We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Abidjan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Abidjan to your Saves list
Novotel Abidjan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue du General de Gaulle | 01 BP 3718, Abidjan 3718, Cote d'Ivoire   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Accor weekend offer
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Abidjan
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    46
    71
    37
    25
See reviews for
1
3
15
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a what you get for about 200 USD a night:
In your room : Stinky and dirty carpet. Safe out of order. Curtains with holes. Very old furniture. Bed lining completely worn out. I asked to change room. It s the same thing in all rooms.
Common services include: Erratic internet, elevators often out of order, breakfast food quality questionable. Staff is so underpaid and not enough in number, service virtually does not work.

This hotel has only thing in mind: Maximize their profit and rip you off.

A shame for the Novotel brand

Room Tip: Ban this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalila_NOVOTEL, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Abidjan, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience @ the Novotel Abidjan. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I wish to confirm that all your comments have been communicated to Technical & the General Manager.
For your information, a new welcome process for our Accor host will be implemented very soon @ the Novotel Abidjan.Furthermore, I am pleased to announce that we will begin a full refurbishment of the hotel started this summer & we will get the new room with new equipment.
Please, give us the chance to welcome you back @ the Novotel for your next trip in Abidjan to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been staying at Novotel, Abidjan for many years and not much has changed. Choice of star rated hotels are limited in Abidjan - so have to stay at the Novotel as it is company provided. I understand there are many smaller boutique type hotels in Abidjan which are owned and run by some expatriates and these are located in residential areas within Abidjan - they are supposed to bring a homely touch and appear nore comfortable.

Novotel Abidjan appears to have revised it's breakfast menu with much more choice offered now - just been for breakfast on the first day back and hope this continues. The internet in the room us slow and gets disconnected from time tto time but I guess this is the case in most places. The room was clean and tidy and spacious - all rooms are the standard size I think at Novotel.

Room Tip: Request for lagoon view rooms as the city view room would show you a new building across the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalila_NOVOTEL, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Abidjan, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments & to tell us about your experience @ the Novotel Abidjan & I will share your support to the staff. However, I am terribly sorry about the Wireless Connection & I would like to inform you that very soon, we will upgrade our Internet connection to avoid the disconnection.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
I am also pleased to announce that we will begin a full refurbishment of the hotel started this summer… & we are still open during this period.
Hope have the chance to welcome you soon @ the Novotel for your next trip in Abidjan!..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed there 7 days this time. Unfortunately one of the only choices you have in Abidjan. That is why. Was upgraded as a gold member, however it seems all rooms in same condition on all floors.
Internet still on low speed or NO speed in the rooms. In the lobby it is usable, but why not give the sleeping guests the advantage of same speed in the room. No changes to the be behavior of the reception staff. I booked for the shuttle bus, and was told it would be there in time. After 30 minutes it was not there. A guest next to me offered me his transport as he should go with his own car. The reception staff just laughed and said "it is coming - it is coming" - not offering a taxi or other solution. Breakfast still the same, average with with cooked bacon, giving a bad smell of old pork when the pot is opened. Coming late to breakfast = less selection, as they have run out of for instance cheese. Swimming pool and terrace are good places, same the service in the lobby bar. Book your room online via Trivago or Accor Hotels own website to obtain the best rates = 30% less than the rack rates.

Room Tip: Book online via Trivago or Accor Hotels own website to obtain the best rates = 30% less than the rac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Abidjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Abidjan

Address: 10 Avenue du General de Gaulle | 01 BP 3718, Abidjan 3718, Cote d'Ivoire
Phone Number:
Location: Cote d'Ivoire > Lagunes Region > Abidjan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Abidjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Abidjan 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Abidjan is a 4 star hotel located alongside the Ebrie Lagoon right in the heart of the business district of Abidjan, which is known as the Plateau. The hotel features 176 rooms, 20 apartments, a restaurant, a bar, a business centre, seven conference rooms for meetings and seminars, a car park and an outdoor swimming pool. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Abidjan. The hotel provides a free transfer service to the airport, 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Abidjan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abidjan Novotel
Novotel Abidjan Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Abidjan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.