We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laurus

Laurus
Nova Cesta 12A | Hr-51410 Volosko, Opatija, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 restaurants in Opatija
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is is part of Villa Kapetanovic which is listed on TA
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The choice of the restaurant was guided by tripadvisor reviews. However, even if the service was excellent (languages spoken italian, english, deutch & nice staff), the dishes are not so sofisticated as shown on website's photos. The food is good but nothing special. The terrace has a really great view. 30€/pers for 1 apetizer + 1 main dishes + 1 coffee. Expensive compared to competitors in the area. Easy to find by car, on the top of Opatija city. Really famous in the zone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    37
    16
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We heard for that restaurant a year ago from our colleagues, who spend their holidays in Croatia. They were really excited about excellent food and hospitality of that restaurant. That was the reason we had to visit it as well. Our friends really did not exaggerate, everything what we ate was gorgeous. It is quite normal to get frozen sea food at restaurants by the sea coast, but here all the food was soo fresh.
I really have to mention another thing as well. I do not have right words for a spectacular view from their terrace. You can be there also alone, just you with yourself and fresh sea air.
We will visit that restaurant again, for sure, next holidays...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Heavenly food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

You know those great cooking channels where you see top chefs prepare delicious food that tastes great and looks like a piece of art on plate? Well, in this restaurant you can actually eat such masterpieces for a good price. They treat food with respect and actually put a lot of thoughts into its preparation. They use their brain while cooking it and artistic gift when arranging the plate. Even "ordinary" meals like risotto, pasta…have that very special touch that makes it sooooo different than same meals in any other restaurant for the same, if not cheaper price. Imagine than what is it like with fish, sea food, steaks…it looks like the chef is challenged with every order you make and gives his creativity full blast to satisfy every guest individually. And you are not limited only to the menu, you can improvise, you can ask them to improvise, whatever you feel like. I came with husband and three kids (baby, 8 and 12 year old) and they adjusted meal to each child. When I asked my son, the fussiest one with food, what was his meal like, he said: "It was so good, I even eat all zucchini and you know much I hate it".
In addition, I must mention great sea view from the terrace, friendly but professional waiters and bread basket with at least 4 different types of home made bread, great variety of wine and most amazing and unusual palette of sweets to give your stomach final enjoyment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simplicity and Style together in perfect harmony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Sometimes dreams come true..., we was searching for an exclusive restaurant in Opatija , we ask our Navigationsystem in our car and one of the adresses was the Restaurant Laurus at the Villa Kapetanovic Hotel, since that day I love my Navigationsystem.
First of all you`re staying in front of an great mixture between classic and modern , than you turn around and in front of you ...the best view over Opatija, the adriatic sea, the Islands....just fantastic, and very important no parking problems, so you can enter relaxed the complex.
You enter the restaurant, very stylisch but not overloaded you can feel a positive atmosphere. It´s not usual to see plenty of people working with a smyle , but here it is normality.
We decide to sit outside to enjoy that great view and to smell the herbs growing around.
The first look on the Menue show us that we are in croatia and we get croatian food, great. It´s not easy to decide with all that delicious dishes, we ask the owner , Mr. Kapetanovic what he will suggest, sometimes this is the best way to get an excellent meal...and we get an unforgetable meal...first of all we start with an in front of us prepared Tartar...simple but with the perfect mixture, home baked bread , home made butter...without words. The second Plate fresh Tuna , also easy but with an explosion of tastings in your mouth , also the Beef with truffle just great.
The Wine , Roxanich superistrian, one of the best I ever get...incredible.
Finaly the desserts , a perfect finish for that unfoprgetable afternoon in that wonderful restaurant.
If you really want to eat excellent for a normal price, without to much " chichi" ,is this your first adress in Opatija, an autentique and excellent croatian Restaurant .
Hope to be there soon again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food with amazing view (tip for summer dinners at the terrace)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Laurus restaurant is a part of Villa Kapetanovic hotel above the Volosko village. I was there couple of times when stayed at the hotel. Quite a positive surprise it was! We tried fish and another time meat menu, and it was fabolous! Last time we tried labstors spaghetti, in fact they have live labstors in aquarium, so more fresh it can not be!
Also you should try "slow food" menu with different dishes, gnochi with scampi especially!

I overally recommend this restaurant, especially in spring and summer time because of its fabolous cuisine and amazing view from the terrace.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurus also viewed

Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Laurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.