We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Inn to your Saves list
Blue Bay Inn
51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716   |  
Hotel amenities
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good local hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

nice local place, great alternative to a chain hotel, try Copper Canyon next door for dinner and drinks, I think owned by same people. Only stayed one night. Located on the main street in Atlantic Highlands

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
43
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found atlantic highlands in the autumn to be stunning. Bight blue skies against autumn leaves, beautiful marina and brightly painted wooden houses all decorated for Halloween. Blue bay inn is situated on the Main Street and close to the marina, beach and ferry to Manhattan. We stayed in a lovely spacious room with great, what feels like, feather beds. No breakfast facility but plenty of tea, coffee or iced lemon water. The Copper Canyon, southwestern restaurant, is the blue inns official restaurant and tequila bar. We had an amazing Mexican meal. Tequila is not my favourite the but the wines were very good. We had traditional breakfasts at Sissy's on the marina that was delightful. Our visit to New Jersey also included Cape May for a whale watching trip. Wonderful trip where we saw dolphins but the whales were too shy. Would come back again and stay in same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Springs, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed recently with my brother..we needed to be in town for family business. We both grew up in the area and now live in other states. Since we were only staying 2 nights,it was very nice to stay somewhere clean quiet and close to where we needed to be. All the staff was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great hotel with lovely, attentive staff. The hotel was clean, comfortable, walkable to everything and had restaurants and a wonderful bar next door. There are fishing charters within waking distance, high speed ferry to Manhattan and we loved it. The only reason I don't give five stars is because I do think it is a bit overpriced for a hotel without a pool, but worth paying if only a few nights.

Room Tip: Loved 201 as a suite, had small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I went hunting for a good hotel near the beaches and we found this one. It's great!! Some reviewers have mentioned that for the price, amenities should be higher, but the reality is that Blue Bay is charging market rates for the shore during the summer. The front desk was helpful and flexible, allowing us to store luggage after we'd checked out. And the rooms were comfortable, the bed fantastic. The room was clean and the restaurant next door was excellent. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our expectations were really high for the Blue Bay Inn because of the price and location.

In many ways, they met them. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is clean. The one bedroom suite was spacious and clean. We loved that you could get a variety of fresh brewed coffee and tea 24/7 in the lobby.

In many ways the Blue Bay Inn was excellent, we just expected a little more for our money since their were minor things in the room that needed replacing.

With that being said, we would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

In my visit to the Atlantic Highlands I was very pleased with the amenities of the Blue Bay Inn! First of all the mini town was really relaxing and so comforting! Everyone was so nice! The night that we went Copper Canyon was closed, but we absolutely love that place as well! It is so convenient that the hotel is just a door away from that excellent restaurant! My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves and were pleased with the staff at the blue bay inn. we definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn

Address: 51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716
Location: United States > New Jersey > Atlantic Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atlantic Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Atlantic Highlands, the Blue Bay Inn is the perfect place to indulge yours desires. Within two blocks, there are 12 restaurants, a movie theatre, a playhouse, upscale boutiques, spas, hair salons, artisan shops, a coffee house and the Seastreak ferry which luxuriously shuttles back and forth to Manhattan in 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Atlantic Highlands
Blue Bay Atlantic Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.