzum (Croatian supermarket chain), lot of places to sit down, clean, and safe into the night. Seafood in the restaurants is overall very good and cost a lot less than in Italy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are on the same side as the balcony where loud music plays in the evening durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First of all, this is two hotels marketed as one. There is the Hotel Bellevue which I cannot review because we stayed in the Hotel Palace next door. This could explain some of the previous reviews which led me to believe it was going to be a good choice for my husband and me.

The Hotel Palace is an old fashioned hotel with very high ceilinged rooms, but no air conditioning. Normally not a problem, this becomes important when the heat in the range of 40 degrees celsius. So if you are traveleing in the heat of August, keep this in mind. We would have opened the window at night, but the noise from the weekend entertainment and the streets made it impossible to sleep. Bring earplugs if you choose this hotel.

The hotel is worn and in need of major renovation. The staff is capable, but dismissive.

We were unimpressed with the housekeeping staff. We stayed here for two nights and our room was not vaccuumed during that time. The same debris that was on the floor when we arrived was there when we departed. Our bed was straightened, but the sheets were not changed (and there was no information about being 'green', so we feel this should have been done).

Additionally, for future travelers, you should know that there is no electrical outlet in the bathroom and no wireless or internet access if that is important to you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is an old fashion hotel, in the good sense.
The rooms are big - we stayed 5 people in one room (two adults and 3 children).
Big Bath, lovely view of the beach.
The breakfast is rich.
Excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The building is great and still speaks of the aristocracy luxury of 100 years ago. Very well located, in the dead center of this beautiful pitoresque city on the Northern Riviera, with a fantastic view in almost all rooms.
The downside: no A/C in the rooms, we booked a double and got a twin (and I'm not the first, by what I read here), the furniture is very old and worn out. NO parking space, and every public parking is paid!
Nevertheless, the staff is quite nice and the breakfast is on a nice varanda.
The worst: the cleaniness was not that good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for a night on the way to Trieste from Plitvice... but wished we had spent some more time in Opatija which is a pretty and picturesque resort on the Adriatic coast. The hotel was huge with an elaborate reception area. But, in comparison, our room was quite small and dark, with not much space to move around and no view. At the same time, it was good value for what we paid... more than made up by the sumptuous breakfast and the superb location. It was on the main promenade across the sea and the bus stop to Trieste was right across the corner. Overall, a good stay !

Room Tip: A room with a view please, which I am sure this hotel would have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija

Address: Marsala Tita 144/148, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Liburnia Palace Bellevue Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding style, Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija is a historic property located in the center of Opatija. The hotel is an elegant structure, boasting classy interior, high ceilings and unrivaled Adriatic Sea views in its 209 rooms and suites. Visually stunning, the hotel rises above and stands out along Opatija's main street, creating a skyline worthy of landmark status in the city. Despite its old charm, hotel Palace Opatija offers contemporary facilities - such as the indoor swimming pool with heated sea water - for a perfect blend of past and present. Popular for its entertainment venue, the hotel has a dancing terrace. Add in the fact it is just steps from Slatina, the most centrally-located beach in the city, and the Palace Bellevue hotel in Opatija occupies a position that is nearly impossible to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palace Bellevue
Palace Bellevue Opatija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Bellevue Opatija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.