We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Bay Inn
51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716   |  
Hotel amenities
CT, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had booked a hotel in Sea Bright for a Labor Day 3 night stay so that we could enjoy the beaches at Sandy Hook. We found that accommodation on Friday night a disaster,and checked out as soon as we could on Saturday Morning. (More on that on another review).
Fortunately, we were able to Google up the Blue Bay Inn while at the beach on Saturday afternoon and confirm reservations for Saturday and Sunday Night. It was the only place we could find during the Holiday week-end with availability. It's a bit pricey compared to the other hotels in the area but we needed the room to continue our Holiday. The price for the two nights w/taxes $680.96 with no AAA or AARP discounts allowed because of the Holiday week-end?? The hotel is a short distance from Sandy Hook right off Rte #36 on First Ave.
When we arrived we were welcomed by a delightful gal who took care of assigning a room for us on the second floor. The lobby was so quiet I thought I was in a Funeral Parlor, but the desk clerk assured us the Hotel was busy and as a result we had to accept two double beds for our stay. That was not a problem. The room was wonderful,clean comfortable,large, and it seemed newly furnished. The result was two wonderful quiet nights rest. If we had a concern about the hotel it was that we were unaware there was a Restaurant available for breakfast or a light meal. The desk should have mentioned it and there were no signs of it being open while we were there. (I just found out by reading another travelers review)There is however a great Southwestern Restaurant open for dinner, try the steak. Unfortunately, it was not open on Sunday so we had to travel a bit to find dinner on Sunday night. They do have a lounge in the restaurant that opens after 6:PM, we didn't check that out. The area seems safe with a small town atmosphere and has several places to dine, it even has a movie theater. We walked the street on Saturday night after dinner and ended up down at The Marina where the NYC ferry docks. It was a pleasant night. We'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
42
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is always surprising how few hotels are around Sandy Hook! I was lucky to be able to book a room in the last moment. It is very nicely maintained hotel; you can walk to the Harbor - live music every night! Bed was comfortable, service was there when we needed it( and invisible when we did not need it) Restaurant downstairs is another Gem - i will write another review on it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the blue bay inn on a Saturday night in the middle of the summer. Great staff, very helpful with dinner reservations. The room was not huge but big enough for a couple. The bed however was the absolute most comfortable bed, we had the best night sleep. Inn was very quiet, we did not hear noise from the street or inside the hotel. Very relaxing night stay, we will definately be back. Very convenient for Sandy Hook beach area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have family that live in New Jersey (Toms River, Freehold and Red Bank) and have been visiting there for years. Let me say at the outset, it is not one of my favorite places. The traffic and density of population seemed to diminish my travel experiences there. However, on a recent trip my wife and I stayed at the Blue Bay Inn in the Atlantic Highlands. It was great. You take a turn off of one of New Jersey's "jug handles" and find yourself on First Avenue, a neat "downtown" street, kind of a throwback to the pre-mall past. The Blue Bay is located a short distance from the turn. Parking is in the municipal lot just behind the Inn and is free. The Inn is visually appealing and our room was huge and very tastefully decorated.
The location provides a great way to visit New York City--by ferry. Turn left after leaving the lobby and walk about 5 minutes to the ferry terminal. A modern ferry takes you to just south of the South Street Seaport. We explored lower Manhattan for the day and took the afternoon ferry back. Also at the ferry is a bar and restaurant looking out over the water. Beautiful view. A second restaurant, located on the bottom floor, serves breakfast and lunch inside or on an outdoor patio. From the ferry/marina area, you can take a walk along the ocean from the Atlantic Highlands to the Highlands on a nice wide path. A round trip walk is easy for anyone in average physical condition.
There are nice restaurants very near the Inn and one, the Copper Canyon, is located in the same building as the Inn. It is an upscale Mexican restaurant and it was very good. If venturing out by car, the Jersey Shore is right there and the neat town of Red Bank is also very close. The staff at the Blue Bay Inn was very helpful and housekeeping was very prompt in making up our room. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

The service is amazing! People are so nice and the rooms are spectacular. We were in town for a little getaway and took advantage of their Spring Package, where we got a $75 gift card to copper canyon and a late checkout along with champagne. The staff took care of us like we were really special. They made the reservation for us on a Saturday night which they never take at the restaurant which was a great perk. They brought in our luggage, had a very refreshing complimentary drink in the lobby and the staff all knew our names. The room was spotless and the sheets were top notch. Sure, atlantic highlands doesn't have a TON to do, but we made a great two nights out of it. Dinner and a movie one night and walked the trails and took the ferry into the city the next day. Such a great local spot that feels like a real vacation! Highly recommended!!! We travel to the city all of the time, but this hotel and this restaurant belong in the city! Both spectacular!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

When the staff found out we were staying there to attend our son's wedding on the Jersey shore they put a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice and two champagne flutes in our room. When we were sitting outside on the patio with friends a server from the restaurant came out with ice water for everyone even though the restaurant wasn't open at the time. The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating, with excellent recommendations for everything from restaurants to hair salons. The Inn does not serve breakfast but it offers complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby every morning, and there are many good breakfast places literally steps from the Inn. Our room was pleasantly spacious, clean and comfortable, and included a dry sink, mini fridge, a desk and two easy chairs. A charming place--highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenner, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

On the weekend of May 11, 2012. we stayed at the inn for a wedding. Flo helped make it a special experience. She was very helpful and nice. She pointed our all the points of interest around the area, which we enjoyed visiting very much.
Gail J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn

Address: 51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716
Location: United States > New Jersey > Atlantic Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Atlantic Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Atlantic Highlands, the Blue Bay Inn is the perfect place to indulge yours desires. Within two blocks, there are 12 restaurants, a movie theatre, a playhouse, upscale boutiques, spas, hair salons, artisan shops, a coffee house and the Seastreak ferry which luxuriously shuttles back and forth to Manhattan in 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Blue Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Atlantic Highlands
Blue Bay Atlantic Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.