We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL IVOIRE REOPENS ITS DOORS, BEST PLACE IN THE CITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire to your Saves list
Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Hassan II 08 Bp 01 Cocody- Abidjan 08 Cote d'Ivoire | 08 Bp 01, Cocody, Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Abidjan
Pleboulle, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“HOTEL IVOIRE REOPENS ITS DOORS, BEST PLACE IN THE CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hi everyone,

We were staying in this hotel during the festive season, it was a great experience. As we understood hotel reopens in December 2011, so everything is new and fresh there.

Lobby: On our arrival we were offered a welcome drinks and check in went very well, the stqff is very professional and friendly.

Room: The room is simply amazing. Spacious, design is very modern and contemporary, nice furniture, bed is very comfortable, pillows are amazing. Bathroom is spacious and have nice amenities.Unfortunately we didnt try room service so i cant share the experience.

Le Toit d’Abidjan Restaurant: This restaurant can claim name of the best restaurant in Abidjan, view from restaurant is stunning, you can see all the city Abidjan from there. Food is delicious and a good wine card,also they have a lounge there where you can have aperitif while waiting your friends.

Pili-Pili Restaurant: This is the place where we celebrated our New Year Party. Was very well decorated, staff was very polite and fast so we have no need to wait for our food or drinks, everything was in time, despite that the restaurant was full. And of course we were very lucky to see the best firework of the city from there. There was also live entertainment, all songs were nice and band was interacting with the guests. About food- very very delicious. We heard that they are plannign to create aa Saturday Brunch, we are looking forward to this, because it would be the best place to spend your weekend.

So we reccomend this place to everybody who planning to visit Abidjan or planning to have a nice dining.

Thank you for this wonderfull experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    82
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
10
16
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

For years now the Interconti was pretty much the only safe place you could stay in Abidjan, some of the time even guarded by blue helmets. The rooms are large featuring local style furniture, with large bathrooms and all amenities needed. Restaurants and bars within the hotel are OK but rather on the expensive side. Beware of some ladys, accompanied by a grim looking bodyguard, knocking on your door in the middle of the night and offering special services.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

the view of the pool area is excellent
variety of cuisine is great
hospitality and decor is auhentically african and the hotel is particularly spaciuos (rooms and public areas)

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

I stayed here in 2001 for a couple of days and then moved out to the Hotel Tiama, which is great.

The Ivoire was once the place to stay in Abidjan. It is a massive complex with everything from a casino, ice skating rink (not working), bowling alley (not working), cinema, shopping mall, supermarket, nightclub, tennis courts, conference hall etc. etc.
The problem is that it is state owned and has been run down so harldy any of the facilities work. Intercontinental used to run it but they gave up.

The pool which surrounds the hotel is empty, but there are two other pools which you can swim in and a large garden. The rooms like the rest of the hotel are sorely in need of maintenance. Mine was disgusting with cigarette burns in the carpet and bedding and a generally decaying smell. The aircon was useless. On the plus side the views are great if you are on a high floor. Service is appalling and in room thefts are common. The mini bars are not stocked and room service takes forever. The food is almost acceptable but one time we ate there 3-4 of our party ended up in hospital so caveat emptor.

The Ivoire is also the preferred (free) lodging of the president's xenophobic personal militia and other unsavoury types, so security is of the Kalashnikov variety.

All that said, the lobby of the Ivoire is an interesting place to go for a drink, people watch and discuss how messed up Africa can get.
However, on no account should you actually stay there!

  • Liked — views, faded splendour
  • Disliked — service, cleanliness, security
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2006

I stayed at the Ivoire over the Christmas period in the tower end. The room was in need of refurbishment, it was comfortable, however not to the standard of a four star hotel.

The service at the Cafe restaurant in the hotel was appalling to say the least. Waiters took their time to take your order, and then when they did, your food didn't turn up until 45 minutes later despite there not being so many customers to serve. At times I was given the wrong order and food was substitued when something was not available without asking the customer.

The larger pool was empty, and the smaller only for children. The whole atmosphere in the hotel was depressing except when there was a function/event on, in which case there were other people to be seen, else it is a too big a hotel with not enough guests, which made it feel abandoned.

  • Stayed December 2003, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire

Address: Boulevard Hassan II 08 Bp 01 Cocody- Abidjan 08 Cote d'Ivoire | 08 Bp 01, Cocody, Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Phone Number:
Location: Cote d'Ivoire > Lagunes Region > Abidjan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Abidjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel blends French luxury with African charm in this unique international hotel in Abidjan. Overlooking the Ebrie lagoon and the Plateau, this luxury hotel on the Ivory Coast rises majestically over an idyllic setting of water and floraThe iconic Hotel Ivoire, built by Moshe Mayer in 1963 and beautifully renovated in 2011, will envelop you with its contemporary atmosphere and fiery colors. African art and cocoa add a touch of the exotic to your stay on the Ivory Coast. Relax in the friendly atmosphere at the Bar du Lac and indulge in one of the delicious cocktails. The hotel has six modern conference rooms equipped with high-tech audiovisual equipment.There's no better place for romantic evenings and business dinners than the Toit d'Abidjan restaurant, with authentic French cuisine and an unforgettable view from the 23rd floor. You can also sample international dishes and freshly-made cocktails.The nearby Abidjan Conference Center hosts a range of events. The auditorium seats 1650 people, and there are 7 rooms and numerous high-quality services to help make your meeting a success.209 rooms including 41 suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.